We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW!!! Fantastic Venue.”
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870 12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
115 reviews
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Longest sofa in the Peak District - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Delightful dining room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to a catered meal - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Self cater or choose from experienced caterers - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to an  afternoon tea party - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Ensuite elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
It's Portland House 1870 O'Clock!
Walk into Matlock Bath -the Little Switzerland of England- goto 5* Portland House 1870
Hang around at Go Ape - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Step into the 1940's at Crich - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Perfect for parties of family and friends from 1 to 100 years young - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Celebrate together - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Don't hang around - book now - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Why not book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 115 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jonathan...
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW!!! Fantastic Venue.”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just returned from a weekend at Portland House and had the most amazing few days. The house is simply stunning, equipped with everything you need. Nothing is too much trouble for Martin and Juliet (the owners) who ensured that everything was waiting for us (including flowers and chocolates for my wife's birthday).
There's plenty to do in the local area, we enjoyed having Charlie Ratcliffe of The Private Chef Company to come and cook for us one evening. I would strongly recommend him if you are planning a stay here.
We also went Clay Pigeon Shooting with Commonwealth Gold Medalist Joe Neville (Team GB Coach) which is only 10 mins away.
There's lots to do in Matlock Bath, but the house itself is the jewel in the crown. No expense has been spared on the renovation of this historic house and it was a great pleasure to have the opportunity to call it home for a few days.
Thank you Juliet and Martin, you made my wife's 40tb birthday celebrations truly memorable.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter H
1 review
“A perfect houseand venue for a large family get together”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The house was perfect for celebrating my wife`s 80th birthday.A large mixed aged group all agreed it was the best possible venue. It was immaculate, warm, very comfortable, beautifully decorated with en suite rooms for everyone. A very well equiped kitchen.The children really enjoyed the table football. We took advantage of the caterer recommended by the owner for the Saturday night meal and they were first class. The photographer recommended was equally good . We were given very helpful information from the first enquiry.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: There was enough space for everyone to enjoy their activities
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroller1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect accommodation and location”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We spent a weekend at Portland house with a group of 20 friends. This is the 24th year of this annual event and this is one of the best places we have stayed. The house is in the middle of some great walking country and also close to the pubs and restaurants of Matlock. There is more than enough in the area to keep non-walkers entertained.
Every aspect of the house was perfect for us. A well equipped kitchen, a dining room which had room for everyone and also a bar and separate lounge. We'd recommend a visit to Birchover to see Rowtor Rocks and walk on Stanton Moor [Google them] followed by a drink at the Druids Inn [cosy, open fire, welcoming staff, good beers ... a proper pub] Some of the group were also impressed by a visit to the Family Tree at Whatstandwell ... a very modern take on the traditional cafe.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceF64
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing house in an amazing location, I cannot rate Portland House highly enough”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I stayed at Portland House for a weekend with 22 guests to celebrate my 50th birthday and it was perfect. The whole house is beautifully decorated and every single bedroom is decorated to the same high standard, so all my guests were delighted with their rooms. The bar area was great fun and features the original servants' bells- which occasionally were rung! The kitchen was very user friendly with everything we needed to cater for a large party and everything was so well organised everything we needed was to hand.
The house itself feels remote but is literally just a 5 minute walk to Matlock Bath and all it's attractions. We all had a wonderful weekend and no-one wanted to leave and we are currently looking for another celebratory excuse to return. Thanks to Juliet and Martin, fantastic and helpful hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole ambience of the house, elegant and luxurious.
Liked least: Nothing -we loved everything
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan m
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

we booked this beautiful house for a big work get together, the house is so lovely juliet couldnt be more helpful, would definitely reccomend and return

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing