We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper pub ”

The Tartar Frigate Bar
Ranked #8 of 24 Nightlife in Broadstairs
Attraction details
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

My mother in law has been a frequent visitor of the Tartar Frigate for some time and we always pop in when we visit, this is what I would call a ‘proper pub’ with great staff and great atmosphere for people who want to come in for a sociable drink, what it is not, is a children’s playground! It is not designed for large groups of children to be running around playing. During our recent visit the landlord asked a large group to leave, and quite rightly so, they had clearly not done their research and behaved completely inappropriately. The landlord handled them very well and our evening continued pleasantly as usual as soon as they had gone. Overall a pleasant experience as always!

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank j0diecase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tartare"
in 4 reviews
"live music"
in 7 reviews
"restaurant upstairs"
in 3 reviews
"great pub"
in 4 reviews
"seaside pub"
in 2 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 5 reviews
"running around"
in 2 reviews
"friday night"
in 2 reviews
"folk week"
in 3 reviews
"nice atmosphere"
in 2 reviews
"landlord"
in 5 reviews
"playground"
in 2 reviews
"beer"
in 6 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

We love the Tartar Frigate but our enjoyment on Saturday was ruined by a disruptive and noisy group of families and their children. Initially the children were unsupervised running around and very noisy, then a couple of the parents decided to engage them in a game of charades, which was very loud and annoying. When the landlord came in he asked them to drop the noise level and to stop the children from running into where customers were playing pool, they just continued. Eventually they were asked to leave but they became abusive and continually asked what they had done that annoyed people even they had been told several times. I have only got admiration for the landlord that remained so polite and calm in the face of extreme abuse, every pub needs a landlord like him. When they left everyone breathed a sigh of relief and it returned to being a place for everyone and not a playground for the inconsiderate. Wonderful landlord, I hope he remains for a long time keeping the TF a great pub for all.

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We always try to pop in on a Friday night for live music if we're in town!! Always seem to be a good musician / band or group on!! All the years I've been in I've never been disappointed with the act!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank C8689BCbenjaminh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch on day trip to Broadstairs. Whitebait was delicious and also chips. The 2 ladies behind the bar were very friendly and welcoming. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Lynne1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Great pub, beer was excellent and the prices were fair. Nice atmosphere and live music was a credit to the Folk Week organisation.

Thank Waggb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tartar Frigate Bar also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Tartar Frigate Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing