We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
225
32
7
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
225
32
7
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rorke's drift two nights battlefield tour stunning views private balcony zulu war high standard the cliff delicious food second to none warm welcome blood river lovely meal en route wonderful staff lunch and dinner amazing place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2020 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights . The lodge is beautiful in a wonderful setting and the tour of the battlefields was excellent . Sadly this is all let down by the worst quality food we have had in S.A. As well as been badly prepared they used the cheapest ingredients . Which for what we paid was a real let down . Pool area also needs some attention loose boards on decking etc.

But the really worst part was the attitude of the manager Shane. There was another couple and ourselves staying . There was confusion over a bill for wine with an extra bottle being charged for which we didn’t have . When the receptionist tried to discuss it with him . He very rudely said if it’s the waitresses mistake she can pay for it . We were all very upset with the way he spoke to and treated his staff. Because of this and the problems with the food we would not recommend this to lodge to anyone .

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jenen58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2020

We stayed for two nights in January. We received a warm welcome, despite being two hours late, and were shown to our very nice room after a welcome drink. We had a lovely meal with super wine and admired the fantastic view over the battlefield. The next day we did the excellent battlefields tour before returning to the lodge in the evening for another lovely meal.
The welcome, food, drink and view are second to none. A highlight of our tour of KZN

Room tip: All were lovely
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L2503TNsimonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020

We stayed one night at Isandlwana Lodge, from Dec 26th through Dec 27th 2019. A truly memorable experience as we were the only guests that night! The staff was welcoming, friendly and service minded, the kitchen was good and both the location of the lodge and the view is truly breathtaking.Our room was spacious and comfortable and all rooms are thematically connected to Zulu commanders and the battle of Isandlwana.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Service
Thank UltimaTore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019

If anyone is visiting the battlefield sites of Isandlwana and Rorke's Drift, this has to be the ultimate location for their stay. Set in the cliff overlooking the Isandlwana site, the lodge offers lovely rooms. Almost every one offers a view of the battlefield and surrounding area. The food was superb and the hosts, along with the wonderful staff, couldn't do enough to make the stay a great experience.

Date of stay: January 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SteveTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2019

Stayed for two nights in November. Such an unusual and interesting hotel with amazing views of the battlefields. Cosy and comfortable with delicious food. A friendly staff and good service. We lived it.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews