We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My 50th Birthday”
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870 12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
125 reviews
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Longest sofa in the Peak District - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Delightful dining room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to a catered meal - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Self cater or choose from experienced caterers - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to an  afternoon tea party - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Ensuite elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
It's Portland House 1870 O'Clock!
Walk into Matlock Bath -the Little Switzerland of England- goto 5* Portland House 1870
Hang around at Go Ape - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Step into the 1940's at Crich - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Perfect for parties of family and friends from 1 to 100 years young - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Celebrate together - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Don't hang around - book now - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Why not book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 125 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JulieBake...
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My 50th Birthday”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in October 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing weekend at the 5* Portland House. From the minute I booked the house until we left it was superb. It was spotlessley clean, really well equipped and the lay out excellent. Everyone was really relaxed from the moment they arrived. We had Sloanes Catering cater for us on the Saturday and they were equally excellent. An added bonus was it was Matlock Baths Illuminations so we had firework display on the Saturday. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My 50th Birthday Party”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Portland House is a 5 star quality house fully equipped to accommodate 24 partying adults! Spent a weekend Friday to Sunday there at the end of September and can not recommend it enough! The quality is fantastic with a well equipped kitchen, tasteful furnishing and spotless bed linen and towels.
We celebrated my 50th birthday with a total of 12 couples staying and we partied until the very early hours both nights so don't worry about being too loud.... no complaints! The sound system is brilliant, plenty loud enough and you can play it in several areas with the ability to turn rooms off if people want a quieter space.
The whole downstairs area is a fantastic social space large enough for us all to eat together and also relax in the lounge together. The bedrooms and bathrooms are all tastefully decorated, were spotlessly clean and felt luxurious.
Juliet was helpful and kindly left a birthday welcome for me with a few essentials plus flowers and chocolates. The outdoor space is fantastic too with plenty of parking and lovely gardens to the front.

As others have commented the bar area is fantastic giving a great party atmosphere.

I would highly recommend this party house and hope to return for a reprise in the future.

Jo x

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hknobba
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Julie’s 50th birthday bash”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in October 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Wow. What a gorgeous house. Perfect party house, own bar, dining room seating 24, garden, stunning decor with original character of a bygone age. All facilities were exceptional and extremely comfortable .....and catered dinner on Saturday night was perfect....
Only a very slight regret ....a very mild weekend although tipping it down and windy.....’women of a certain age’ kind of wanted to open a few windows to cool down .....so we opened all the doors and told the men to put on a jumper if they were cold

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martyncam...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 8 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second visit in two years and we will definitely return again.

The house is stunning and the service from Juliet is second to none.

Every room is beautifully decorated and the bar room is fantastic fun.

Highly recommend that you book.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eddyozman
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very spacious and well appointed house for a family gathering”
Reviewed 6 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice location just a few minutes walk from Matlock Bath centre - which is a little Victorian spa town with some great attractions (we visited the Lead Mining Museum and took the trip down the mine). The excellent ameneties of the house start with the ample parking and, once inside, there's the dining room with seating for 20+, the excellent catering kitchen, the living room with that Chesterfield, and the bar - with the bar billiards table that was well used during our stay. And that doesn't mention the 12 bedrooms, 10 ensuite... Loads of room for all my family to stay and celebrate a significant birthday with me. Good communications with Juliet before the stay and during. I would recommend definitely.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing