We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and quiet, just what was needed :-)”
other travellers have booked this property
Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin
Sitting Room Kitchen / Sitting Room Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Cabin
Sitting Room
Kitchen / Sitting Room Area
Bedroom
View
View
View
View
Ben Nevis
VIEW FROM FAR CABIN
VIEW FROM NEAR CABIN
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Spean Bridge, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
DaveHay
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet, just what was needed :-)”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were looking for an off-the-beaten-track, peaceful, self-catering holiday ...

... and that's precisely what we got.

The cabin was perfect for our needs, being located away from the main house, with everything we needed, and nothing we didn't.

The location is exactly as described, and as per the websie, with spectacular views of the lush Scottish countryside through each and every window.

A word to the wise; your sat. nav. will take you so far, but it'll suggest that you've reached your destination when you're still about a half-mile away :-)

Thus, when you're told that you've arrived, be brave and keep going a little further along the road, having crossed the bridge, and look for a right-hand turn, suitably sign-posted.

The track from the road up to the Corriechoille Lodge, from where the cabins can be reached, is a bit "off-road" so be prepared to go slowly and take care.

The owners, Lucy and Justin, were nicely unobtrusive, but we knew they were on-hand if we needed them.

All in all, a great destination for a very enjoyable holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelinet...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Comfortable private knotty pine 1 bedroom cabin with wonderful views”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

There are just 2 cabins- ask for the one furthest away form the guest house as it has somewhat better views on one side. Both are otherwise identical. The cabins are located two and a half miles along a single track windy road, mainly reasonably level but with a steep drop off to the river in places. The road is rough at the end as it approaches Corriechoille Lodge. The owner had very little to say to us on arrival besides telling us about the cabin, and we hardly saw him later. His wife however was pleasant.
The cabin has much to recommend it, including wonderful mountain views on 3 sides. It is all knotty pine, with a very large though basic bathroom, which has a good over the bath shower. It has an exhaust fan as well as a window, but no hairdryer.

There is plenty of counter and cupboard space, which was generally clean, though I did clean lots of crumbs and debris from the cutlery drawer, and wiped down the inside of the none too clean china cupboard. Other than that the cabin was clean and well furnished. The under the counter fridge was quiet. The TV is modern, unlike the picture on the website.

The heating has improved from the original storage heaters and works well, keeping the cabin warm. The wood provided for the fire was adequate for the week in May. The hot water was plentiful for our morning showers, and could be reheated if needed.

Good towels were provided but no facecloths.

Everything was controlled in regards to the amount to use, but in a reasonable way- e.g.. product for 4 loads of laundry, 1 tablet per day for dishwasher. The clothes dryer is the same machine as the washing machine, but it was very inefficient- clothes hung around the room took the same time to dry as a few items in the dryer, which re-uses the same warm air, having removed the moisture.

The bed was hard, the mattress thin on a wood frame, but surprisingly comfortable. We slept well here. There are chickens around, and many sheep in the adjacent field, and swallows nested. It is a very relaxing place to stay.

The Spar store at Spean Bridge is quite small, and it is 12 miles to large grocery supermarkets in Fort William

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2016
Hello (Madeline?)

Thank you for your very in depth review. I'm sorry if you expected to see more of me. Always happy to have a chat, and available if you need help or advise (many self catering properties don't have the benefit of an owner on site all the time) but I feel that most people are hear to enjoy the peace and quiet and wouldn't appreciate me coming to visit them every day.

Since your review, a few people (who haven't stayed with us before) have asked specifically for the far cabin. The two cabins are orientated for maximum privacy, which means they face slightly different directions. However, there are windows on all sides of them, mountains all around, and no nearby roads or houses, so they both have good views. I've just uploaded a photo from each cabin sitting room so others can see for themselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect antidote to city life.”
Reviewed 23 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins for a week in September, having visited the neighbouring B&B some years ago. We were blessed with good weather, but regardless of conditions outside, the quality of the accommodation is superb and the location is simply stunning.

Justin and Lucy have clearly put a lot of work into making the cabins as comfortable and homely as possible, and it shows. Justin showed us around the cabin and briefed us on how things worked. Everything was spotlessly clean, and the kitchen area is very well equipped, with good quality crockery and cutlery. There are some very nice little touches, such as soft towels in the bathroom, a torch to find your way back in the dark, and books and board games should you ever get bored. Which is unlikely, as the views south towards the Grey Corries are breathtaking. Coming from the noise and heat of Dubai, to sit outside on the bench sipping a G&T and gaze at the mountains as the clouds and light constantly changed was pure therapy!

Realistically, you really need a car to stay here. At a push you could manage by mountain bike, but Corriechoille is a 10 minute drive along the single-track lane from Spean Bridge, which itself is a small village with one general store and a couple of eateries. The Aonach Mor gondola is 15-20 minutes drive, and Fort William is reached in 25 minutes or so. Corriechoille is also right next to the track leading to the Grey Corries, making it an ideal base for hill walking or mountain biking.

If you want to combine comfort with peace and quiet, this place is utterly perfect. We can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and quality of the accommodation
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonia s
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“RURAL BLISS”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

One of the best locations we have ever stayed in. Picture perfect views and absolute peace & quiet. ideal location for touring too if you can tear yourself away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Hello,

I'm sorry that you were disappointed with some areas of the cabin. (especially the service?). I'm also sorry that you didn't mention anything at the time - we could have done our best to put it right for you whilst you were here. Maybe you could get in touch and let us know? Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart T
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Peaceful, relaxing and some inspiring views over beautiful mountains !!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

What a fantastic place. The location makes you instantly unwind. Just beautiful views over the mountains and surrounding countryside that are forever changing. A very comfortable cabin with everything you need. Can't wait to o back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet...
Liked least: Leaving to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing