We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place to relax”
other travellers have booked this property
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
johnwgc20...
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at The Burrow for three nights early in October. It was the most relaxing environment with a lovely balcony overlooking the billabong and the birdlife - the perfect place to sit with a book or just snooze. Sue and Bill looked after us extremely well and we had more provisions in the cottage that we could ever get through in three days. The Burrow is also very well located with easy access to wineries, restaurants and everything else the Yarra Valley has to offer. We hope we'll be able to stay there again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your warm review. We really enjoyed having you at Wombat Bend, loved the way you relaxed and started breathing more slowly (it's always noticeable ... stress and tiredness seem to waft off in the air) and also found time to explore some of the Yarra Valley pleasures on offer. It was lovely that you also chose to spend so much time here too, and discovered the peacefulness of The Burrow ~ we hope a good-sized helping accompanied you on the next leg of your trip, to the big smoke. We do hope to see you again in 2016.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Complete relaxation from the moment we arrived.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
It's one of our greatest pleasures knowing our guests discover that magic key called 'relaxation' at Wombat Bend. Slowing the breathing and letting the soul emerge .....

We loved having you to stay, and look forward to seeing you in 2016 ~ and some more conversations to explore.

Warmest regards, Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The opportunity to meet two of the nicest people I have come across in my entire life.
Liked least: The weather could have been better only to view another aspect of the property. If this was within Bill & Sue's capabilities I am sure they would have made changes to suit our every wish.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
oh you wonderful dear guests-now-friends. It was a total pleasure to have you stay in The Burrow and saying farewell was only made 'okay' because you made your next booking the following day ! We are incredibly lucky that guests who discover Wombat Bend fall in love with this place and take home a piece of it in their hearts. It is our great joy that, like the Magic Pudding, it never grows old ~ perhaps the rejuvenation that inspires our lovely guests to return also has the same effect on WB.

We can't wait to welcome you back 'home' soon.
Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CJGurt
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Peaceful”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Property is located some distance from a main road so it's very quiet. Cottage is very cosy and has lots of cooking provisions for eating in and preparation of breakfast the following morning. Hosts are friendly and accommodating and the breakfast foods are plentiful.
Great to hear all the frog sounds of an evening, and then just the splash of ducks in the water during the day. We had a thoroughly relaxing one night stay and would recommend this place to anyone else. Location is very near Locale at De Bortoli Vineyard.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind review, and we are pleased that you were comfortable and enjoyed the peaceful nature of Wombat Bend. Although we are close to so many of the attractions of the Yarra Valley, we are also lucky that our own little valley is secluded and quiet, enabling our guests to feel relaxed and undisturbed. Thank you for your recommendation. Kind regards, Sue and Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The billabong and the Airedales
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
it was great to have you ! and your enjoyment of the wildlife and the busy Airedales (including two extras) was very apparent. The birds are all very active on and around the billabong now that spring is well under way (and daylight saving .. I guess that makes a difference for them too <smile> ....), and lots of things in flower everywhere. Great for photography and capturing those special moments.
We'll be very happy to see you returning very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing