We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gardens”
Review of Bolton Castle

Bolton Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$9,97*
and up
Bolton Castle Admission Ticket
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Leyburn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Now one of the country’s best preserved medieval castles, Bolton was originally built, by Sir Richard Le Scrope, to rival the finest and most luxurious homes in the land. Completed in 1399, its scars bear testament to over 600 years of fascinating history including involvement in the Pilgrimage of Grace, Mary Queen of Scot’s imprisonment and a Civil War siege. Bolton Castle was a luxurious family home as well as a defensive fortress and, despite being partially ‘slighted’ by Cromwell’s’ men during the Civil War, the Castle is preserved in outstanding condition with many interesting rooms and features to discover including the Old Kitchens, Dungeon, Solar, Nursery, Armory, Great Chamber and Mary Queen of Scots’ bedroom. About one third of the rooms are fully intact and the rest of the Castle is almost completely accessible giving visitors great insight into its turbulent past. You will find a raft of sights, sounds and smells which bring the castle to life and make for a truly memorable visit. There is something for everyone to enjoy as you discover what life was really like during the Castle’s heyday through our authentic room displays, wonderful falconry experience, archery demonstrations, children’s trails and costumes and hands on medieval games and activities. Daily Activities 11.30: Bird of Prey Display 13.45: Archery Display 15.00: Bird of Prey Display 16.00: Wild Boar Feeding Time Tea Room Situated in the beautiful and atmospheric Guest Hall, our tea room serves a selection of homemade and locally produced hot meals, soups, sandwiches, snacks and freshly baked cakes. Afternoon tea is served from 2.30pm and our Yorkshire Tapas board is always a popular choice with visitors. Experience a friendly welcome and excellent service in the castle’s impressive Guest Hall, where visitors have enjoyed hospitality for over six hundred years. Gardens The Castle gardens have been restored along medieval lines and include a well-stocked herb garden, rose garden, walled vineyard, bowling green and maze as well as the birds of prey on their weathering ground and our bee observation hive (seasonal). Children will love finding the centre of the maze or trying our Garden activity trails.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Having completed a trip from bedale to Redmire on the Wensleydale Trainline, we walked up to Bolton Castle to see the bird of prey display. Knowledgeable chap presenting 3 owls which were excellent to watch.

Thank MadCatYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for your review. So pleased you enjoyed your visit, please come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wild boar"
in 121 reviews
"falconry display"
in 68 reviews
"mary queen of scots"
in 62 reviews
"birds of prey"
in 124 reviews
"tea room"
in 78 reviews
"aysgarth falls"
in 18 reviews
"herb garden"
in 12 reviews
"re enactment"
in 10 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 59 reviews
"bee house"
in 10 reviews
"information boards"
in 21 reviews
"gift shop"
in 34 reviews
"cakes"
in 26 reviews
"yorkshire dales"
in 13 reviews
"family ticket"
in 13 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 21 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 9 reviews
Filter

70 - 74 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We recently had a great day out at the castle. Unfortunately some of the castle is in ruins, but there is still plenty to see. There are 5 floors all with interesting rooms and stories. There is a trail for young children to enjoy as well as activities such as archery, with a traditional bow and arrow, which Callum provided an interesting talk about before letting people have a try. Again the kids loved it. He also held birds of prey talk and demonstrations with the lovely birds they have there. We saw the afternoon show, seeing the eagle owl and buzzard. The owl kept flying past my head pretty much, it was quite spectacular. Again Callum was great, information and well humoured. You can tell he loves the birds.
The castle is spectacular on the approach by car in the fabulous countryside and when you get there it is even more impressive when you stand in front of it with its very well kept maze.
We had beautiful weather to enjoy the castle and grounds.

Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Went from the falls to the castle about 3 miles away but clearly sign posted. For 3 people it was £25, we spent a couple of hours there in the castle and gardens. A nice place but it’s not a day trip or barely a morning/ afternoon trip. Worth a visit but 2-3 hours is enough to see everything there is.

Thank jamie19752018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Lots of steps!
Beautiful views and surroundings. Very historic. Lovely cafe, tasty food.
Staff very helpful

Thank PinkGodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Bolton Castle and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Gorgeous June day and, having thoroughly enjoyed the morning at Aysgarth Falls, we decided to visit Bolton Castle for some lunch and a tour of the building and gardens.
The cafe is in a room before you actually get to the ticket desk, so we decided to have lunch first. We both had the carrot and coriander soup - which was delicious and a ham sandwich and a Wensleydale cheese sandwich respectively, which, with a pot of tea and a Diet Coke, came to £19.80. A bit on the high side for sure but the soup was clearly homemade and plentiful and the sandwich was a good sized roll with plenty of filling. A garnish or a couple of crisps would have been nice, and it was a shame that the young lady serving wasn’t more friendly, but a good, filling lunch nevertheless.
And then we met Callum, the friendly, welcoming young man on the ticket desk. He was very helpful and gave us plenty of information to set us off.
I would perhaps say that Bolton Castle is a magnificent structure but not for the faint hearted - and, as others have pointed out, it doesn’t welcome dogs but, in fairness, the structure of the building is totally unsuitable for getting around with a dog on a lead. The building is full of the original narrow spiral staircases so the stonework is uneven, as you would expect, and there are always a couple of uneven heights within a staircase - built that way to surprise intruders. The courtyards are original and therefore very uneven under foot. Parts of the castle are very dark and, with the uneven surfaces underfoot, care needs to be taken - but there are clear warnings about this. To climb to the battlements is hard work but well worth it. The view is incredible and you can see why the castle was sited where it is.
It is clearly a work in progress. The signage in the rooms that can be visited is good and informative. There isn’t a lot of furniture or decor but what there is has been tastefully done to make it look authentic. The gardens aren’t huge but they are beautifully tended with a maze, a knot garden and vegetable garden. There are plenty of benches to sit and enjoy the view, too.
But the highlight of the afternoon was Callum - who should be named Jack as he is definitely master of all trades, dealing with the ticket desk, the archery demonstration, the falconry demonstration and finishing up with feeding the boar. He was brilliant - informative, witty, took questions and was clearly very knowledgable. The archery demonstration was fascinating and those of us who wanted to could try to shoot an arrow for ourselves. He was really patient with us and we all hit the target!
I thoroughly enjoyed our visit, very much down to the magnificent building, despite much of it being inaccessible to visitors, and the wonderful Callum. I would say it’s a half day outing - and yes, you do need to check first because they do host weddings there and it will be closed to the public on those occasions.

Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for your review, Callum really is a great asset to us and we are proud to have him on our team. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Bolton Castle and we hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bolton Castle also viewed

Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Middleham, North Yorkshire
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bolton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing