We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
328
56
9
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
56
9
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiki villasoutdoor showerinfinity poolhowler monkeyscosta ricasmall kitchenettewelcome drinkour entire stayour honeymoonreception areacouples massagecatch of the daymanuel antoniowhite faced monkeysocean viewpura vidawatch the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018

It's been the worst experience I've had at any Costa RIcan hotel. Can you imagine a hotel with no amenities ?, no tv, no cable, the WI FI was terrible, no cel phone signal, and no in room phone, so no room service, no way to contact front desk. WE saw a nice infinity pool in the pictures, it turned out to be just like a sink, a very very tiny one, and located at the restaurant area where no privacy can be achieved. Yes, nice view, but that's it. We made the reservation and it was a non refundable one, I should have guessed why, but I did it, and went there, when we arrived, nobody was there to help us, we even had to look in the restaurant kitchen to finally found someone to help us check in. We spent 5 min tops at the "villa" and we decided to live an look for another place to stay. at the front desk they just said, they were sorry, but that's it. No refund at all. We lost our money. I can't believe it, That can only mean one thing, they will charge you in advance so they don't care if you are satisfied at all. You can find nice view at so many places in Uvita. Avoid this hotel. Don't be fouled. And Learned lesson, never, never reserve at a hotel with non refundable rate. Terrible. Nevertheless, they say it's a honeymooner hotel, it's just an excuse for the lack of amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rodrigo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, Guest Relations Manager at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Rodrigo, We were disappointed to read this review. As you booked your stay using an On-Line Travel Agency we have no ability to refund the non-refundable reservation you made. Had the reservation been made directly through TikiVillas, we would have offered a refund without hesitation, as you elected not to stay. As for your grievances: TikiVillas does not have Television, as is the case with the vast majority of the hotels in the rainforest – TV is very tricky to support. Nowhere in our list of amenities does it suggest that we offer TV. Our Infinity Pool is both pictured and described accurately - and thoroughly enjoyed by our guests. The internet is exceptional. There are two Villas where we are currently improving the Wi-Fi signal. It’s awesome in all public areas. Your Cell phone signal is weak? Ah……not sure what any hotel can do to improve your cell signal? There are occasions when staff step away from the reception desk to tend to the requests of other guests, we apologize if their momentary absence caused impatience. Once again, we are disappointed that you left unhappy. Wishing you well, Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

TikiVillas was the perfect getaway for our family. We stopped here for the night on our way down to the peninsula de Osa and we had a wonderful experience. The rooms were large and comfortable, the bathroom were nice and clean. The pool was beautiful and the flora and fauna close to the lodge was incredible. The food was very good too!
The treatment we got was excellent. We would gladly return any day!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank travelingaccount2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, Guest Relations Manager at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

The TikiVillas team appreciate you taking time to share your experience with others. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay, and please know you're always be welcomed back at TikiVillas!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Nestled in the mountains is a quiet and peaceful hotel that you will not want to leave. The property is relatively small, and accommodates only a few guests at a time. You may be there and not see any other guests outside of getting meals. Your villa will be private and peaceful. The sounds of the animals in the area provide an extra level of peace.

The rooms are clean and surprisingly spacious, and the views from your balcony are as relaxing as you would think a nature escape would be.

The food was great, and the chef is accommodating to dietary needs or any preferences. You can mix and match and even have custom meals created, as long as they have the ingredients they will accommodate.

The staff is very friendly and they made us feel right at home. A big shout out goes to Gerald who made sure everything was managed properly for us. Booking taxis, room service, activities, providing information, and pretty much anything we wanted.

The property is clean and well maintained. Waking up in TikiVillas is very relaxing. The sounds of the animals are gentle alarm clocks.

Getting to Uvita can be a hassle. A good idea to get there right away instead of waiting for a shuttle is to either rent a car or reserve a taxi. It is $200 USD directly through TikiVillas. Uber is about $125 from SJO. It is about a 4 hour drive to and from the airport, but the scenery is beautiful and it doesn't feel like a long ride at all.

All in all I would absolutely recommend TikiVillas and was completely satisfied. If you are looking for a peaceful getaway in Costa Rica you should consider this place. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derekarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, Guest Relations Manager at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for taking time to write this review! TikiVillas has 9 private villas. The property was developed to help assure guest privacy. The hotel is settled on an 11 acre private nature reserve which explains the abundance of animal life nearby. There's nothing like waking up to the sounds of the rainforest at daybreak! We're proud of the hotel's restaurant: Las Velas, and the attention paid to details in the kitchen. The Tiki team is pleased you had a terrific experience. Driving from San Jose takes about 3 hours. There are regional flights (Sansa Air) that reduce the travel. Quepos is the nearest airport and it is a 45 minute drive to TikiVillas, but most guests prefer to have an automobile. Guests may feel free to contact the hotel for suggestions and guidance on transportation to/from the airport. Pura Vida!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I spent 6 nights enjoying the pool, food, and terrific service. We live & work in a tourist area and the service and attention Jason and Gerald provided were truly impressive. They arranged tours and restaurant reservations, communicating my daughters food allergy information. The bonus was their sense of humor; we laughed all week. We sincerely felt that they wanted us to have a great experience. I agree with other reviews on the views & tranquility & animal sightings.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Flyer764097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, Guest Relations Manager at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for this wonderful review! Jason & Gerald are two terrific hosts. TikiVillas is very fortunate to attract and retain team members who truly have their hearts in hospitality. We're also very fortunate to attract guests who appreciate the significant difference they can make to your travel experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

I stayed here alone for four nights and loved it.

The place is beautiful and peaceful. There was no noise from guests and I felt like I was alone most of the time which was fantastic. There are only six villas so it's quiet.

The pool is beautiful and so are the views from.each balcony.

It's really close to the road so easy to get to nearby towns and attractions.

The staff were super friendly and helpful and we're very service oriented. I also had a massage at the spa which is open to the rainforest and totally beautiful.

I'd return in a heartbeat.

Thanks for an amazing stay!!!

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Einav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews