We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2017

I can honestly say that this place really is special. All reviews will tell you the view is amazing. It's true! Pretty much everywhere in the Caldera has a view, but as Honeymoon Petra is pitched at the edge of the resort, you really get the feel of privacy. Imerovigli is the perfect destination, as Oia and Thira are crazy with cruise ship tourists. Both are worth a visit in the evening when the cruise ships have left. The pool at the hotel is great. Most hotels in the area have either tiny pools or individual plunge pools that you pay a premium for. This one is deep enough to dive into and cool enough to feel refreshed after some time in the baking sun. We had room 10, the larger of the Petra studio's for 2. It's a great size for a couple and only a short walk to the pool, bar and restaurant. A nice balcony area with plenty of padded seating. We spent most nights having drinks there before heading out for dinner. Free WiFi in the room too. We felt the choice of breakfast options were good, albeit some reviews view differently. The best thing about the hotel are the people. The staff just can't do enough to ensure your time there is the best. A special shout out to Penelope, Konstantina, Vicky and Nikolas. They really made our stay special. This is one place we will surely return to.

Room Tip: The Petra wing is closest to the pool and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 58 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

The good: located in what we felt was THE best location with views of the entire island. An absolute stunning location. The bar and waiter staff were fantastic and the room, we chose the suite with jacuzzi, was wonderful. The big downside for us was the breakfast. For the COST of the hotel I do not expect a hot buffet that is cold and with such a limited selection.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank G7786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

I don't even know where to begin! Honeymoon Petra is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at. I travel a lot and I have stayed at some of the top hotels in the world and I would stay at Honeymoon Petra over any of them, hands down. Here's why- and I am sure it will be long so get ready :)

We decided to spend a few days in Santorini celebrating my grandmother's 85th birthday. Greece has always been on her bucket list so we wanted this trip to be extra special. When we arrived at the hotel, we were blown away by the views. Our little cottage (#3 Traditional Apt) was painted a pale pink with blue shutters which made it stand out amongst all the other white buildings. People would literally stop outside of our front porch to pose for photos. We had a wonderful view of the Caldera and there was a huge private patio across the walk where we spent most of our time on lounge chairs under and umbrella. The walk outside our door was the main walk way that everyone takes to hike from Fira to Oia. It was quite busy in the afternoon but my grandmother loved sitting on our little patio drinking coffee and people watching. The hotel is located at the highest point of Santorini and about a 20 min walk from Fira so it was much quieter than the hotels in busy Fira. There is a wonderful coffee shop close by that has home made pastries and will even deliver!! There are also several nice restaurants very close to our hotel. In my opinion the location of the hotel was the best on the entire island. Close enough to walk into town but far enough from town that it is so peaceful. It is situated so that you can see all the way to Fira and beyond so you get a true picture of Santorini. This made for breathtaking photos during the day, at sunset and at night with all the lights!
Our little cottage was a bedroom with a queen bed, a loft with a king bed, and two sofa beds in the living room. There were three of us so this worked perfectly. We didn't realize that the loft would have just a ladder so neither my mom or grandmother could crawl to the loft- which worked out well for me, I got a king bed all to myself! :) We had a little kitchen with a sink and fridge and a huge dining table. It was very comfortable for the three of us! The bathroom was tiny. Tiny tiny. As in I think the door was maybe 5 and a half feet tall. We are all short so it wasn't a big deal but my 6 foot husband would have been a little uncomfortable. The shower was also tiny tiny, tiny, thank goodness I shaved before we got there! However, that is just what you get when you stay in a cave house so no complaints here!!!
When we arrived at the hotel, Nikilos was waiting to take our bags. Thank goodness for him, we would have never made it up and down all those stairs with our luggage! Ha. He was a sweetheart. Later after dinner my grandmother was struggling to get up the stairs and he ran over and helped her patiently all the way up the stairs and back to the room. Vicki gave us a wonderful tour of the hotel and left us with fruit and a bottle of wine. The hotel provides everything! There was a beach bag and beach towels, robes, slippers, tons of toiletries, two large things of water, and a Nespresso machine! We at at the restaurant that night and watched the sunset by the pool. It was breathtaking. We sat on the very tip of the cliff so we could see all the way around the island. We had booked a restaurant to watch the sunset in Oia after hearing about its views- however, we canceled it after seeing our hotel view was even better!! The food was yummy- simple and light. Red Headed Vicki was our bartender and gave us a free welcome drink (SO good!). We were the only ones there except for the owner who was so enjoyable to talk with. He told us about the hotel and when he developed it and about his three sons (one runs the hotel, one runs a restaurant close to our hotel and one runs a sailing business).
The pool.....Ahhhhh. It sits out at the point of the island so you can see it from pretty much everywhere. They say it is the biggest on the Caldera. I watched hikers stop and oooh and ahhh over it. It is pretty impressive. The pictures don't even do it justice. The landscaping and architecture are top notch, the sun lounges are so comfortable and the way they included the bar with the pool is cool. Oh- and the pool bar is OPEN 24 HOURS. That made me laugh because I don't know who is down but the pool drinking at 5am but it was nice to know I could if I wanted to! There was always a staff around to open an umbrella, bring water... they always knew what we needed before we did! My grandmother got cold after dinner and Vicki offered her a blanket. They thought of everything!!
Breakfast was kinda small but they did have a variety of items and yummy fresh fruit. The view from the dining room was beautiful and they have so many cute little eating nooks so you can always eat with a view. Unfortunately, the dining room was reeeeeallly far from our room and had a lot of steps so we just took breakfast back to my grandmother every morning. The staff was so accommodating for this though!
Speaking of steps....there are a lot of them. But it IS Santorini after all. I just wish they would put up more hand rails. It would have made a world of difference. The stairs are just steep and uneven, I almost fell a couple of times and I am in good shape. I don't know how they don't have more accidents!
My mom and I got a massage from the cutest little girl. Little as in tiny but SO strong!! She was so sweet and bubbly and did a great job. The massage area is just below the pool in this small cave. It was beautiful and such a unique experience.
There is nothing this hotel does not provide- room service, laundry service, transportation...They have thought of everything down to the monogramed bath towels!
I seriously could go on and on but this is the longest review I have ever written (and only my second review- I literally joined trip advisor to write this review- they were THAT good).
I never go the same place twice but I am going to make an exception- I cannot wait to bring my husband back to show him this magical place!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank BrittneyCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Wow! This hotel is simply wonderful, gorgeous views, amazing swimming pool and the staff cannot do enough for you. We were lucky enough to be upgraded by the hotel (I think they took pity as the airline lost my luggage) the room was truly stunning. It was clean, luxurious and the view we had was amazing. The breakfast is yummy and the staff from reception to the bar staff go above and beyond in anyway they can for you. I would 100% recommend this wonderful hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Naomilane83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

This hotel is built at the best spot of the island!! We enjoyed every second of our stay.
The view is amazing ! We had a great private balcony to enjoy the magnificent sunset.
All the staff was great and really friendly.
We feel so lucky to have stayed at honeymoon petra and we will return as soon as possible.!!
PS. We will never forget the true naval stories from the lovely owner of the hotel, Captain John.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Man0lis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.2 km away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.4 km away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#18 of 50 in Imerovigli
351 reviews
1.4 km away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.3 km away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#19 of 50 in Imerovigli
463 reviews
0.2 km away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#11 of 50 in Imerovigli
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeymoon Petra Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeymoon Petra Villas

Address: | P.O Box 150, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#22 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: R4 120 - R7 581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Honeymoon Petra Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the magical island of Santorini, in the charming village of Imerovigli, Honeymoon Petra luxury hotel stands perched above the deep blue Aegean Sea.Family owned and run, this unique 5 star Santorini hotel has a lot more to offer than just accommodation. Its extraordinary views, rich Greek flavor and unique hospitality, distinguish it as a remarkably unique and tranquil heaven.The Pool, the biggest one on the Caldera, is hewn out of the volcanic rock and the facilities around it include a steam room and outdoor Jacuzzi, a Pool Bar and Day restaurant, a BBQ area, a breakfast area with panoramic views and large, comfortable lounge chairs and daybeds for the ultimate relaxation experience. From the pool area guests can experience some of the most awe-inspiring sunsets in the world.One of the most extraordinary luxury hotels in Santorini, Honeymoon Petra offers stylish and comfortable accommodation, taking full advantage of its breathtaking location and views of the caldera, volcano and the satellite islands of Santorini. The complex is developed in 2 wings; the Traditional Wing, a group of 9 luxury Rooms & Suites built into the rock, in the traditional style of the island, and the Petra Wing, a group of 17 luxury Rooms & Suites built from the rocks of the volcanic mountains.Honeymoon Petra Villas, a luxury hotel tucked quaintly into the rock, is 10km away from the international airport, 2km from the capital of the island Fira and closely located to the ancient fortress of Skaros.Distinguishing from other Santorini luxury hotels, Honeymoon Petra will make your stay an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Honeymoon Petra Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeymoon Petra Villas Hotel Imerovigli
Honeymoon Petra Hotel
Honeymoon Petra Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing