We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3 514)
Filter reviews
3 514 results
Traveller rating
751
1 049
784
440
490
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
751
1 049
784
440
490
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lido restaurant floating pool pasta st moritz downstairs bar all inclusive deal coach holiday great holiday lido pool buffet style bernina express free boat three star large hotel noddy train villa carlotta roof terrace
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 3 514 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Been 5 times now with shearings, can't fault the place, yes decor is a tad tired but the family owners have pumped a fortune into the bazzoni they have recently purchased so give them chance to re-coup some of this and I'm sure the Britannia will be next to have money spent on it.
This has got to be one of the most beautiful places on earth and that alone is worth going .
Take no notice of the nit pickers moaning about a bit of dust or a curtain not clipped up properly.
The all inclusive allows you to now eat in a choice of 2 hotels and poolside eateries along with other options, if you don't like the downstairs bar in the brittania ( And the singer strangling Elvis songs ) then go to the pool or the other hotel or the roof terrace etc. You are hardly stuck for choice....
And yes we will be back again for the 6th time.
One tip before you upgrade to a lake view on booking... wait until you get there and see what room you have been allocated ....you might have already been given one with a lake view.

Room tip: Lake view upgrade a must ...
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank alan12345672018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

I just stopped briefly here before heading home. The interior is a tad tired. The drapes in the dining room are faded and some falling down. The bar used to be the old swimming pool but still reminds me that it is the old pool, seems damp and because it's below street level but the windows are just above the pavement, all you see is legs ! The Tiffany / deco style lights in reception are a nice touch, if dated. The food was good though. Self service and plenty of choice. I didn't stay overnight, so I cannot comment on the rooms.

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank jules102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fil2, Owner at Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Jules 102016,
thank you for your review, very pleased to hear you enjoyed the food although you did not stay here, the bar is downstairs but in the summer most prefer to use the floating pool or lido lake front bars during the day and the main downstairs bar with the live music in the evenings., we are waiting for one drape to be mended, someone left the window open when a storm blew up, wonderful ! it needs to be re folded, very observant of you though as it is in a corner. Thank you for your comments too regarding the Tiffany lights, they are hand painted, whether a stile like Tiffany / Bel epoche is dated or art is another matter ! We feel it reflects the atmosphere of the Britannia, so good to hear you liked it !.

Hope to be able to welcome you back to the Britannia or the Bazzoni, I note you were staying in the Bazzoni.


Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from a 9 day all inclusive holiday to Lake Como staying at the Hotel Britannia Excelsior. After a very long over night journey we arrived at the hotel.We were not disappointed everything was beautiful the food was amazing there was something for everyone and everything ran extremely efficiently.
Malcolm and josh were our drivers and took us on some wonderful excursions, what a great job they did,some of those Italian streets are so narrow and how they manoeuvred the coach through those roads I will never know!they were excellent.
The pool and facilties in the hotel were brilliant and we had a fantastic holiday, no complaints at all apart from an expanded waistband!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fil2, Owner at Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Maureen D,
thank you very much for such a lovely review, very good to know you enjoyed the holiday, scenery and the food. Never mind the waistband!
All of us at the Britannia hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

BEWARE! If you've booked your room as adults + children via a major hotel booking website, when you show up at the reception with your booking receipt they will inform you that your reservation on their side does NOT show any child (it must be a loophole in Expedia or something similar). At that point most of us, especially in high season, will surrender to their request to pay additional fees for every child in your room...THIS IS OUTREAGEOUS! AVOID THIS HOTEL OR MAKE SURE IN ADVANCE THAT YOUR CHILDREN ARE 100% INCLUDED in your reservation...DO THIS IN WRITTEN BEFORE YOUR ARRIVAL!!!
...and GOOD LUCK with that!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Vespino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fil2, Owner at Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Vespino C,
as you are very aware, there is no loophole, this was not a booking for four but only two in a twin ( twin means two beds for two people ), to which you claimed you had booked also for your children; (in fact the website does say most twin rooms can take up to four beds, it does not mean you have booked or paid for four beds, you see that in your on line bill ). As we explained to you, if that was the case, i.e. you had booked four beds, there would have been a supplement for the other two beds, we had to change your room to a four bedded room and put extra beds in. It is quite clear on all the Expedia website, twin rooms are one price and there is a supplement For three bedded rooms as there is for four bedded rooms.
If you have paid for a twin you really can not expect it to be four bedded for free can you? You can try ! Also your contract is of course having booked through Expedia, with them. They told you the same thing. This is really common sense to all except those such as you who want their children to stay for free.

I have had to pay for an adjoining room in the past in a well known global brand hotel as the hotel would not put a third bed in a room.

We do have a reduction per bed for three and four bedded rooms. At certain times of year we do also give free or reduced child places, however it is advertised as such.

Thank you for the awful review which is exemplary of what we and our colleagues have to confront on the front desk and nothing relevant to the hotel itself, which your friend send in his comment 'the hotel was fine' .
In the future look for averts such as ' FREE CHILD PLACES ' or ' CHILDREN FREE '. It may help !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

We booked the Britannia Excelsior for our last two nights in Italy and spent more per night than we spent on any other Italian hotels this summer as we were taken in by the pretty pictures on their website.
We paid an additional charge for a de lux Lake view room with balcony but were very disappointed to be given a side view of the lake with a window that was overlooked by other rooms. I complained that the room was not what I thought I was paying for but was told that there were no alternative options.
There were no net curtains so we had to keep the heavy curtains closed when we got changed and in the evening.
The room itself (room 225) was far from deluxe. It had a large crack running up one wall, had very little cupboard space, had two single beds pushed together as a double bed and a toilet/shower room, the size you would expect to find in a caravan.
The bedroom door had to be locked with a key every time you entered or exited the room as the door did not lock automatically as you would expect in a modern hotel.
There was no customer parking. We were sent to a public car park 100 meters down the road. This was full when we arrived so we had to wait in the car for 30 minutes for someone to leave.
We then had to lug our cases to the hotel and as there was no porter service had to struggle into our room when we got there.
The hotel is apparently used by several English tour companies and was full of English package holiday makers. The restaurant obviously aimed to cater for their tastes as the buffet style food reminded me of something I have seen on a car ferry, the downstairs bar also looked very much like a car ferry bar and not one that you would expect from an Italian lake side hotel. The WiFi didn’t work. The swimming pool which was described on their web site as an infinity pool was just a normal swimming pool that you could not see over the edge of while you were swimming.
We were so disappointed with our experience that we left after just one night even thought we paid for two nights.
The price tag of 149 euros per night per room does not reflect the website description as being a high end hotel. Further more the reception staff are rude and unhelpful and seem completely unwilling to help their customers.
I don’t like writing negative reviews but our experience at the Britannia Excelsior was not how we hoped to end out Italian holiday this year.
This hotel does not represent what you would normally expect from an Italian hotel.
THIS IS THE WORST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN ITALY.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
7  Thank francof856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews