We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Cottage in a wonderful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Merlin Cottage

Merlin Cottage, on the right, Hobby Cottage with 2 bedrooms on the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Merlin Cottage, on the right, Hobby Cottage with 2 bedrooms on the left.
Private patio. Ground floor bathroom with large shower enclosure. Luxurious underfloor heating.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Merlin Cottage, on the right, Hobby Cottage with 2 bedrooms on the left.
Private patio.
Ground floor bathroom with large shower enclosure. Luxurious underfloor heating.
Quality toiletries provided
River Doe running through the village
Thornton Force on Ingleton Waterfalls Trail
The famous Ribblehead Viaduct
The Turbarry Road, Kingsdale
Ingleborough, the closest of the 3 Peaks and walkable from the village
Ingleton viaduct
Looking up Ingleton Main Street
View from the bedroom window.
Walking up Ingleborough from Clapham
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julia A
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

What a great find!
Merlin Cottage is perfect for a couple, it's well equipped with all the comforts of home and is located in the lovely village of Ingleton, with all the amenities one could require very close to your doorstep.
The Ingleton waterfall trail is very beautiful, the caves are great and the walk up to the top of Inglebrough is strenuous but worth every step.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage & Location
Liked least: Leaving :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Underfloor heating, the shower.
Liked least: The bad weather, honestly, we have no complaints about the cottage.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robin_Hud...
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Perfect November Weekend”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of November and the weather outside was cold. Merlin Cottage was well positioned and easy to find, there's a Co op and a first class butchers within 2 minutes walk of the cottage and parking was right outside. The cottage was clean and cosy with just enough room for two we cooked in the cottages well stocked kitchen for all our meals during the stay. The under floor heating was incredibly warm once it warmed up making for a lovely snug time despite the cold outside. Ingleton water falls trail was literally five minutes walk from the cottage, White Scar caves were a short drive away as was the Ribblehead viaduct and many other short walks. Think I can safely say we will be visiting this cottage again. Highly Recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina S
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Location and a Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had 4 nights in this beautiful cottage, everything we could possibly need was provided for. It was extremly clean, cosy and very welcoming and this is due to the owners who look after the cottage themselves, a very friendly, helpful couple who I suspect give us what they would want in a cottage holiday themselves. We toured this beautiful area and it was always a pleasure to return to the cottage on an evening to either sit in the courtyard to enjoy the evening sun and views or wander around the lovely village. Thank you for a wonderful break and we look forward to returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitheil
Drumnadrochit, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So Good We Booked Again As Soon As We Got Home!!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Spent Christmas morning walking the Ingleton Waterfall Trail superb falls all swollen with recent downpours previous weeks. Had lots of locally bought homemade food goodies and local meats for Christmas dinner after our very long walk. Shops are wonderful, local people running small businesses so a very personal and welcoming experience. We had such a wonderful relaxing thoroughly chilled out week we booked for Easter as soon as we arrived back home in Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: soft huge comfortable bed
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing