We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location value and size”
other travellers have booked this property
front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front
hall eat in kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
front
hall
eat in kitchen
parking for 2/3 cars
Main Lounge
Main lounge
ground floor twin en suite bedroom
ground floor twin en suite bedroom
ground floor en suite bathroom
'Captains Cabin' en-suite bedroom
'Captains Cabin' en-suite shower room
2nd floor family bedroom
2nd floor family bedroom
2nd floor family bedroom
2nd floor family bedroom
2nd floor family bedroom
2nd floor family bedroom
en suite to family room
Stairs from 2nd floor up to 3rd floor
3rd floor single bedroom
3rd floor family bedroom
3rd floor family bedroom
3rd floor twin bedroom
eat in kitchen
eat in kitchen
eat in kitchen
front beach
back beach
back beach
Ariel view of harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Teignmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sam C
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in March 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We also stayed during August and I'm disappointed with the owners response in regards to our genuine complaint.

The review was genuine and factual. No lies. No sour grapes. No personal attacks. The owner however sent a pretty aggressive email in response. which wasn't very pleasant to ready.

I'll address the concerns raised and give our view, as we stayed here too.

We were never banned from the property and always left it immaculately clean which can't be said about the way in which we found it, pictures attached.

Parking
We did indeed park 4 cars, 3 on the drive whilst one was parked opposite the neighbours drive way. We have a good relationship with the neighbour, Janet, and she was more than happy to let us park opposite during our stay. We did not block anyone else in. To note, the car was parked with a disabled badge clearly in view. Maybe the locals perhaps got a little precious about 'town folk' parking down the street however in the 2 weeks we stayed, nobody raised any concerns.

Arrival
We did arrive early, we had excited children eager to get to the seaside. The fact of the matter is, the cleaning wasn't done properly. Pictures attached to prove that the standard in which we found the property wasn't acceptable. One cleaner was present, not 3.

Broken Items
If the property is advertised with certain amenities, then simply saying,"well there's a launderette close by" in response to the dryer being broken simply isn't acceptable. Perhaps you should recommended a member of our party stay in another B&B as the bed was broken?

Our issue was the fact that the cleaner promised that both would be fixed the following week. Neither materialized.

Maintenance
We have pictures of the house in the 80s, the majority of the furniture is the same. The beds are unacceptable, many have slats missing and dodgy DIY repairs. The small room on the second floor is terribly dirty, the walls are moldy. AI agree, you have spent money developing the kitchen downstairs which is suitable whilst the outside looks fresher too. However, I refuse to believe you have spent money replacing any beds or mattresses.

The small kitchen upstairs has a very old circa 1980 stove. No sign of PAT testing stickers here. I agree, the kitchen does have a nice large fridge however many of the other appliances are a little old.

Smoke Alarms
None on the top floor. Fact. Not one. I did look too.

Broken Bed
We would have preferred you to disturb us with the arrival of the new bed as the alternative was 2 weeks disturbed sleep without it.

Showers
We removed lots of hair from both shower drains during our first day. Neither of which were properly cleaned. If you read the other reviews, they too mention problems with the drains. Janet the neighbour also mentioned that they are continually flooding. So, whilst we used the toilets the blockage wasn't a direct result of our usage. It's down to them being poorly maintained.

Shed
Whilst it is private, we had to access it to remove the bait which the previous guest left. It was either that or 30+ flies entering the rooms via the attached toilet.

Storage
In the en-suite in the middle floor, the wardrobe isn't wide enough for a hanger. The front room on the same floor with 2 beds in, doesn't have any storage. Neither does the large room with 3 beds in towards the top rear.

Sofa's
Whilst a few are leather, the others aren't. They are all covered with old, tired and smell throws which are in dire need or throwing away.

Shower Blind
Whilst the bottom part is frosted, the top isn't and once the window is opened to let out the steam (due to the poor ventilation system) the neighbours get an eye full!

Electricity Meters
Others have commented in your reviews about the cost to run the house. The rate doesn't seem very fair as we were continually popping in pound coins around the clock.

Cost of the property
So, your excuse for all the issues we encountered, the dirt and poor facilities was that we should be happy with the house as it was cheap? Hmm, I've stayed in far cheaper holiday lets which are clean and comfortable. Simply dismissing the problems because the house is cheap isn't acceptable at all.

Plus, many of those who attended were children. So, the cost per head isn't accurate at all.

I feel other people have been polite over the years due to fear of your approach when a problem does arise. You simply dismiss it whilst seemingly barring anyone from returning who expresses a genuine opinion or complaint.

We will stay in Teignmouth again, in fact we're in the process of booking alternative accommodation. We never expressed an interest in saying again due to the way in which the owner handled our complaint. Even the neighbours are fearful of her.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Poorly maintained
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and value
Liked least: parking and having to leeve
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DJWCheshi...
Cheshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Expensive, old fashioned, dirty and poorly managed!”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
9
people found this review helpful

Firstly, I've left 40+ review on Trip and this is the first which has asked me for my booking name to verify the booking. I have a feeling the owner wants to check the reviews, or at least try to first, before accepting.

Well hopefully this one will make it...

There are 20 or so members of our family and we've been visiting Teignmouth yearly since 1980! The number of people has grown overtime with the additional of new members of the family and partners.

Now back in the late 80s and throughout the 90s we have stayed in Northumberland Place for years. We dealt with Mrs Darlow, the owner, when she was alive and really enjoyed our time in the house. Jenny, her daughter, now runs the property.

This year we all felt it would be nice to stay in the same house and after 10 years of staying in separate dwellings, we booked Northumberland Place.

Now I'll be as objective and fair as I can. If you see my previous reviews, I'm fair and back up any complaint with pictures where possible.

I have a feeling though that the owner might take offence so I've added pictures (date and time stamps available)

We are a family of 3 generation, mixture of old and new faces from 80 to 8 months. Loving, caring and friendly family with well behaved children and no pets.

Plus Points
- Location: 10 seconds walk to the Ship Inn and back beach
- Size: We managed to squeeze 17 into the house and it was lovely being together during out 2 week stay
- Parking: Can fit 3 cars onto the drive at the back
- Nice big kitchen downstairs

Negatives:

- Dirty: We arrived slightly early and met the cleaner mid clean. She mentioned a few issues and confirmed the cleaning might take a little longer as the previous family were a little rowdy, had pets and damaged a few items. The tumble dryer door was broken off and one of the beds was broken too.

We were promised that the door would be fixed ASAP whilst a new bed was arrived on Wednesday that week, neither happened!

Once the cleaner left (she originally said a further 3 hours were required however she disappeared after 30mins) we arrived to be met by a dirty house. I've attached pictures as proof: dirty walls, sticky surfaces, sand in mugs, dirty cutlery, dust on surfaces, pet hair everywhere, dirt all over the floors...the list goes on and go.

The downstairs was riddled with dog hair on the floor, beds and sofas! Really smelly too

Needless to say we were not impressed and spent the first hour of our holiday cleaning the house!

Maintenance

Now the house is exactly the same as we remembered it back in the 90s! We actually found a picture of a family member sat in the downstairs kitchen when she was about 4. We've taken the same picture now she's 21 and the furniture, curtains and bench are the same!

Jenny (owner) doesn't spent a penny on the house at all, which is worrying considering there's a lack of fire escapes, smoke detectors and old appliances throughout.

The furniture, carpets and curtains are exactly the same as we last visited 10 years ago!

The broken bed was comically fixed, see picture. I put my house on it that this bed will still be here next year alongside the broken dryer. They didn't even clean up the mess they made whilst botching the bed, sawdust everywhere.

Both showers flooded during out stay along with the drains blocking up outside. The place needs urgent basic maintenance - Jenny spend some money on the essentials!

Top floor toilet had a lock on it so we couldn't use it.

The previous family left crab nets and bait in the shed outside which meant that we had 30+ flies in the downstairs bedroom daily. Took us a while to clear the shed in order to remedy the problem - why wasn't this checked prior to guests arriving?

Decor / Facilities

The house is in urgent need of updating.

In the bathroom for example, there's marks all over the walls, terrible stains and dirt everywhere. Old TV downstairs with smelly couches which need throwing away.

There's limited storage in rooms, there should be a wardrobe in some at least. Poor mattresses throughout, really old and lumpy. Top room didn't have any bulbs in the lights, no smoke detector nor was there any blinds in the shower room which overlooks the neighbours at the back!

In the same bathroom the lock was broken. In end we fixed this as the cleaner (our point of contact) didn't seem too fussed.

These are really simple things to fix.

More worrying is the cost to run the house. We must have put in between £5-10 p/day in electricity. We did have daily showers and ran the washing machine however it seemed rather expensive.

When we rented from Mrs Darlow she wouldn't have let the house get into such a state. The owner, Jenny, is clearly in it for the money and it shows.

This by no means is a personal attack on the owner, in actual fact, we've never met however it's very annoying that as a family we've paid a considerable amount to stay here and a basic level of cleanliness and maintenance wasn't adhered to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dirty
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
After 10 years and against our better judgement we allowed this family to stay in our holiday house again after my mother had banned them at our cleaner ( at the times) request. They had repeatedly left the house in a terrible, dirty and damaged condition and were extremely rude to the cleaners. Unfortunately I feel this review is sour grapes as once again we had decided not to re book the house to them in the future.
I will answer the points raised in turn:-
1 - We have no say whatsoever in what reviews are published on the trip advisor site, as anyone who uses the site regularly will know. Which reviews are published is entirely down to trip advisor and we certainly can not pick and choose good reviews.
2 - The house is advertised as parking for 2 cars, 3 if they are small. This family insisted on parking a 4th car on the road on double yellow lines , blocking a neighbours drive, which unfortunately resulted in complaints being made to us.
3 -The family arrived early - check in is 2pm, but we let people drop off their things earlier if necessary, especially if they have traveled a long way, whilst we finish off the cleaning. Our cleaners and property managers are very polite, curtious and efficient so would have been as accommodating as possible.
4 - The tumble dryer door and bed were broken the week before by the people that had left that day and a new bed and parts to fix the door were ordered immediately. We carry out all maintenance as quickly as we possibly can but have to work to certain time constraints if we are waiting for parts etc. the bed was repaired temporarily until the new bed could be delivered. We always use local suppliers which means this can sometimes take slightly longer.
5 - At least 4 hours cleaning by up to 3 people is carried out between holiday makers on change over day and is always finished to a good standard. We have not had any complaints about cleanliness from the holiday makers immediately before or after this family.
6 - This is a big old house which we are forever maintaining. In the last 12 months alone we have repainted all the bathrooms ( this is an annual job as , being an old house ventilation in the bathrooms is a problem), repainted and re plastered the outside wall in the downstairs bedroom, repainted the kitchen, replaced all the guttering at the back of the house, resealed and repainted the outside render at the back if the house, double glazed another 4 windows, replaced 4 single beds and mattresses, bought a brand new american fridge freezer, bought a flat screen TV, had all the electrical appliances PAT tested and smoke alarms WIRED in to the house..... the list is endless. How this family, who have not visited for 10 years can claim we have not updated or maintained the house is frankly baffling!
7 -Within the last 3 years all the appliances have been replaced - micro wave, oven, dishwasher, washing machine,fridge freezer. Also the whole top floor of the house had been repainted and countless beds and mattresses replaced
8 - Smoke alarms are wired into the kitchen and all the hall ways - I am not sure why this family did not notice them.
9 - The broken bed has now been replaced ( we were waiting for the next change over day so as not to disturb the family) and the tumble dryer door repaired. There is a launderette 2 mins around the corner if drying clothes was a problem.
10 - The showers flooded as the family blocked the drains - we had to call Dynorod out the day they left. Apparently they had been blocked by sanitary towels being flushed down the toilets.
11 - The top floor toilet is being removed. As it is at the top of the house we had to fit a macerator toilet but despite our best efforts it keeps breaking. We have had it replaced 3 times ( at £850 per time it is rather expensive) now and it still blocks so have decided it is not to be. We are considering creating a new en-suite bedroom this year instead.there are a further 4 toilets in the house.
12 - The shed is private - owners only - so should not have been accessed
13 - During July alone we replaced the TV for a flat screen TV and provided 2 new double mattresses for the double beds
14 - None of our other holiday makers have ever complained about lack of storage. there are 4 wardrobes in the house and chest of drawers in each bedroom.
15 - The majority of the sofas in the lounge are brown leather sofas so can be wiped clean
16 - The shower room has a frosted window so a blind isn't required.
17 - The electricity meters were replaced 18 months ago and the circuits and boxes replaced when we had the smoke alarms wired in.The tariff has not been changed for 2 years so holiday makers get a very good rate. If you have 17 people in a house using showers, dishwasher washing machine, cooking facilities etc I would suggest £5 -10 per day is very reasonable ( 30p - 50p each?)
18 - This family paid £2100 for a 2 week stay in our property. If they had 17 people using it it works out as £8.82 pppn - very reasonable I would suggest!

As I said, I am rather stunned by this review, you can see by all the previous comments on the site that people are very happy with our property and the service we provide them. This is good, basic, seaside holiday accommodation, offered at an exceptional price in an excellent location. Obviously they wont want to return which is good news for the countless regulars that return year after year. We have already been asked to take bookings for 2017!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal Family Holiday House !!”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were very pleased with this property, it's owner and the on site manager.
The house is ideal for large groups/family and has a most convenient location.
The house is spacious and basic but offers everything that could be needed, an excellent base close to the beach, amenities and shops.
We loved it and hope to return.

Harry Rowntree and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of property
Liked least: Nothing to report
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house - basic but fantastic for family groups, incredible value”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spacious house with lovely kitchen for family groups. House decor is basic, but has everything you need - plenty of cutlery, crockery and cooking stuff and loved the mismatch of plates and glasses. There were also cupboards full of random things that you may never need! Mattresses seen better days. The house is really reasonable, even with the electric metre (we worked through about £10 per day, but expected in Feb in a house with electric radiators instead of central heating) Given the price this is a fantastic house, in a great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen, location and the price
Liked least: Mattresses and no central heating
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing