We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riverview

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Planningm...
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A lovely place”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Riverview has been refurbished to a very high standard and is a very clean and comfortable place to stay. Extras like the jacuzzi bath and games room were very much appreciated by our part of adults and teens. Potential guests thought should not that, although they say the house sleeps 8, there are only 2 actual bedrooms. 1 is very large and would easily sleep 4 or 5 the other is just a double. Additional sleeping is on the mezzanine level over the lounge. It's fairly private but could be inconvenient if say you had young children asleep and adults being loud downstairs (kitchen & Lounge are open-plan). It wasn't a problem for us though and we had a lovely time. Only slight moan (and I hesitate but feel I must say something) was that we had towels missing for some guests and when I went next door to enquire (no 'phone signal) I did feel I was rather a nuisance (I ended up apologising for bothering them rather than them apologising for the oversight). That said, I'd go back in a heartbeat!!

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: jacuzzi bath
Liked least: Feeling I was bothering the owners
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Main reason for staying was Christmas with relatives living nearby and the cottage was fabulous. Everything we needed with 5 star touches from the underfloor heating to games room with pool table. Nothing was any trouble for the owners closely. The only thing missing was wi-fi but I can recommend this cottage highly enough for a family. We loved and will return.

Date of stay: December 2013
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJS71
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Start to 2014”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

After years of talking about going away for New Year's Eve we finally did it and booked 5 nights at the cottage. Our group had a brilliant time and were so glad that we had at last arranged it. On arrival we were immediately impressed with the cottage, it was spotlessly clean, beautifully presented, warm and inviting with the wood burner lit for our arrival. Another lovely touch was the bottle of fizz and Christmas cake that the owners had left out for us. We instantly felt at home, relaxed and did not want to leave!!!

There was everything there that you would need, kitchen is well equipped, the beds are very comfy and the games room and fantastic music system were both an added bonus and made use of during our New Years Eve celebrations.

Location is also a positive with local shops and pubs all in walking distance. Although on this trip we did not do much walking there are plenty of walks in and around the area which we will be tackling on our return visit.

A fab time was had by all and what a perfect way to start the year. We loved it so much that we have already booked to return later this year.

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
675annee
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Just returned from a long family weekend. The cottage was immaculately presented, spotlessly clean and even better than it looked online. The river view is amazing, along with the location. We noted from the visitors book that many people visit again and again and I am sure we will do that too.

Date of stay: November 2013
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renebet
North East England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We booked this because of the great reviews on Trip Adviser (don't we all?!), but we always take them with a pinch of salt. No need to worry with this one.

The house has been beautifully updated by the owners and provides a very comfortable and relaxing base for the area. We loved the style of it; the amount of light in the sitting room, the kitchen had everything we could want and more and the standard of the fixtures and fittings was extremely high. I'm not a bath person, but couldn't resist whirlpool bath after our walk around the waterfalls.

We'd planned to go to the local pubs for evening meals (well, we were on holiday), but decided to make the most of the house and stayed in to cook, enjoy the wood burner (men can't resist making a fire), and play pool downstairs in the games room.

I can honestly say that we were left wanting for nothing, and I hope we'll be back again.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like a home from home
Liked least: Leaving after only 3 nights!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.