We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
52
40
15
7
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
40
15
7
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub pie night fajitas nice and friendly staff cleared our plates sunday lunch pate bit dated breakfast was included family room car park next morning yorkshire pud lamb bar area stayed here for one night bed linen
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Adequate room with comfy bed, tea coffee facilities. Situated in the centre of Holmfirth so a great location for the picturedrome and local bars and reataurants
Fantastic breakfast and lovely staff
Public house serves meals and has a nice outdoor seating area

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank wags2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

We have just had a beautiful meal here! As soon as we walked in we got a lovely welcome from the young girl behind the bar who took our order. We didn't have to wait too long before our starters arrived, the home made pate was lovely! We then had our mains which were so tasty! We got served by the chef who also gave us a warm welcome and checked we were enjoying our meals. I had a breast of chicken with a creamy mushroom sauce, Beautiful!I would definitely recommend this place, Beautiful food and nice friendly staff.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Booked online in the rush without checking TA first and got punished for that ...:-)
Considering the asking price, the room was not worth it. They obviously trying to work on it because there was a fresh paint smell, but the room was very cramped, the bed terrible and i think the whole place has seen better days inside and out. The food however was OK, the Chef friendly, so was the young lady when i booked in, she even brought me the receipt to the room. But the laid-back chick behind the bar later on, needs a bit of work on her customer facing skills. Apparently a breakfast was included, from 9am (or so),...not exactly convenient if you on the road for business.
Parking also might be an issue at busy times (if there are any) as there are very few spaces close by. Won't go back, that's for sure.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Popped in for lunch, only had sandwiches and chips but it was very good.
Nice and central and nice place to go for a drink.
Staff were friendly and the place was clean.
A good place to visit.
Would return on a further visit to holmfirth!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank blueblueLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

Called in for a quick pub meal. Small but varied menu.
We had a chicken meal, rib steak and the fajita. Expected the usual pub meals but delighted with the quality of the food. Beautifully cooked, good sized portions without being over- faced. All cooked fresh.
Staff very friendly.
Highly recommended. Will definitely eat here again when next in Holmfirth.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mrs janet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews