We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Tuscan Escape!!”
other travellers have booked this property
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
The bedroom Around the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
The bedroom
Around the house
Natural pool
The property in the evening
The bedroom
The bedroom
The living room
Kitchen
Bedroom
Park around the house
Pool at sunset
Hammock for your siesta
A glass of Brunello (with a sommelier advice from the owner if you want)
Around the house
Brunello di Montalcino
Around the house
Around the house
The twin bedroom
The ensuite bathroom
The ensuite bathroom
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Montalcino, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Traveling...
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tuscan Escape!!”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our family thoroughly enjoyed this stay in Tuscany. My husband and I have been to Italy many times, but this is the first time we brought the kids with us. (Ages 3 and 6). This apartment was perfect for our family. It was clean, well located, and very reasonably priced. Also, it felt very Tuscan, which we loved!! The owners were super friendly and helpful. The kids loved having a little space to run around. And best of all, we were located only 5 minutes from some of the best wine bars in the world!! Montalcino is the best!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MikeJohnp...
1 review
“A true Tuscan experience”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My wife and I could not have been more pleased with our recent stay at Fonte Aulente Montalcino. The property was exactly as described in it its listing and was perfect in every way. Alexandra was a great hostess hostess, taking particularly good care of us as I was stricken with an unfortunate illness. We could not have been in better hands. We continued our trip but will remember our say here as the best of our Italian experience. ten stars if possible...........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodations and hostess
Liked least: everything was perfect !!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Dear Michael,
Thank you for a wonderful review and your recent letter! I hope you are both doing great and we can have a chance to see you back at Fonte Aulente soon. Warm greetings from Montalcino, Alexandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary31951
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Property!”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about our stay at Fonte Aulente exceeded our expectations. Lovely apartment, very comfortable bedroom, and an amazing property. Relaxing on the patio, sipping a glass of wine, enjoying the incredible views, is not an experience we will soon forget.
Alexandra gave us great advice about restaurants, things to do, and is most knowledgeable about wine. When our rental car broke down, her husband Michelangelo treated us like we were family, picking us up, helping us with the logistics of getting the car towed, driving us to town and to the train station.
Cottage is in a great location. Easy to find, a short ride into Montalcino, and a great base for exploring a truly beautiful part of Tuscany.
One of the highlights of our trip!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Property
Liked least: Honestly, nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunflowii
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great location. Make sure to confirm booking with owner.”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Next time we book accommodations other than with a hotel, we will make sure to confirm our arrival time with the owner. We did not hear from Alexandra and assumed that because she also lived on the property that she would be there when we arrived. She was not. My husband then left a voicemail and she arrived in about 15 minutes. But we were not expected as the place had not been cleaned yet.
Not a big deal since we just drove to Montalcino and visited the fort. Got great pictures as it was close to sunset.
Came back, unpacked and prepared dinner only to find that the plates and pots inside the cabinet were not clean. There were crumbs or oil. Alexandra said that she has cleaners who clean for her. So it's either they didn't do a good job or previous renters were rude and left the dirty dishes in the cabinet. If it was the latter, c'mon people. How rude can you be?
Then found out that the towels smelled like they didn't dry properly. Unfortunately at this point, I was now more embarrassed to complain as it was just too many things.
On the plus side, the wifi signal is very strong and the bedroom was warm and cozy with the heater.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
Dear guests,
We are very sorry to hear that your experience was not perfect. As I explained upon your arrival our cleaner had a small accident on that day and she could not clean the room on time. I was very sorry on your arrival and proposed you a winery visit while we were going to arrange the cleaning. You said you preferred to visit Montalcino and I have asked one of the girls working for us to clean the apartment and I have checked it myself. I am sorry if she missed the plates in the cupboard. It is the firs time since we have opened our farmhouse to guests that our usual cleaner could not do her job. Alltogether I was very sorry for it, I have explained that it was very exceptional and I offered you a bottle of wonderful Brunello 2009 to apologise for any inconvenience. I am happy that you acknwledhe that the room was cosy and warm. We really put all possible efforts to keep our guests happy and the appartment cosy, warm and clean. And fortunately other feedbacks confirm that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;