We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 - 23:00
Save
Review Highlights
Dropped in unexpectedly

Wasn’t sure what to expect but wanted a vibey place for a bite to eat at lunchtime having just... read more

Reviewed 1 May 2018
Jamie H
via mobile
Superb Landlord

We love the Tartar Frigate but our enjoyment on Saturday was ruined by a disruptive and noisy group... read more

Reviewed 28 November 2017
Dianne D
via mobile
Read all 46 reviews
  
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
17
18
3
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
18
3
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tartare live music restaurant upstairs great pub seaside pub running around friday night folk week lovely staff nice atmosphere landlord playground beer
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Great pub great atmosphere live music nice to see lots of couples and everyone over 30 staff were lovely no waiting on drinks these ladies are a credit to the pub Friday 13 went in at 8 stayed till close

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank dhuntlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Wasn’t sure what to expect but wanted a vibey place for a bite to eat at lunchtime having just arrived for the day in Broadstairs. We entered the pub which was quite busy and were ushered upstairs for a meal despite seeing loads of people eating in cozy cubicles downstairs. Upstairs looked a little formal and we were aiming for decent pub grub so we dropped back down.
I think what I loved about this pub really was the charming landlord who seemed to tolerate and make everyone feel very welcome. I don’t know where he came from as his accent wasn’t English and he knew how to make you feel wanted and seemed to have everything under control like in some of the best Italian restaurants I’ve been in. The order was taken swiftly and from there on the meal was pleasant down to all the waiting staff that seemed to seamlessly take over. Utterly friendly throughout and very calm and efficient. The food generally seemed very good,reasonably priced and to a high standard for pub grub and the whole experience was a gratifying start to exploring Broadstairs and it’s frontage.
Thanks for being cool Tartar Frigate ...I sincerely hope you maintain that standard and the staff you have stay as pleasant and loyal as they seemed that day we hung out with you.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

We dropped in for a nightcap and apparently everyone had just left (it was 9.30pm).
Gorgeous, authentic English pub with lovely staff and the usual decor that you’d expect from a seaside pub. Billiard table, nautical themes and pictures of days gone by made sitting in the booth that much more lovely.
Wheelchair and kid friendly.
Great beers and ciders in tap.
We will return

Date of experience: April 2018
3  Thank thetravellingspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Really enjoyed spending time in this bar. Popped in for 1 and ended staying for 3 drinks. Good atmosphere, comfortable seats. Loved it here.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Marion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

My mother in law has been a frequent visitor of the Tartar Frigate for some time and we always pop in when we visit, this is what I would call a ‘proper pub’ with great staff and great atmosphere for people who want to come in for a sociable drink, what it is not, is a children’s playground! It is not designed for large groups of children to be running around playing. During our recent visit the landlord asked a large group to leave, and quite rightly so, they had clearly not done their research and behaved completely inappropriately. The landlord handled them very well and our evening continued pleasantly as usual as soon as they had gone. Overall a pleasant experience as always!

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank j0diecase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews