We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lloyd's Baia Hotel(Vietri sul Mare)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$226
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Relais Paradiso(Vietri sul Mare)
US$447
US$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquaboutique(Vietri sul Mare)
US$490
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Agriturismo Colle Maiano(Vietri sul Mare)
Book now, pay at stay
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
B&B Palazzo Pinto(Vietri sul Mare)(Great Value!)
US$134
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Dimora Carlo III(Vietri sul Mare)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Zelzar(Vietri sul Mare)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
B & B Amore(Vietri sul Mare)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1 118)
Filter reviews
1 118 results
Traveller rating
462
352
154
81
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
352
154
81
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamalfi coastsea viewfree shuttlepool barhotel shuttlefantastic viewsthe wi fistunning locationeuros per personshuttle servicelanguage barriersmall townwould highly recommend this hotelthe hotel offerslocal restaurantshotel is situatedspa
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1 118 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

It's taken a long time to get round to writing this review due to the anger and disappointment felt during and after our stay. We booked for 2 weeks in September 2017 for what was supposed to be an amazing honeymoon in a beautiful place. It was anything but! Arriving late in the evening, the reception staff politey enough informed us the pool was out of order but would be fixed by the following day. I said fine, I'd probably use spa instead only to be told that, that too was out of action. On arrival to our room, I felt disappointed, it didn't look anything like the room we thought we were booking into. It was dated, small and not what I would consider 5 star. We did however have a lovely view of the coast from our room. Breakfast was fine, but again not 5 star.
We didn't have any other meals there, this was due in part to the hotel charging €20 on top of food bill to eat in the restaurant and €10 for the sub standard room service. A small bottle of water cost nearly €5; I've never stayed in any other hotel that charges that much! The shuttle bus was a joke. It only ran at a very limited amount of times and outside these it cost around 10 euros each way for a 5 min journey down the road. The last shuttle bus back to the hotel was at 10pm which is far too early when there is no entertainment when you return and the cost of drinks being so over priced. One evening we waited for the shuttle bus, it pulled up and then just drove off without us! I asked reception where it had gone and they said it would be back in 5 minutes; we waited over 30 minutes for it to come back and when it did it was full of guests for a wedding that was taking place at the hotel, we got no apology and it became increasingly clear throughout the time we were there that Hotel Raito is only really interested in the functions that take place there and not the guests. The timings of the bus became more of an issue when It started collecting guests from its sister hotel and there were too many people to fit on the bus. Which resulted in more waiting time. On day 4 we asked if the pool was ready. Informed no. Asked when it would be, the reception staff just shrugged their shoulders as a response. They did offer the use of another hotel pool or access to beach club. To me this was unacceptable, as I'd booked the hotel due to the facilities. We later found out from a fellow guest that both pools and the Spa had been closed for the season since August, so the staff were blatantly lying to us and everybody else at the resort. The Wi-Fi was poor and we had to keep getting new passwords every few days. The hotel itself didn't have any atmosphere. It was a struggle to find a drink between meal times never mind a snack. Throughout our stay it became increasingly obvious that we weren't the only ones unhappy with our stay. Every time I walked past reception someone was voicing a concern. We asked to speak to the manager after realising the pool was never going to be in use. Constantly told by reception staff that they weren't on site. It was really frustrating. My husband then sent numerous emails. At this point I wanted to leave. We'd paid in full, in advance, so they had us over a barrel otherwise we would of checked out within days of arriving. Finally 6 days into our stay they said we could leave and would be refunding our second week. I couldn't book our flights back home quick enough! We checked out the following day. During check out the reception informed us that it would take up to a month for our money to be refunded by the bank. I simply commented that it seemed a long time. The receptionist became very verbally aggressive stating if I had a problem with it I should speak to the bank myself. I couldn't believe how she spoke to me. Certainly not what you'd expect from any establishment especially a so called 5 star one. There was no point in asking to speak to the manager, as you've guessed it, they weren't on site! £1500 later for a week stay I was so happy to be on my way home. There is no point in making any suggestions as to how they could improve as it is clear that they won't take it on board from reviews already posted. They don't recognise their failings and do even less to rectify them. Saying sorry but please come again doesn't cut it. 3 star rating at a push due and this is only due to the views and the cleaning staff (who were excellent).

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
17  Thank tria w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_HotelsCollection, Responsabile reception at Hotel Raito, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review here on TripAdvisor, the opinion of our guests is always very important to us. We are really sorry about the issue you have faced with our pools during your stay, and we do apologise for that. Unfortunately the problem was unexpected to us and we had to put both pools under maintenance and we didn't know how long for, but we did we best we could giving to our guests two options: the pool of our 5* sister hotel and the free entrance to a private beach club with our shuttle bus. We also provided you a big discount plus two nights for free and the refund of the nights you couldn't spent with us.
We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here with us. We would be more than happy if you would like to give us a second chance and enjoy the pools. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

One of the better hotels in the area with a beautiful view of the Amalfi coastline and harbor!!! I'd rate this higher than most for we had a great tour guide and bus driver who was from the area and knew how to get from point A to point B in a very professional manner!! They both also knew alot of the local restaurants and cafe owners who took great care of us as well as the hotel and staff!!! The view from the pool area was breath taking, we'd go back in a heartbeat....

Room Tip: Great views & bigger rooms available...
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markcH2715QV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRagostaHotels, . at Hotel Raito, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Mark,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback here on Tripadvisor.
We are really glad to know that your stay here with us satisfied your expectation and that you enjoyed our view. It was a big pleasure to have you here with us.
You are more than welcome to contact us personally for your next holiday, our staff will be at your complete disposal. See you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Have been with the family to celebrate New Years eve in what I hoped could be a top place. It turned out to be a horrible experience: food was awful and very cheap, the music band was ok but not appropriate for a New Years'Eve party, the celebrations ended just after mid night. Not worth the 150 EUR each we were asked to pay in advance. Sent a complaint to the hotel, I'm yet to get an answer / apology. Never again

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Pasquale I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRagostaHotels, . at Hotel Raito, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Pasquale,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are really sorry to read that New Years’Eve didn’t go as you were expecting. It was a shame you didn’t like our cousine which is most of the time one of our pride. We would like to thank you for your precious suggestions and we will pass them on our team members, If you would like to give us a second chance do not hesitate to contact us, it will be our pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

The Hotel Raito is set in an stunning location high above the town of Vietri Sul Mare, Our suite couldn’t have been more comfortable as we enjoyed the fantastic views from our very own terrace. All the staff at the hotel were friendly and welcoming and were always on hand to give a superb service at all times. Not just about the hotel facilities, but any information regarding transportation into various resorts and towns nearby. Alessandro in reception is worth a special mention as he imparted some particular travel recommendations to us. Without his knowledge and advice we would might have struggled to get around. We would like to say thanks very much for helping us to enjoy a wonderful four night stay. �

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRagostaHotels, Responsabile reception at Hotel Raito, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your opinion on Tripadvisor, The feedback of our guests is always very important. We’re glad to know that You enjoyed at 100% of all the services provided by the Hotel and in particular to know that the suite satisfied Your expectations. Congratulations for Your choice!
Regarding our staff, all of us are trained in order to give to all our guests the best service and help possible, in order to make Your experience at Hotel Raito uforgettable and not unique. So Alessandro and all our staff, would be really happy in future to welcome You here again. See You soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

In everyday standards, a decent 4 maybe.
It was no frills basic rooms, cold (freezing), uncomfortable bed, no beverage service, no minibar. Breakfast was good but not to the standard of a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank The_Rock_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRagostaHotels, Responsabile reception at Hotel Raito, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor, the feedback of our visitors is always really important to us, and we always pass it on to our team members to improve ourselves. We are sorry that your experience didn’t completely satisfy your expectation. 
We look forward to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews