We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best holiday ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Of course this is the only hotel we stayed at in Santorini but I would be surprised if there are any better and in particular, any that make you feel so at home. There is an underlying culture that feels of family and that's what makes it so special.

From the moment we left the airport the levels of care and attention are there, with an efficient pick up and a comfortable mini bus.

It's a very short walk to the hotel from the drop off and there are staff on hand to take your bags as being Santorini there's plenty of steps to negotiate.

When you arrive the friendly staff get you checked in quickly and then you are given a tour of the hotel facilities which like the rooms are cut into the side of the cliff face. It's also the first chance to meet Spooky, the lovely hotel dog that will turn up throughout your stay.

The pool and pool area is stunning and is apparently the largest on the Island. It certainly gives wonderful views over the sea towards the Southern parts of the island. It's deep but not cold. It has a jacuzzi area too.

The pool bar turns out lovely cocktails and the staff are very charming and treated us all incredibly well. Nothing was a problem and they were very good with our teenage (19 and 15) children.

It's also at the pool bar that you'll meet the owner, Yiannis, and here is my most important tip, spend time with Yiannis, he is one of the most interesting people we have met and he helped make our holiday so memorable. He is born and bred on Santorini and his stories and experiences are hilarious and sad and entertaining. He is also an incredibly generous host and really looks after you but is also gracious and you can return his hospitality.

He also owns farms that provide most of the delicious tomatoes, red onions and fava that make the lunches at the hotel so delicious. There is no need to go out for lunch and we only ate out during the daytime when we were out exploring.

Breakfast is also good, lots of local produce once again. Worth getting up for.

The hotel has a great location as it faces South and is protected from the North Wind that can blow quite hard, even in the Summer.

The wind also makes a boat trip a must. We decided to 'push the boat out' and charter a boat for the day. The one we selected was Yiannis' own boat and he treated us royally all day. It was an amazing day which included swimming, cliff jumping, octopus fishing and loads of food and drinks. Worth the money.

That brings me onto the cost, if you want budget this not the hotel for you. However, it is not expensive for what you get. The rooms are small but appointed to 5 star standard. I'll explain why we know that and it involves my only mild criticism of the hotel.

When we booked the hotel it was only my wife and daughter that were going so we booked the 'apartment' room which is suitable for 4 adults. My son then decided to he wanted to come so I asked the hotel if the apartment would hold 4 and was told yes. Now once we saw the room we knew straight away 2 days (let alone 10) with the 4 of us in the room would have ended in the holiday being ruined. I do wish the hotel had been more realistic but it turned out to be a good thing as I decided he needed his own room and although it took 3 room changes he get to stay in a variety of rooms which was actually quite a lot of fun.

It also meant that my wife and I got to spend the last 3 days in the honeymoon nest. This a room you have to stay in. It's gorgeous with an enormous Turkish bath that looks down into the Ocean and it's own private plunge pool. It's very private too. None of this came cheap but was worth every Euro.

So all in all the team at Honeymoon Petra Villas are simply fantastic and made it feel like a second honeymoon for my wife and I.

When we return to Santorini there's only one place we will stay.



Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank tbuae999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is amazing. The view, location, room, and food are all excellent but the best part was the staff. They were all fantastic, especially Penelopi and Konstantina, who are terrific and very friendly. The front desk staff were great too; they arranged our transportation to and from the airport, printed our boarding passes for us, and even let us buy some things from our room that we really liked. The cave rooms, in addition to the coolness factor, are also very practical. Since no light or noise gets in unless you want it, you will never sleep better in your life. We actually had to start opening the window on the door to let light in in the morning, otherwise we would have slept the day away. The pool and pool area are great. I loved sitting at the restaurant area by the pool and watching the sun set into the ocean every night while enjoying a glass of wine (pool bar is open 24 hours). You really don't need to ever even leave the property if you stay here. I half-joked with my wife that we will need to come back for our six month anniversary, as I don't think I can wait a year!

Room Tip: We really liked the traditional cave room. You will get a great night's sleep. All rooms though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our 8th stay in this great hotel. To be in this hotel means: an amazing view down to the Caldera, privacy and an excellent service. The rooms and suites are unique. It' s very interesting to sleep with a rock in your room. We love this hotel and the stuff and never would choose another hotel om Santorini. Greetings to Honeymoon Petra Villas

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gundahesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful and relaxing Petra Honeymoon Suites nestled on the edge of Imerovigli hill top. Superb scenery from all aspects of the villas. The most gorgeous sunsets from the terraces. Lovely selection of fresh food, great pool and wonderful staff....what more can we say other than it was absolutely perfect for any holiday trip. However going for your Honeymoon there were many extra treats included which made it very special.
Thank you Mr & Mrs Russell

Room Tip: Need to be active and fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Honeymoon Petra Villas in Imerovigli for 8 nights, after researching many other luxury hotels in Oia and Imerovigli that were way more expensive.
I made the right choice!
I loved Honeymoom Petra.....
The location is magnificent, the views incomparable.
I found the staff to be super courteous, friendly, and accommodating. My every wish and request was taken care of by the staff in a timely and friendly manner.
The breakfast was really nice every morning and the choices were more than any one person could desire. Penelope, the lovely tall gal who was the waitress at breakfast is so friendly and accommodating. Between her and the lovely Constantina, the smiles and friendly service never stopped.
Our room, #24 Superior Petra Studio, was fabulous. It was reasonably priced, large, comfortable, totally clean every day, and we had a big and very private terrace. Needless to say, the views from our terrace were like being in a dream.
I will say though, that the "Traditional Wing" is not in the center of the hotel, but rather off to the side and up at the top of the many stairs. Do yourself a favor.....get a room in the "Petra Wing". It's way better.
And the bathroom was roomy and clean.....the shower was huge. Just a note.....the lighting in the bathroom was a little on the subdued side. Don't expect a lot of brightness in the bathroom. Who cares anyway.
At the front desk, Nicholas set up our excursions, transfers, booked us reservations in various restaurants, and was very accommodating to all of my requests.
The sunsets from the bar/pool area are to die for. No need to go to Oia!
The sun decks, pool area, sun beds, chaise lounges, etc. make for a most incredible, relaxing day in the sun.....whilst surrounded by the most incredible views. The beautiful infinity pool is just right for a refreshing dip when the sun gets too hot.
What a perfect time at the Honeymoon Petra Villas.
I am picky.....but I cannot really fault this place. On the contrary.....it was more than we had hoped for. More beautiful than the pictures.
Is a vacation at Honeymoon Petra and Santorini cheap? No.
But if you are looking for a Bucket List trip and can afford it, look no further.
Go!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Petra Wing for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank travelcritic14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.2 km away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.4 km away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#18 of 50 in Imerovigli
350 reviews
1.4 km away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.3 km away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#19 of 50 in Imerovigli
462 reviews
0.2 km away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#11 of 50 in Imerovigli
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeymoon Petra Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeymoon Petra Villas

Address: | P.O Box 150, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#22 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: R4 120 - R7 581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Honeymoon Petra Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the magical island of Santorini, in the charming village of Imerovigli, Honeymoon Petra luxury hotel stands perched above the deep blue Aegean Sea.Family owned and run, this unique 5 star Santorini hotel has a lot more to offer than just accommodation. Its extraordinary views, rich Greek flavor and unique hospitality, distinguish it as a remarkably unique and tranquil heaven.The Pool, the biggest one on the Caldera, is hewn out of the volcanic rock and the facilities around it include a steam room and outdoor Jacuzzi, a Pool Bar and Day restaurant, a BBQ area, a breakfast area with panoramic views and large, comfortable lounge chairs and daybeds for the ultimate relaxation experience. From the pool area guests can experience some of the most awe-inspiring sunsets in the world.One of the most extraordinary luxury hotels in Santorini, Honeymoon Petra offers stylish and comfortable accommodation, taking full advantage of its breathtaking location and views of the caldera, volcano and the satellite islands of Santorini. The complex is developed in 2 wings; the Traditional Wing, a group of 9 luxury Rooms & Suites built into the rock, in the traditional style of the island, and the Petra Wing, a group of 17 luxury Rooms & Suites built from the rocks of the volcanic mountains.Honeymoon Petra Villas, a luxury hotel tucked quaintly into the rock, is 10km away from the international airport, 2km from the capital of the island Fira and closely located to the ancient fortress of Skaros.Distinguishing from other Santorini luxury hotels, Honeymoon Petra will make your stay an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Honeymoon Petra Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeymoon Petra Villas Hotel Imerovigli
Honeymoon Petra Hotel
Honeymoon Petra Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing