We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A superb chalet”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chalet les Loups

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Caz B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A superb chalet”
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A spacious, luxurious and well equipped chalet. A great place to stay with a family. Lovely welcome hamper.

Date of stay: January 2015
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah R
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely home from home chalet close to picturesque Chatel”
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely chalet, larger than a lot of chalets, with nice seating areas and an extremely well equipped kitchen for catering. The chalet was very clean on arrival with all the facilities you would expect. The welcome hamper was a nice touch. The chalet was plenty big enough for the six adults and four young children we stayed with. The two separate living areas are very useful for larger groups.
Only an hour and a halfs easy drive from Geneva airport. Chatel is a very picturesque ski village with some very good nearby ski areas, which are easily accessible with short drives. It is also only a couple of minutes drive to the large intemarche which made self catering very easy. We enjoyed the skiing in the portes du soleil region.
We ate out a few nights from the recommended restaurants in the chalet and were not disappointed.

The owner was very helpful and even provided us with two high chairs that were very useful.
We had a great week!

Date of stay: January 2015
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Size and facilities in the chalet
Liked least: Difficult to get to in hire cars in the snow
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicktaylo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality chalet, perfect for groups or families”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

John has attempted and succeeded in creating a well thought through chalet with all the amenities you'd need for an easy relaxing stay from heated boot warmer to feature wood burner, wifi (for those of us who need to stay in touch), wii (for those who want not to stay in touch) to a wonderful welcome pack.
Think Surrey or Chelsea in the snow.
I loved the split living spaces with a lounge area for kids and couch potatoes but also a spacious open plan living room / kitchen diner.
It's nice to sit and write a review and not actually find anything that was missing.

Date of stay: January 2015
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnnywes
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Outstanding Chalet furnished and kept to a high standard”
Reviewed 21 January 2012 for a stay in January 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Staying at Chalet Les Loups was for us one of the most enjoyable Ski holidays that we have ever had. It was wonderful at the end of the day to come back to a warm, well furnished home from home with all the comforts and ambience that you can only dream of.
From the moment that you step through the door on arrival, you know if the rest of your trip is as good as the Chalet, then your in for one of your best holiday’s ever
The Chalet has obviously been fitted out by someone who knows and loves their skiing and expects every convenience to be at hand.
We had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Chalet Les Loups.
When John asked us if we would mind writing a review, we did think for a moment about keeping it to ourselves but in fairness John has worked hard to make this a wonderful place to stay and we would honestly recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: January 2010
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of everything
Liked least: Nothing we can htink of
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacky77
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Super luxury chalet with great facilities and a friendly owner”
Reviewed 18 January 2012 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I have visited Les Loups in both the winter and the summer and am planning to return again with other friends.

The living area is a cosey place to be in the winter (heated floor) and opens out onto the deck in the summer. The kitchen is much better than other chalets I have rented - top quality units with granite worktops etc, feels very special. There is a practical area to offload boots, bikes etc and the wireless network and gaming area are nice touches too, as are the Molton Brown lotions in the bathrooms.

The chalet itself is 5 mins drive from Chatel, and is in a lovely location near a stream. It also catches the evening sun, which I have noticed some of the chalets in Chatel valley don't. John, the owner, dealt with our booking efficiently and bent over backwards to help when we had some questions after arrival.

What I liked best: The view from my bedroom balcony
What I liked least: Squeaky floorboards upstairs - all part of the character though!

Definitely recommended.

Date of stay: August 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from my bedroom balcony
Liked least: Squeaky floorboards upstairs - all part of the character though!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.