We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Matlock bath

Had a fantastic nigh night out in Matlock bath the illuminations were really good..had a nice meal... read more

Reviewed 6 November 2018
Navigate808480
via mobile
Fantastic fireworks

Visited here last weekend to see illuminated boats and fireworks. It was extremely busy but well... read more

Reviewed 29 October 2018
travelsmartjen
,
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 277 reviews
  
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
69
79
48
44
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
79
48
44
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews illuminated boats nice evening fish and chips family tradition food stalls kids rides every saturday hard work parking space visiting matlock other attractions an adult blackpool fairground meadows derwent catering
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

We went to the illuminations on Saturday 21st october. We managed to find a good spot to watch the boats but there was only 7-8 of them. They were good but we thought the boat event would be bigger than it was and left feeling a little ripped off!

We decided to watch the fireworks that came on later from the street as the crowds became way to large at the actual event. If you are not that fussed about the boats then I would advise not paying for a ticket and just watch the fireworks from the street as the view was great!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

Went as a group of six adults and four children and had a wonderful time. Illuminated boats very good. Great fireworks. A typical British family evening out

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

I visited with my partner in October. Whilst the illuminations are not the Las Vegas strip, they are subtle and atmospheric. There were families out with kids and dog walkers all enjoying the lights and ambience. I really enjoyed it. My partner got some great photos of the lights reflecting off the river Derwent. The paths are wide and well lit without being over bright. I would consider the parts that we walked as been ok for wheelchair users with the proper amount of care taken.
Very nice atmosphere

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank hvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Wow what a great night we had watching the boats all lit up and coming down the river, amazing to see, fireworks display is also worth seeing, great big thumbs up for the people who organised this event

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Johno7557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Loved this display and thank you to all who took part, hopefully will go back, thankfully the bad weather promised did not happen and it was a great night, staff who monitored this did a great job

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank diane_warmington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews