We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
20
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable sofas lounge area drying room bunk barn excellent location ribblehead viaduct first class bunkhouse peak whernside trail challenge mile toilets route facilities beds
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

This is a fantastic bunkhouse, very clean and modern and had all the facilities we needed when we did the 3 peak challenge. I didn't book this place, the company who organised our hike did and they certainly chose well.

It's on the 3 peak trail, right at the bottom of the Whernside track so was ideal for our aching feet once we'd done.

The views from outside are fabulous, especially if you land on a good sunrise over Ribblehead viaduct.

The bedrooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable and you're provided with bed linen and a towel. There is a mix of rooms from a dorm sleeping eight (3 bunk beds and 2 single beds) to smaller rooms for smaller numbers. At least one of the smaller rooms has an en suite.

The showers and toilet facilities are again modern and spotless, the only tiny gripe would be that there are only two showers so we were queuing a bit when we needed a shower after our hike but we coped.

The communal facilities are great, it's all open plan with a fabulous kitchen at one side - with all the kitchen equipment and utensils we could possibly need including dishwasher and double oven and at the other end is a very comfortable living room area. Whoever renovated this place thought of everything.

The bunkhouse is at the end of a single track farmers land but it's well signposted and easy to find.

Great place and I'd love to stay here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank cazbatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadrake, Owner at Broadrake Bunkbarn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Glad you like the bunkbarn and congratulations on getting round the 3 Peaks Challenge.

Sorry about the showers though it is possible to make three available for general use depending which doors are locked.
There is a shower which can be accessed from one of the twin rooms or from the main washroom so it can either be an en suite for the twin or an extra shower in the washroom.

Hope to see you again sometime - there are loads of other great walks in the area as well as the 3 Peaks and many can be started straight from the door.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We stayed at Broadrake with our family, and most of us completed the 3 peaks from the door. The weather was dry, snowy and very windy, but we managed to complete in 8hr 37min. The stay was great, brilliant lounge and dinning area.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank jinx_the_minky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Had a comfy and warm stay here over New Year. Very clean and well equipped bunk house . The children loved the snug room where they played monopoly and other games whilst snuggled in sleeping bags allowing the older generation to nod off on the comfy sofas until the clock struck 12 ! Plenty of chairs and cooking facilities for everyone and a very useful dishwasher and dryer room . Really enjoyed waterfall walk ,Ingelborough and Whernside.
Will definitely return.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadrake, Owner at Broadrake Bunkbarn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Glad you enjoyed your stay Karen and look forward to seeing you again.
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We stayed here for two nights in early September as part of a charity attempt of The Yorkshire Three Peaks in a wheelchair. The bunkhouse itself is immaculate, the bedrooms are great, showers hot, and the lounge and kitchen area upstairs is huge and a great base for groups. Location wise it's perfect for taking on The Yorkshire Three Peaks sitting pretty much on the doorstep of Whernside. A short drive down an unpaved road means that at the same time it is perfectly peaceful. The owners Rachel and Mike are amazing, Mike even met us on the hill feeding us with homemade flapjack and cookies baked by Rachel - although I wouldn't take this as the norm! Cannot recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms are immaculate. Top quality for bunkhouse accomodation.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

This is a great bunkhouse to stay in. There are rooms that sleep 2 and 4 people, all very basic but clean and fresh - ideal for a bunkhouse. It can probably sleep about 18 people in total.

The drive from the man road is about a mile, it's its mostly smooth tarmac but the last quarter of the mile is a bit pot holed. Theres car parking space for about 10 cars.

The bunkhouse has been refurbished in 2016 so is all new. The kitchen is great and is setup for many people to stay ie two ovens, two fridges. Theres comfy sofa area. There are a few board games to play with too.

There are 3 showers and 2 toilets. There were about 14 of us staying when I visited and there weren't any problems with queues.

It's about a 2 minute walk off the 3 Peaks
route so ideal for anyone undertaking the challenege.

I would recommend this place to everyone.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Magic350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews