We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely place to live, big backyard and great view”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lative

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portmagee, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Geoff B
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous area with wonderful people - property not worth it, though”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our holiday in Kerry and absolutely love the area and people. Portmagee and all around is exquisite, but the property Lative is severely overpriced and lacking. Its shortcomings are too many for us to recommend it: no signs warning about the deep overgrown ditch around the edge of the property (could be a serious hazard if young children are in your party) - only found out how deep the ditch is when we tried and failed to retrieve our frisbee; no DVD player; no Radio/CD player; no external seating/patio set; no instructions on waste disposal (some present on recycling); hefty utility costs (2 Euro per gas unit and 0.25 Euro per electricity unit!); excessive breakages deposit, which you don't get back till more than 10 days AFTER you have returned home! (150 Euro, for goodness sake!) and they had this in their bank account for MONTHS. We've never had to pay this sort of thing upfront before; too few clothes pegs for drying washed clothes; the smell of sewage outside was frequently overpowering; lounge seating is not enough for 6 persons. We will not be renting Lative again and wouldn't recommend it unless it was a lot cheaper.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area and people
Liked least: Expensive property with missing amenities
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
So sorry you felt like this. First bad review. You did not fully pay for gas and electricity. Sewage smell is from farms. It is an agricultural area!!!!!!. I don't feel it is overpriced. Research was completed by myself to get a fair price for a 3 bedroom property. For 6 adults.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yan Z
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely place to live, big backyard and great view”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

great house for family or group of friends, very close to the attractions, lovely view

only thing I am a little concerned is, the wind sounds loudly from the rooms when we stay there

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anon W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spotlessly clean, comfortable and spacious cottage. Friendly caretaker”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had 3 nights in this lovely, clean comfortable cottage and we would definitely book here again. The location is quiet and away from the hustle and bustle but great for local sightseeing, walking, cycling, visiting local attractions. We could have got 4 cars on the driveway but easy turning space for one! Short walk into Portmagee where we had a great meal at 'the moorings' we recommend the bar side for value. The caretaker was friendly and helpful and we had clear instructions about the key, arriving, leaving etc. The garden is large enough for a good kick about and the open plan kitchen-dining-lounge area is sociable and spacious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, very clean, modern-homely, spacious
Liked least: Lack of pavement to portmagee, size of beds as we are used to king size.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebork
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house and location”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for three nights. The house was very spacious and clean, and had everything we needed for the weekend. The location was perfect, especially for visiting the Skelligs. The area surrounding the house was quiet, but we were still very close to Portmagee and Valentia Island (5 minute bike ride). I will book this house for future trips to Portmagee.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, a gem of a find”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

we stayed in this property 25-28 july 2014 with two 3.5 year olds...we had beautiful weather, the kids loved the huge grounds with this property and the lovely walks up and down the country road, clean and spacious interior, wanted for nothing, was so disappointed to leave , will definately be booking again for a week next year, Owner and caretaker extremely helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: setting
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing