We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
121
110
51
17
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
110
51
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews studio apartment happy hour no air con shopping centre pool bar lack of plug sockets these apartments clothes dryer sun loungers mins walk downhill well stocked supermarket clothes horse great apartments washing up liquid nice place to stay euro deposit laundry room
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2018

We arrived earlier than check in time and were told to go to pool. At check in time room was still not ready but eventually directed to room 301 (although requested a high floor). Could not believe how small it was then it dawned on us that they had given us a studio instead of a 1 bedroom apartment. Back to reception where Luis (who should never be allowed near the public) demanded proof then advised he would call us shortly. 3 Times I had to go back to reception before he curtly said there was no 1 bed apartments available until the next day. Eventually after 3 visits the next day we were advised a time that we could get in to our "paid for" apartment which was fabulous on the 8th floor. View magnificent, fridge freezer awful (all wine went into big freezer for 3 hours and still did not freeze) Ratio was 2/3 fridge to 1/3 freezer but size of UK domestic fridge - useless for a family. Shower very small if you are a fatty (I am just under 9 stone and found it small) Noise at night really loud from commercial centre if doors open (which they have to be due to the heat - no air con). Now positives: all other reception staff (3 encountered) fabulous, maids and their service great, lifeguard and security guard cheery. pool great temperature (although opens at 10am), sun loungers and parasol provided with each one fab (also each balcony has parasol - great touch). Nice touch of a bottle of water in your fridge when you arrived. Walk to the beach/commercial centre only for the fittish people (everyone else would totally struggle to get up the hill). Fabulous running/walking territory to Amadores Beach or up the mountains. Yes would come back as eventually we loved our holiday.

Room Tip: Do not opt for a studio. 1 Bedroom apartments have bigger balconies
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servatur, Director de Recepción at Servatur Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Fiona E,

First of all, thank you very much for sharing your experience. This is a very value feedback for us that we really appreciate.

We have taken notes of you comment to study how we can improve our facilities and services to make the experience of our guests much better.

We hope you had a nice return to home. In the name of all Servatur Montebello staff, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Servatur Montebello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel friendly staff pool quiet ,pool bar open till 10pm but very quiet apartments clean but would not stay again no atmosphere few minutes walk to shopping center and bars 15min walk to beach tacos only 3e good value all round

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servatur, Director de Recepción at Servatur Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Dianne C,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It is nice hearing that you enjoyed your stay.

We are always at your disposal.

Kind regards,

Servatur Montebello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Recently stayed at Montebello. The apartment was very clean, had everything you wanted i. e kettle, toaster, coffee percolator, dish cloth, washing up liquid etc. The balcony is huge with 2 sun loungers, table 4 chairs and an umbrella. The sun is on the balcony from 8.30 in the morning till 5.30 in the evening.
The pool bar is also excellent serving good drinks and food from 9 a. m. at a very reasonable price. Onsite shop also has a wide range of products again at a reasonable price. There is also a laundry room.
Will definitely return

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servatur, Director de Recepción at Servatur Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Alan H,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Servatur Montebello. We really appreciate your kind words regarding our facilities.
The satisfaction of our guests is the most important aspect for the whole staff.

We hope to be your next option on your next holidays. It would be a pleasure to help you with everything you need.

Kind regards,

Servatur Montebello


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

The rooms and balcony etc are nice & clean with enough space and are cleaned daily. the pool area is nice with a nice pool bar. The place is ok but some things were annoying with the fact that there were so many extras we weren't warned of such as paying a daily rate for the TV (16 Euros for 7 days), paying to rent a fan as there is no air con and very hot & also paying for a safe ... which is normal but not when the safes were away in reception not in the rooms and reception is closed at midnight. Depending on where your room is, you have quite a travel to get to the safe each day.

Room Tip: Take more than you budget for to spend.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GLM594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servatur, Director de Recepción at Servatur Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear GLM594,
We very much value your constructive feedback as this allows us to identify points of improvement to further enhance the overall hotel experience for each and every one of our guests. 
Kind regards from the warm south of Gran Canaria.
Servatur Montebello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Thought I would write an honest review about this superb little place and fill in some gaps that may be of use to people.

Hotel:
We stayed at Montebello from the 11th to the 20th of September 2018, in a self-catering apartment. On first arrival by coach, we thought we had dropped a clanger, as there was no hotel front, just a flight of steps that led down to reception. We did arrive around 10pm at night, so wasn't the best time to arrive, and the hotel wasn't shown in its best light by any means. We took the stairs to reception and were greeted by a really nice guy who checked us in and away to our room we went. We stayed in room 407 on the 4th floor. The room was very pleasant, clean and tidy from what we could see, and had everything you needed for your stay. The following day we were elated at what we found.

Our room was immaculately clean! The balcony was large and also immaculate, with again everything you needed, a sun lounger, another sun lounger / seating area built in, table and chairs, clothes dryer, huge sturdy parasol, outside lighting and even an outdoor electric socket for a radio, charge your phone or whatever. The room had a kettle, toaster, microwave, coffee percolator and all pots, pans cutlery etc. There was even washing up liquid, scourer etc.

We made our way to the pool bar, located on the 5th floor and were greeted by the best hotel staff member we have ever met. I think her name was Maria and was a lovely Spanish lady with glasses and hair tied up. This lady was a machine! She never stopped! A real credit to Montebello. Maria was one of the nicest people you will ever meet, nothing was ever an issue for her, and looked after us throughout our stay there!

The pool bar (and only bar), served food also. The food was excellent and did not have any complaints at all. There was also a happy hour on every day between 4pm and 5pm where drinks were 2-4-1.

The pool was open between 1000am and 6pm each day, which some may think is late, but was ideal, as wasn’t people getting there for 5 in the morning putting towels down! There was none of that, and considering the hotel was fully booked, we never had an issue getting a sunbed or getting in the pool. The pool area was again immaculate, super clean with no dodgy tiles or cracked floors etc. The pool itself was super clean with no spurious floaters and was warm throughout our stay there.

We read some reviews previous about the lack of cleaning, but we did not see this at all. The cleaners were awesome, forever cleaning. We had our room cleaned every day that we were there, barring the two days that were non-cleaning days, with fresh towels, bedding etc.

Hotel Facilities:
The reception is great, and cannot do enough for you, with facilities like money exchange, safety box hire, fan hire, taxi ordering etc. Speaking of which, the rooms don’t have aircon so would highly recommend hiring a fan as the room does get toasty! It was 1 euro per day with a 10-euro deposit. Well worth it! We ordered a fan and by the time we walked from reception to our room the fan was on the table! We considered hiring a safety deposit box, but you cannot access the hotel without a swipe card, so is pretty secure and had no issues.
There is a hotel shop which is very cheap considering and has everything you would need, from water, daily basics, to sun cream and gifts.
There is also a small games room with a pool table etc which was quite pleasant.

We cannot recommend this place enough, it was a superb little find via on the beach and will definitely be returning!

Local amenities:
There is a main square less than 5 mins walk downhill from the hotel which is called the commercial centre. Tip – there is a bottom buzzer gate on the ground floor. Go out of that and to your left you will see a flight of stairs going down with a blue metal bannister. Go down those and the second flight and you are in the square! There are god knows how many restaurants / bars etc in the square, and any are good as didn’t have a bad meal at any of them. Two I would recommend is Las Vegas and Happy Valley (Indian).

There is another centre called the euro centre, which is up from the hotel. This wasn’t as big as the commercial centre but worth going to. Tip – if you get a taxi there as we did ask for the “top centre”. The taxis are cheap and are around 3 euro.

There is a money exchange place again less than 5 minutes from the hotel which did have better exchange rates than anywhere. Again, go out of the bottom gate and turn right. You will see a bus stop and a flight of steps to the right of it. Go down those stairs and follow the road around to the left and you will see the exchange rate board on the right.

This is also the quickest way to get to the beach, which is less than 10 minutes from the hotel. Carry on walking past the exchange place and stay on the right side of the road and turn right just after the car hire place, down the road and you’re there! Loads of decent restaurants / bars etc. If you continue along the beach you will reach the harbour where all the boat trips are. There is a walkway to Amadores beach which is less than a 15-minute walk!

Would recommend a boat trip to Mogan, which was 24 euro return between 2. Superb little place with excellent restaurants and scenery.

Would also recommend a dolphin trip. Tip – the cheapest one and best one was the “Boat Taxi” trip, which cost 30 euro each, but guaranteed that you would see dolphins, or they would take you out again free the following day. Incidentally we saw lots of dolphins, from bottlenose to speckled nose!

Overall:
Reviews are obviously subjective but can honestly say that the location of the hotel was ideal, the price was spot on, and the local amenities kept us busy the whole 9 days! An excellent little find!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Jermaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servatur, Director de Recepción at Servatur Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jermaine W,

We need to thank you for this highly detailed and helpful review. It is such a nice gift for us to read such a nice review of your recent stay at Servatur Montebello.

We would be delighted if you would honor us with another opportunity to convince you of our Servatur Hotels service and quality.

Warm Greetings from Gran Canaria,

Servatur Montebello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews