We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Allt Mor

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Glendale, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Chris S
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I spent 4 nights at Allt Mor and had a wonderful time. Once you get to Skye the cottage is a fair drive from the bridge/ferry but once you reach the locale it's very easy to find. The directions provided by Josie are very clear and accurate. Just make sure you arrive in daylight as the lack of lighting across the island makes night driving a bit tasty. In particular, the suicidal sheep are a challenging addition to an otherwise experienced drivers repertoire.

Ron and Josie live in a nearby house which is very convenient(!) Ron showed us around the cottage on arrival and demonstrated how everything worked. He'd started the wood burner, and there was milk, beautiful fresh bread and scones with jam waiting for us. Ron and Josie have written a very helpful guide to that part of Skye, and there's some great ordnance survey maps and books about walks on the island. I'd avoid the walk around the nearby headland if it's windy though - my partner and I could barely stand in the wind, which made traversing the marshland particularly difficult!

The cottage itself is 200 years old and very sympathetically renovated and modernised. The extension to the rear has a good size bathroom and bedroom which are very well insulated and warm. The main cottage is very well designed and the aforementioned woodburner is fun and adds some romance to the cottage (once you get the knack of it!).

The area is very beautiful but obviously very quiet. There is at least one little shop a short drive away, but would highly recommend picking up some groceries en route. We stopped at the Co-op in Broadford which was petty much the only store we saw open on the Sunday we arrived.

The cottage is well placed for a trip to Niest Point, Dunvegan (+ it's castle and gardens), both of which we'd highly recommend. It's also a slightly longer drive to the Old Man of Storr, the Quirang, and the main town of Portree. After esch day's exclusion, we retreated to a cosy cottage, shared some wine and burned some wood.

Overall, a lovely cottage retreat. Josie and Ron are superb and we're already recommending the getaway to friends and family.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorraine...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning!”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I honestly do not know where to start with this review so let's just say this is the best accommodation we have ever stayed in and we have been round the world and back! We received the warmest welcome on arrival, with a tour of the cottage and a welcome pack of bread, jams, tea etc. It was everything we needed for our first night in the cottage in front of the cosy fire. The cottage had everything you could ever think of needing and really made our stay enjoyable. The location was also perfect!We already cannot wait to come back!

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived at the stunning cottage to a warm welcome from Ron & Josie, the owners who live up the hill. They showed us around the cottage, which definitely has the wow factor and explained how everything worked. They had provided fresh local bread and jam which was absolutely delicious and the log burning stove was already lit for us!

The cottage was wonderfully cosy and a lovely place to stay and relax. The Velux window above the very comfy bed gave an incredible view of the stars-there is no light pollution in Glendale- and most nights we didn't even bother using the blackout blind! The view of the Milky Way was outstanding as were the sunsets.

The cottage has been recently renovated throughout to a very high modern standard and had everything you could possibly need, even including a lovely local soap in the bathroom. The view from the living room looks out towards Harris and some stunning sunsets can be enjoyed from the comfort of the sofa!

Anyone who knows Scotland might wonder about the midges.....luckily Ron and Josie have already thought of that and a midge machine was located next to the cottage sucking up the little pests. Thanks to this midges weren't a problem at all!

Glendale is a beautiful part of Skye and is well served with a local shop and cafe's. A trip to the Red Roof Cafe is a must where they serve fresh local produce and home baking. The ginger cake was a particular favourite!

We had a wonderful week in this fantastic comfortable cottage, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone who's looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday on the Isle of Skye. We cant wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katjabeck...
Eckernforde, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Alles
Liked least: Gar nichts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frfavre
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing