We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable accommodation in heart of the "Centro...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Polignano a Mare, Province of Bari, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Maria D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable accommodation in heart of the "Centro Storico" with an amazing terrace.”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Terrazza Merlata was a beautifully decorated, comfortable 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment with the most amazing terrace with views of one of Polignano's most famous beaches.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Dear Maria,
thank you for your kind review. We are happy to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Terrazza Merlata and its sea view so much.
We look forward to welcome you back to Puglia soon!
Kind regards,
Francesca HelloApulia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eileen l
2 reviews
“Beautiful Apt right in the heart of Old Town in Polignano”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Look no further to find the perfect apartment in this beautiful seaside town. The location is perfect. Everything is at your doorstep- great restaurants, shopping, and the beach. The apartment is newly updated and has an amazing terrace with stunning views. Marion was our contact person and she made our stay here absolutely wonderful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Dear Eileen,
we would like to thank you for your wonderful review. It has been a pleasure having you as our guest at Terrazza Merlata, and we are happy to see that you've enjoyed the location, the stunning views and the surroundings as well.
We look forward to welcome you back to Puglia soon!
Kind regards,
Francesca HelloApulia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSG70
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The view is really astonishing....on both sides. The main square with all the events on one side.... and the Adriatic on the other. We were lucky to witness the Red Bull Diving finals 2016 ! The terrace is well equipped and large. The flat is stocked well with linen, dishwashing tablets and more importantly there were some leftover kitchen essentials. Great for a 1st time visit.

However, many bells do toll every 15 mins and loud noise from various events mainly in the square plays into the early hours every single day. While the closed doors keep out most of the sound, it is not pleasant in 33 deg heat or you run the ACs.

The shower rooms are somewhat cramped with the bidet of one converted to a shower which meant the whole toilet got wet. And our check in was a little uncomfortable with the owner issuing too many dos and don'ts alongside the agent. We also lost power one of the evenings and had to go knocking at the neighbour's where the owner lived to access our meter which had tripped.

Eating out is inexpensive with plentiful options and of very good quality. We treated Polignano as a base to explore Puglia and take in a day trip to Pompeii. The water was amazingly clear and warm and we found a cute cove in Monopoli as also a great restaurant - Il Guazzetto. Beautiful sandy beaches are found on the other side of the heel of Italy.

It was a great holiday and i will return to this region.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking time to fill in your review. It has been a great pleasure having you as our guests and we apologize for the loud noise you've heard, but unfortunately the apartment is located in the heart of Polignano's life with churches, pubs and many events, and this is out of our control. Regarding the shower room and the check-in we will do our best to improve our services.
We look forward to welcome you back to Puglia soon.
Kindest regards
Francesca HelloApulia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family with one child (11 years) and we stayed 2 weeks in Terazza Merlata in July. The house and its interior is absolutely marvellous and the spacious terrace and its view are breathtaking !! Although we arrived very late at night, Nicolas the check-in manager and Mariantoinetta, the owner of the house, welcomed us warmly and showed us around. The house provides everything that is needed (exactely like in the description). Since electricity is charged separately, we had to pay 35€ for having the aircon cooling the house, but that was worth it since the temperatures were pretty high (around 38 degrees celsius). The house is situated in the centre of the old town and restaurants, bars and ice cream places are just around the corner. The walk to the beach takes about 5-8 minutes. We did not have a car and did some trips to the Castellana caves, to Alberobello and Bari by train and bus, which is easy, uncomplicated and very cheap. We would highly recommend this place

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Dear Ms Martina,
thank you for your wonderful feedback after your stay at Terrazza Merlata! It has been a great pleasure having you as our guests and Nicolas and Mariantonietta were very pleased with you too, you are a highly recommendable Guests!
We apologize for the airco, but unfortunately the temperatures in this period are very high.
We hope to see you again in Puglia soon!

Warm regards
Francesca HelloApulia | Luxury of Being Here
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaz569
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Italian apartment with stunning views”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The last review said it all really and we agree with everything they said. The owner was very friendly and brought us home grown pomegranate and pear jam to eat on the terrace. There are lots of places on the terrace to eat and sun bathe and we made full use of them! The view of the bay and the sea inspired us to go down and take a dip - take plastic shoes as the pebbles hurt!

The apartment was amazingly well equipped with glasses, crockery, cutlery, sunbeds, towels and even sunhats. It is situated just off the main piazza which has some good restaurants and bars. In fact the town has lots of good restaurants with seafood a speciality and the recommendations by the agents, HelloApulia were spot on.

Being close to the piazza you are also close to the bells which are charming but they do ring through the night so you might want to bring ear plugs. You will probably hear the bells wherever you stay in Polignano.

Thank you to Marion for welcoming us so nicely and helping us with advice and sorting out staying in the house a little longer on checkout day. She recommended a good taxi firm for getting to the airport (Euros70).

Polignano is a charming Italian town with very helpful and friendly people and we would thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing