We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3 464)
Filter reviews
3 464 results
Traveller rating
728
1 035
776
439
486
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
728
1 035
776
439
486
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pasta floating pool st moritz downstairs bar all inclusive deal coach holiday great holiday buffet style lido pool bernina express free boat cooked breakfast three star large hotel noddy train villa carlotta roof terrace
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 3 464 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018

We have recently returned from a six day at Hotel Britannia. After reading a lot of negative reviews I was a bit apprehensive about staying here. Yes the bedrooms could do with decorating but overall all it was adequate for the short time we were in the room. Some guests have posted that staff are not very helpful but the ones who served us were helpful and polite. Guests also complained about the food station being a bottle neck with problems getting your food. This was not down to shortage of room it was down to the bad manners of some of the guests blocking walkways no please or thank you when you moved to let them through. The food was always hot and tasty so no complaints about the catering. There were only two minuses and that was the decoration of the bedrooms and you could only get small glasses for your beer. Would I stay here again yes most definitely. Thank you Hotel Britannia and all the staff for a great holiday

Room Tip: Room with a lake view
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank garlandbobang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel itself is very dated and in need of a revamp. The staff were not very friendly and welcoming so we avoided as much communication with them as we could so as to avoid our trip being spoiled. The breakfast was basic but they did have an espresso machine which was a bonus. On a positive note the views were amazing and the pool was on point. Didn't get busy. Both pools looked very clean and well maintained. Soft drinks at the pool bar are twice the price and smaller in comparison to the local shop at the side of the hotel. We preferred the one immediatly opposite the hotel as it seemed more child friendly so the kids could splash about. The views from our room and the pool were outstanding. We didn't eat lunch or evening meals at the hotel, possibly to avoid unfriendly hotel staff, and opted to eat at a little restaurant a 10 minute stroll, in Tremezzo, who were super welcoming. Getting around to different towns along the lake was by speedboat which was fun.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

This trip was a quick get away with some friends and my partner who had never been before so I was eager to show them how great the hotel is and the beautiful lake! It was a great surprise to see that since my last trip there is now a resort! The Hotel Britannia as always was beautiful, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The food was excellent, the risotto is up there rated with one of the best ive had. The bbq style dinner at the cove was extremely good, the meats were cooked perfectly and the staff couldn't do enough to ensure we had a great experience. As the hotel is now part of a resort we visited the Hotel Bazzoni (new edition to the resort), their bar/cocktail area is a lovely modern social area to relax. The cocktails were delicious, christian the bar man's attention to detail was exceptional. I was very impressed. The lights outside the bar area was a lovely edition in the evening. We were lucky enough to try the food at the hotel and again it did not disappoint and was thoroughly enjoyed! I would recommend the Hotel Britannia and Bazzoni to any family and friends and I will definitely be returning. Thanks again for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maddison2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Been 5 times now with shearings, can't fault the place, yes decor is a tad tired but the family owners have pumped a fortune into the bazzoni they have recently purchased so give them chance to re-coup some of this and I'm sure the Britannia will be next to have money spent on it.
This has got to be one of the most beautiful places on earth and that alone is worth going .
Take no notice of the nit pickers moaning about a bit of dust or a curtain not clipped up properly.
The all inclusive allows you to now eat in a choice of 2 hotels and poolside eateries along with other options, if you don't like the downstairs bar in the brittania ( And the singer strangling Elvis songs ) then go to the pool or the other hotel or the roof terrace etc. You are hardly stuck for choice....
And yes we will be back again for the 6th time.
One tip before you upgrade to a lake view on booking... wait until you get there and see what room you have been allocated ....you might have already been given one with a lake view.

Room Tip: Lake view upgrade a must ...
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank alan12345672018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

I just stopped briefly here before heading home. The interior is a tad tired. The drapes in the dining room are faded and some falling down. The bar used to be the old swimming pool but still reminds me that it is the old pool, seems damp and because it's below street level but the windows are just above the pavement, all you see is legs ! The Tiffany / deco style lights in reception are a nice touch, if dated. The food was good though. Self service and plenty of choice. I didn't stay overnight, so I cannot comment on the rooms.

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank jules102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fil2, Owner at Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Jules 102016,
thank you for your review, very pleased to hear you enjoyed the food although you did not stay here, the bar is downstairs but in the summer most prefer to use the floating pool or lido lake front bars during the day and the main downstairs bar with the live music in the evenings., we are waiting for one drape to be mended, someone left the window open when a storm blew up, wonderful ! it needs to be re folded, very observant of you though as it is in a corner. Thank you for your comments too regarding the Tiffany lights, they are hand painted, whether a stile like Tiffany / Bel epoche is dated or art is another matter ! We feel it reflects the atmosphere of the Britannia, so good to hear you liked it !.

Hope to be able to welcome you back to the Britannia or the Bazzoni, I note you were staying in the Bazzoni.


Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews