We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“LOVELY HOUSE”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wensleydale House

Family bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Family bedroom
Double Bedroom Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Family bedroom
Double Bedroom
Living Room
Kitchen
Wensleydale House
Family Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Leyburn, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jackie c
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“LOVELY HOUSE”
Reviewed 11 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We have just returned from a week at Wensleydale House. The house is very nice with clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. A home from home. We would not hesitate to stay again and hope to return in the not so distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: room sizes
Liked least: sani lav toilet in the family bathroom
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“perfection .....sums it up!”
Reviewed 13 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

This house is stunning, with beautiful bedrooms, bathrooms and a great room for getting together with friends and family. As previous reviews advise, the thoughtful touches by the owners and their attention to detail is amazing. Like being in your own (luxury) home and everything you need there.....with supermarkets close by for anything you need. Would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pontefract
Reviewed 22 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cameronbl...
UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Third visit to our favourite Dales retreat”
Reviewed 22 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011

This was the 3rd visit to Wensleydale House in the last couple of years. Prior to our visit they helpfully provided lots of local information on taxis/places to eat and as in previous years a warm welcome was received from Denise and Alex on arrival, with homemade cakes and milk etc to get us started. The accommodation looked as fresh and well maintained as from our first visit 3 years ago, immaculate paintwork and beautifully designed rooms, but still feels comfy and like your own home so you can relax amongst cosy cushions and rugs. We were here for a family get together so having the 3 bathrooms plus a downstairs loo came in very handy for our group. Location is great, so much to do in Leyburn itself with lovely evening strolls along the shawl and other longer walks nearby. We ate at the Blue Lion which was a five minute drive away - it was delicious but rather pricy and had we realised that the Sandpiper Inn was just as good and very similar menu, only a 2 min walk away in Leyburn centre, then we probably would have gone there instead, although have never tried it. Highly recommended and looking forward to making this house a regular family venue for get togethers in future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing