We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FANTASTIC!”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Cola Ballena at sunset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Cola Ballena at sunset
Pool area Pool view of the Whale's Tail
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Casa Cola Ballena at sunset
Pool area
Pool view of the Whale's Tail
Kitchen and dining areas
Sitting area with reading nook off the kitchen
TV room with whole house stereo, AppleTV, Netflix and tons of DVDs!
Master suite with en suite bat
Master suite with en suite bath to right
Master Bath
Master Bath (Jacuzzi Tub)
Northern Guest Suite with en suite bath
Northern Guest Suite with en suite bath
Northern Guest Bath
Southern Guest Suite with en suite bath (queen down, twin up -- can be separated as well)
Southern Guest Suite with en suite bath
Southern Bath
Half Bath
That Coati is stealing OUR bananas!!!
Welcome Home!
Bandit
Noisy Neighbors!!!
Bahia Ballena
Security Gate
Pura Vida!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebecca G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The house is beautiful. The view is amazing. The owners and property manager are beyond accommodating. They helped us plan or excursions. We loved the pool and used it several times s day. The outdoor shower was great. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you need to cook great meals and make delicious blended drinks to enjoy on the deck. The house is wired with reliable, fast Internet and an international phone so we could stay connected with family back home with ease. We had a terrific stay and we will definitely be back. If you are considering this property, you will not be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeiselMan...
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Time”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My husband and I rented Casa Cola Ballena this past Feb/March for 6 weeks and had a wonderful time. Perched 550 meters above the beautiful Whales Tale and village of Uvita the view is breath taking both day and night. We were up early every morning to enjoy abundant Tucan and other beautiful bird shows in the wild. The house is comfortable, well maintained and set up to entertain your guests from back home in style. All you really need to do is bring in your groceries. Trina & Don are perfect property managers. You won't be disappointed if you stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H
1 review
“Casa Cola is a fully appointed exquisite home located in the lush mountains overlooking the Pacific.”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Casa Cola was our first experience in home rentals. We were completely "overwhelmed" with the beauty and location of the house, the amenities within, the surrounding landscaping, all set within the lush mountain forests overlooking the Pacific below. Our intention in visiting this portion of the country was to escape the crowds and enjoy all the beauty of Costa Rica's natural wonders. To meet those needs, the Osa Peninsula's Corcovada National Park is an easy drive away as is the Rehabilitation Center for convalescing birds and animals native to the area. The great walking beaches are numerous and just minutes away. Wonderful casual dining restaurants and well supplied and equipped food markets are, yet again, just minutes away at the bottom of the hill in Uvita. The owners of the property, Mark and Sarah, were totally delightful in responding to and answering my plethora of questions prior to our arrival. All said and considered, a "5 star" rating may just not be enough . Superlatives are necessary! We could not have been more happy with the entire experience!!!!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy R
Fallbrook
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Home, Amazing Views, FANTASTIC VACATION RENTAL”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Our family spent 8 days here in Paradise! The property manager, Trina met us down in town and we followed her up the mountain - our first adventure ;)
We had such a warm welcome as there were fresh cut flowers for us. The kitchen had everything you will need and then some. They have a very helpful house book that gives you ideas as to what to do and see, as well as places to eat at. The views were just so awesome with surrounding lush greenery and various wild life. The view of the Whale's Tale and the sunsets were our favorite... We really liked that the house had whale tale decorations throughout the property, the entry gate, the outside wall, by the pool and various places within the house. The house also had plenty of books and games, TV, Internet, house phone as well as a local cell phone. It was also very nice to have the use of a washer and dryer. All 3 of the Master Suites were all very comfortable with beautiful views as well. PLUS they all are pretty private. The house is well taken care of and very clean. Truly an Amazing Vacation Rental! ** 5 STARS ALL THE WAY!!! **

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G
Hockley, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An absolutely incredible place to stay.”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

WOW! Casa Cola Ballena is beautiful, perfectly maintained with a stunning view of the rain forest and the Pacific Ocean including the Whale's Tail. Added to all of this is a beautiful swimming pool. We tried to return from our activities each day in time to experience the sunset from the patio - we took enough pictures to fill a wall.

We loved Uvita and Costa Rica and had great fun on the full day nature tour,the Jungle ATV tour, the wildlife sanctuary and the Zipline but the high light of our trip was Casa Cola Ballena. What an experience.

5 happy adults, Ray, David, Sue, Gayla, and Rick

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2017
Thanks, Ray! We are so very glad your crew was able to enjoy our own little slice of paradise! We look forward to having you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing