We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the food”

Metaxia's Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 150 Restaurants in Platanias
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We walked past this restaurant and were enticed in by a lady standing at the front of the restaurant beconning in visitors. foolishly we decided to try. Service slow and lacking in attention. We ordered from the menu husband ordered kleftico which should have fallen off the bone instead of being chased around the plate I ordered a very dry and stringy chicken souvlaki. Very disappointing, when we complained to the manager and requested that my husbands meal be removed from the bill his response was ‘you wouldn’t do this in your own country’ nice eh. Instead of apologising and offering a ‘drink’ as an apology he was just rude

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank barbieMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Nice and relaxed family restaurant. Vegeterian pasta with avokado, tomato and feta cheese was very good.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank EmmiL101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Just come back from Platanias. Metaxia’s is the best family restaurants in Platanias. Having been there many times and now new list! Recommend to all who will have good greek/Cretan food. Always so warm welcome, like coming home. Hope all the best for this season!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank juhleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Got calamari, swordfish and gordon bleu.
Swordfish and gordon bleu was way overcooked and had no taste. Apart from that the two dishes was completely the same apart from the fish and gordon bleu. Came with the same rice, potatoes and some mixed vegetables that also came from frozen bags. Calamari also frozen.

The house wine was good but served way to cold..

With a few upgrades the restaurant can become pretty good. But we are still pretty far from there.

Don't come for the food.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank 621madsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Went here with my family for a dinner.

The staff are friendly but the food is nothing special.

Got gyros plate with chicken and one with pork. The meat was dry.

My girlfriend got stidado with rice and was tasteless.

The bottled mythos and Alfa was good as usual

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank LasseJurek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metaxia's Restaurant also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Afrata, Platanias
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Metaxia's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing