We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Merlin Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne J
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming cottage”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Delightful cottage. Bedroom up narrow stairs and bathroom and toilet downstairs,but this has not been a problem. Everything we need in the kitchen/living room, outdoor area with chairs and table and car parking space provided. Information provided re disposal of waste/recycling and tourist areas. And a 10-second walk to a very nice pub. Quiet area on a one-way street, shopping facilities: laundrette, a couple of small co-ops nearby - no butcher shop. Short drive away we have been shopping at Settle at a superb supermarket just a short distance from the town centre.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very quiet area and very comfortable lodgings.
Liked least: Shopping facilities limited in the town.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very nice and well placed Cottage- highly recommended”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Booked as a base for the yorkshire 3 peaks walk. Was ideally placed in the center of the village . Very nice new build cottage , more than we expected and great value too. We would recommend this cottage to everyone. Also would recommend the local caves and local waterfall walks as a must!! 5 star cottage!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“A perfect hideaway in a wonderful location.”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed for a week at the end of May and had a great time. We woke early on the Sunday and got to the waterfalls walk as it opened, it was wonderful to have it all to ourselves, just the birds for company and wonderful scenery. Later we toured the Lakes, walked up to Malham Cove and visited a few National Trust properties. The cottage was warm, comfortable and well stocked. We loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful location.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnsy
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect cosy retreat”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This cottage had everything we needed and more.Conveniently situated on the main Street yet really peaceful.The underfloor heating was a revelation and so welcoming after a hard days walking.I would happily recommend this cottage to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynhoc
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home cottage in a lovely village”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in this cosy clean cottage for 3 nights and found all the little extras (towels, hand wash, shower gel etc) made it seem like a mini hotel. We were fortunate enough to have quite good weather and managed to sit out in the sun on the little patio area one evening. Ingleton itself is a lovely village with some nice cafes, bars , La Cascada had a particularly nice relaxed atmosphere and a couple of pubs, and the Ingleton Waterfalls trail is a must, with stunning scenery. The outdoor swimmimg pool is a positive if you have children (and good weather) and whilst we were there there was a childrens mini triathlon involving swimming, riding bikes and a run. The cottage is located in a really good location and we managed to visit some of the local villages, Settle, Hawes and Kirby Lonsdale without having to drive for too long. We will definitely be returning and would recommend the cottage and village to anyone who wants a relaxing home from home break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing