We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mile House East

Cosy downstairs living area with log burning stove and stunning moorland views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy downstairs living area with log burning stove and stunning moorland views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Cosy downstairs living area with log burning stove and stunning moorland views
Kitchen
Master Bedroom with views over Caldburgh Moor
Bedroom 2 overlooking the moorland
Bedroom 3 with vaulted ceiling, exposed brickwork and stunning views
Bathroom
Upstairs living area/ games room with log burning stove
Mile House East front view
Melmerby Moor
Winter sunshine in the Dales
Front garden view
Coverdale from Melmerby
View from front of house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Leyburn, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James_B82...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Beautiful location with bike rides and walks from the door. Lovely pub half a mile away. Well appointed with five clean bedrooms and two baths plus the fantastic pool room and of course two log fires.

Had a great stay, thanks.

James, London

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thank you for your great review, we are delighted that you were able to enjoy walks and bike rides from the front door - the local community owned pub is always a perfect finish too! It sounds like you managed to enjoy all the house has to offer with the games room and cosy log burning stoves. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCrisell
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful find”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed here in March 2015 with three other couples, all old friends, and some dogs. The spread of ages was from 37 to 75, and this charming property was pretty well perfect for all of us, as it was for the dogs. We relished the spaciousness, the views, the facilities, and for several members of our party of a literary/historical bent the amazingly well stocked and intelligent library was a real boon. It seemed like a house which had been loved as a home. It was warm and welcoming and we appreciated the ease of access to marvellous walks as well as pubs, shops etc. We thought it was remarkable value for money and we would love to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and value for money
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your amazing review.
We are really pleased you have found us and enjoyed all the house has to offer in the stunning Yorkshire Dales. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the house again and thank you for taking the time to share some of the highlights of your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca...
1 review
“Great views, extensive library!”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I loved, LOVED the views from the house (woke up to a sheep - you don't get that in the city) and the walking. Miles of scenic trails with not a soul in sight. But the house itself really won me over. It's great for friends (I visited with 8 girl friends for a hiking weekend) but I'd definitely come back with family in tow too. We booked a masseuse to come to the house which the owners can organise for you - bliss after a 5-hour hike. With 3 separate communal living spaces - 2 sitting rooms and the dining room downstairs - the beautiful cottage has loads of space as well as character. The extensive library and pool table will keep you occupied, even on wet days when you can light up the log burners and get cosy.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share all that you loved about Mile House East.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the masseuse - a real treat, which we are happy to arrange, after a long walk. We would love to see you again - maybe a family visit next time? It was a pleasure to welcome you to the beautiful Yorkshire Dales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Mar 2015
We are so pleased that you thought so highly of Mile House East and enjoyed its welcoming, homely charm. Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a positive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rachel F
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a big family to enjoy the Dales”
Reviewed 24 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Really excellent property - warm, inviting and full of little touches that made us comfortable for a long weekend.
We had a large family group with young kids too, and there was plenty of space to stretch out (the playroom was very welcome!) We cooked a full Christmas dinner and had all the utensils, etc. we needed.
The walks out the door are lovely and perfect for a range of ages. Thanks for a very memorable stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing