We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
452
30
14
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
30
14
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews czech republic romantic place perfect service unique experience book in advance spa treatments beautiful surroundings great food many thanks quality of food lunch and dinner great idea love this place from start to finish piano nobile professional service degustation menu
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 500 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Chateau Mcely is only 1hrs drive North of Prague and definitely worthwhile a visit, either for the day (I thought that lunch or picknick is a great idea for day guests) or overnight.

We stayed for one night, had lunch and dinner, both of which I would rate highly. Breakfast was nice too, but could have been better. I did not really like that extra options came with a price tag. That is not necessary at that price range, which is at the very top end for the Czech Republic.

We also tested the spa, and booked a 90min massage and cosmetic treatment. Both were a bit pricey but good. After the all, the chateau invites guests to indulge themselves, which is easy to do.

We had booked a larger room (called "Silk"), which was located on the top floor of the tower, and very nice and comfortable.

The entire interior is very well restored and decorated. Just beautiful, and one can see how much work the owner dedicated and still dedicates to this place. Very Special!

The grounds and gardens are very well kept, and invite for short walks.

We are looking forward to returning next year :)

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Loeneberga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra H, Deputy Managing Director at Chateau Mcely, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Dear guests,

We would like to deeply thank you for your nice feedback. Thank you!

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt pampered from us. We really appreciate your words.

We look forward to welcome you back!

Petra Horáková

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

A gorgeous property. Beautiful pond-like pool was a saving grace during a heat-wave. Staff are very eager to please. Thomas the bartender mixes cocktails that would probably win international competitions, if entered. The female massage therapist (late 40s/early 50s, long red hair) is a national treasure - one of the best massages I’ve ever had. The restaurant on the property, while quite pricey, does serve an excellent selection of creative and expertly-prepared dishes.

A few issues that we had during the stay.

Music is playing all over the chateau at all hours, same set, day do day. At breakfast, while trying to wake up and slowly re-enter the day and in the relaxation area by the pond, while trying to nap and listen to sounds of nature, the pervasive sound came to be quite irritating. One’s taste in music is a highly personal matter and to keep imposing a very particular taste on one’s guests throughout the day really detracts from the stay.

It was 90C+ F outside. The breakfast area is not air conditioned, which in itself was not a problem - it was warm, but not uncomfortable. However, in these conditions to have fish (smoked salmon, some sort of caviar), milk and butter sitting out at room temperature for prolonged periods of time and not on ice, is a violation of basic food safety. I pointed this out to the staff person, but nothing was done about it.

Finally, the massage at the spa starts with a ‘foot-washing ritual’, which entails the massage therapist kneeling on the hard stone floor and washing the client’s feet with a scrub and allying a moisturizer. I recognize that the kneeling has historical connotations and is supposed to convey a welcome, but it demeans the dignity of the professional engaging in the ritual and is actually antithetical to the feeling of sophistication and understated luxury you are trying to convey. Please buy the woman a little bench and tell her to get off knees.

These issues aside, we very much enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra H, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Mcely, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate your kind words about our natural swimming lake and in particular your praise for our team. Thank you as well for your comments regarding the music. As of this spring, we have a new musical style put together with a sense of the different times of day and a professional sound system for maximum musical resonance. Unfortunately, at the time of your visit, we were experiencing difficulties with the system, and it was not possible to switch it between the various “modes”. The next time you visit, it will be working properly.

Given the increasingly warm summer days, we already have plans to install air conditioning in the lower halls of the restaurant. Until that takes place, we ensure that everything on the breakfast buffet is fresh. A number of more “sensitive” items are chilled on the spot. Because of the high demand at breakfast, food items are replenished frequently.

We would be honored to welcome you again as our guest at Chateau Mcely. We will do everything we can to make your experience here enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Petra Horakova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Perfect service and amazing place to be. Well trained stuff, clean and spacey rooms, beautiful garden and spa with natural swimming pool. Amazing food and wine selection. Not cheap but quality is according the price.

Room Tip: Simply amazing.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Filip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra H, Deputy Managing Director at Chateau Mcely, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for a heartwarming feedback. We are always happy to hear once our guests enjoy their stay with us from beginnig to the very end!

We will be looking forward to welcoming you at the chateau soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Petra Horáková

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

From start to finish, it's the reason why we go there on a regular basis for a romantic getaway from Prague. When we arrive, we're greeted with an herbal drink and a towel to wipe off your hands. The rooms (named after the months) are a bit small but adequate and well furnished with nice soaps and shampoo dispenser. Massage is available and is top notch with therapists able to speak at least English along with Czech. The bar and the restaurant are also not indicative of what you would find in this remote village but what you'd find in the city. The degustation menu was fabulous even though there were a few items i wouldn't normally try. It included: rabbit kidneys, lamb knee, mango sherbet, scallops and quinoa, and tenderloin, with nougat for dessert. The bar had a nice selection of products which also were not run of the mill which was interesting.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank zHojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra H, Deputy Managing Director at Chateau Mcely, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear guests,

We would like to deeply thank you for your nice feedback. Thank you!

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt pampered from us. We really appreciate your words.

We look forward to welcome you back!

Petra Horáková

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

This place makes us always happy . Absolute heaven. Fantastic service, great food and perfect ambient. This was our tenth visit and the bar rises every time a bit higher. Well done. Thanks to the entire team!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank PRG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra H, Deputy Managing Director at Chateau Mcely, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Dear guests,

Thank you for your kind words towards our hotels facilities and team. It gives us great pleasure to know that you have enjoyedagain your stay and that Chateau Mcely has became a wonderful experience.

We all look forward to welcoming you again at Chateau Mcely in the near future.

Sincerely Yours

Petra Horáková

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews