We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Illumination”

Matlock Bath Illuminations
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Out first time visiting Matlock, Dewent Gardens is a very nice place, loverly walk down the river. The boats were great all lit up and then we walked down the main strip and had a beer outside 1 of the pubs. Plenty of fish and chip shops to try to.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank nigeb1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"illuminated boats"
in 34 reviews
"nice evening"
in 8 reviews
"fish and chips"
in 21 reviews
"family tradition"
in 4 reviews
"food stalls"
in 4 reviews
"kids rides"
in 3 reviews
"every saturday"
in 3 reviews
"hard work"
in 8 reviews
"parking space"
in 4 reviews
"visiting matlock"
in 3 reviews
"other attractions"
in 3 reviews
"an adult"
in 3 reviews
"blackpool"
in 11 reviews
"fairground"
in 4 reviews
"meadows"
in 3 reviews
"derwent"
in 6 reviews
"catering"
in 3 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Enjoyable night out in Matlock Bath. Kids enjoyed the fish and chips at Tuckers and the penny falls in the amusements before the boat illuminations. The boats themselves were impressive but we were expecting more than c10 boats. All over in 20 mins.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank DavidS852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

We went to the illuminations on Saturday 21st october. We managed to find a good spot to watch the boats but there was only 7-8 of them. They were good but we thought the boat event would be bigger than it was and left feeling a little ripped off!

We decided to watch the fireworks that came on later from the street as the crowds became way to large at the actual event. If you are not that fussed about the boats then I would advise not paying for a ticket and just watch the fireworks from the street as the view was great!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

Went as a group of six adults and four children and had a wonderful time. Illuminated boats very good. Great fireworks. A typical British family evening out

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

I visited with my partner in October. Whilst the illuminations are not the Las Vegas strip, they are subtle and atmospheric. There were families out with kids and dog walkers all enjoying the lights and ambience. I really enjoyed it. My partner got some great photos of the lights reflecting off the river Derwent. The paths are wide and well lit without being over bright. I would consider the parts that we walked as been ok for wheelchair users with the proper amount of care taken.
Very nice atmosphere

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank hvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matlock Bath Illuminations also viewed

 

Been to Matlock Bath Illuminations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing