We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best party house ever.”
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870 12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
125 reviews
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Longest sofa in the Peak District - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Delightful dining room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to a catered meal - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Self cater or choose from experienced caterers - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to an  afternoon tea party - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Ensuite elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
It's Portland House 1870 O'Clock!
Walk into Matlock Bath -the Little Switzerland of England- goto 5* Portland House 1870
Hang around at Go Ape - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Step into the 1940's at Crich - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Perfect for parties of family and friends from 1 to 100 years young - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Celebrate together - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Don't hang around - book now - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Why not book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 125 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ali6395
1 review
“Best party house ever.”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed at Portland House for 2 nights for my nearly daughter in laws Hen Party. We had the best time. Everything was in place to make it a very special time. We went into Derby on the train for a fun filled afternoon and came back to carry on the party. Ace time was had by all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcm9763
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect luxury party venue”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from my God daughter's hen weekend...2 nights at Portland House. WOW! What a brilliant place... The house itself is grand without being pretentious. I travel quite a lot, both in the UK and further afield and I was bowled over by the quality of this accommodation, given that it is essentially a 'party' house. The attention to detail is second to none - brilliantly equipped, quality kitchen + generous amounts of crockery, glassware, pots, pans etc. The bedrooms, mostly all ensuite, were lovely. There were 20 of us, which could have been hectic, but because Portland House is so spacious, it just never seemed overcrowded. Been to several hen weekends over the years and this was by far the best! Would I recommend it? Definitely! Would love to visit in the summer

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vwqueen
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous House”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed here for a weekend recently for a joint hen/stay weekend and had amazing time. Juliet was the perfect host and the house itself is simply stunning. We didn't want to leave! The rooms are all gorgeous and the beds soooo comfy. We used some of the activities suggested by Juliet and this helped so much in the planning of the weekend. We will certainly return to Portland House in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect weekend to celebrate our friends' upcoming wedding”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We received an excellent service from start to finish. Juliet made some excellent suggestions for us to do on our stay, such as pottery painting and quad biking, and every single guest had a special weekend to remember. The house was impeccable and we particularly loved the bar area and sitting room, which had enough room to sit us all comfortably. Matlock Bath is a beautiful setting and we would very much love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality of the house
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loopy2020
Bunbury, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic beautiful house!”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I stayed here with a group of girlfriends for my hen do in January! What a beautiful house! Immaculate rooms, all beautifully furnished and majority ensuite. The living areas were equally as lovely with two large sitting rooms and a fabulous bar area too! Absolutely perfect for groups of friends or family to share a lovely weekend in the peaks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing