We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
37
23
9
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
23
9
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pretty beach merry beach national park batemans bay general store drinking water overseas visitors play ground situated right lovely cabin beautiful spot outdoor setting two bedroom cabin south coast washing machine limited reception sites
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018

We stayed for three nights in a beachfront site. The area is very exposed to the weather, so think about when to stay there.
Lots of wildlife, including kangaroos galore.
Amenities were clean. Had a terrific pool which we didn't use, as the weather was cool. To their credit, the pool was still kept beautifully clean, even with the park virtually deserted.
The one thing that I felt really let this park down was the shabby, uncared-for appearance of most of the 'permanent' sites - both near the seaview sites and further up the back of the park on the hill. Surely the park can set standards for these permanent sites? Work needs to be done on tree maintenance and new planting. These factors gave the park a bit of a neglected feel.
No internet access, no water on the sites. Can fill your water tank at their tap at start of stay. Many sites need levelling and maintenance done.
Would love to have rated higher. With more care and maintenance, this park could be terrific.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Chinta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

An excellent destination for a bloke’s retreat this time of the year: fishing, drinking, eating, getting close and personal with nature and not overcrowded. As a group of six men, we purposely booked the 2 x ‘Executive Suites’ (three men in each) when it wasn’t during the peak times (14 to 16 May 2018). It has boom-gate security, where you will receive a pin number to activate the boom-gate to access the resort. It was peaceful and we literally had the whole resort to ourselves. It is located in Murramarang National Park and surrounded by countless of friendly kangaroos and walking distance to the beach. The cabin had the necessities that suited us perfectly. It is a rather modern ‘self-contained’ neat little cabin, clean and comfortable living conditions. It is a two-bedroom cabin that consisted a master bedroom with a queen sized bed and the second bedroom with one single and one bunk bed – all linen is provided including bathroom towels. The cabin has a verandah with outdoor setting and BBQ that worked perfectly which we used during our stay. We packed enough food and drinks to last our three-day / two night stay as nearby shops are not within walking distance, you need to travel either to Ulladulla or Batemans Bay for top up of food and drinks. The verandah is a perfect way to have your brekkie, lunch and dinner overlooking the beachfront views, watching the sun rise and of course the kangaroos. We were approached by a man if we would like to hire a ‘brazier’ at $5.50 per day and a bag of firewood at $14 per bag to enjoy our evenings outdoors – all worth the cost. He comes over every afternoon between 3pm and 5pm. No need to book for this service. There is bathroom facilities in the cabin, the water for the bathroom area is bore water and the kitchen water is provided from their water tanks. There is a washing machine inside the bathroom and clothes lines to hang your clothes located in between cabins. Drinking water is available from specific taps within the park as well. There is no Wi-Fi and limited mobile phone coverage, I was cut-off a couple of times or the line can be quite static when successful. I had to find that “hot-spot” to get a reasonable reception. Excellent place to go for walks, there is also a bushwalking trail available.

Room Tip: Cabins because they are well equipped.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paulie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Stayed here for a weekend in late March, its right on the beach and next to the national park. Enjoyed our walk to Pretty beach and the walks and swims in Merry beach. Close to the general store and restaurant too. Friendly, helpful reception staff.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank CCsReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

A lovely spot right on the beach. We intended to stay Saturday night but chose the windiest weekend we’ve had in a while. We have two young kids and once we got the tent up it was clear it was not going to work staying the night as they were already spooked by the wind and it wasn’t even dark. We gave it an hour or two and played on the playground which was great for both the 4yr old and 18mnth old and then the beach before cutting our losses and packing up. We knew we would rather forfeit our camp fees than spend the night with scared kids keeping the quite close neighbours awake too. On leaving we returned the kids bathroom key and staff offered to credit our stay to another date which was a pleasant surprise. We then received a phone call today explaining we have been refunded our fee for the night. My birthday weekend was a bit of a disaster but this unexpected kindness by management is lovely.

We will be back only next time we will book a cabin I think. With the beach and nature all around it is a beautiful spot. Yes there is kangaroo poo and no phone reception or wifi but it’s clear who are the returning guests as they know to pack a rake and to make the most of soaking up the sound of the sea meeting the bush.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Traveler_at_heart_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

We caravanned with the kids on Australia Day long weekend.
We had a spot a slight hill which was a bit difficult to get the van onto and level but great for the sea breeze.
Mobile reception was very limited but we didn’t mind as the limited reception really makes you slow down and enjoy your surroundings.
We’ll be back but would definitely like to try the beach front sites next time.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Errin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews