We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveller rating
545
31
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
31
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool yoga deck honor bar private entrance costa rica bedroom condo beautiful hotel beautiful ocean view short walk down the hill surf lessons yoga retreat the main road our honeymoon wonderful hosts i highly recommend this hotel grocery store small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 585 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Normally, it is a trade off between peace & tranquility and proximity to shops & restaurants. Definitely not the case with Casa Marbella! Only a few meters from the bustling Ronnie's grocery and the densest shops/restaurant section of Santa Teresa, Casa Marbella is situated up the hill enough that you feel secluded and rural looking over the treetops, taking in the ocean view and fabulously consistent picture perfect sunsets!

Andrea and Jessie, the owners attend to your every need. The staff are all pleasant and excellent at their jobs. Clean, perfectly accented rooms with well working A/C, water purification, appliances, pool, honour-bar, leave-one-take-one book shelf, surf board rentals, yoga mats, lounge chairs, beach towels....the list goes on! They've everything covered to make your stay unbeatable!

We got their advice and help setting up our ATV rentals, our taxi transfer service (Alex was superb!!!!!), our day trip excursions, our dining out options, and our surf lessons. Every single suggestion/booking of theirs helped to make our stay spectacular!

Thank you again Andrea and Jessie! We will be back.

Rob, Paula, & Lindsay

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
André F, Owner at Casa MarBella, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you Rob for all the kind words. We are glad that you appreciate the seclusion and privacy that you get when you get to our hill top. Also, it is great to see our staff work recognized and we will make sure to let them know. We really appreciated having you and your family here, couldn't ask for any better guests. We look forward to see you in the near future.
Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We read the reviews and do not remember anyone mentioning the steep and treacherous road up to the hotel. The place is very nice. The view from there of course is outstanding because it's quite high up. Yes it's in town but we had to plan our day around the climb back to our room. Half of the cabs we called could not get up the hill as well. I take my reviews seriously and will not say something negative unless it's called for. The staff here is wonderful. Jessie and Andre were so welcoming and accommodating. However, if you get rooms 2 though 5 you have no privacy as they are in very close proximity to the pool and anyone that walks by pass your windows has full view of your room. Therefore you must keep shades and curtains closed making your room dark and unable to enjoy the view. We had asked for a room change but it was not possible as the hotel was full. But much more difficult is that location. I can't stress enough that if you have any problems with mobility, any, this is not the place for you. As I said, half the taxis couldn't make it and that was quite the problem for me when I felt too tired and unwell to take that journey on.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms 2 though 5.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Townie-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
André F, Owner at Casa MarBella, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Hello.

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. We are glad to hear that you found our staff to be wonderful and that we were accommodating during your stay.

We are a bit surprised to read that you read the reviews and do not remember anyone mentioning that we are located on a hill top. With a quick research on TripAdvisor we were able to find at least 31 other reviews that mention the hill. Furthermore, we have included that info on Booking.com, the site you used to make your reservation, as you can see here: "Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The hotel provides a panoramic ocean view and offers infinity pool". Also during our email conversations prior to your arrival, we warned you about the hill: "the road is a hill and can be a bit tiring if your going up with luggage. You can walk up it, get a taxi, or if we have our quad at the hotel (depending how big your luggage is) we can help". Additionally, the fact that we have such a view wouldn't be possible if we weren't high up. Due to all of this it does not make a lot of sense that you were unaware of the hill.

We are also surprised to hear that half the cabs that you called were not able to make it up the hill. I have to admit we do have that problem with big shuttles, that can't make it up the hill, but never heard of a taxi that can't make it up. Also, if the hill was so much of an issue it would have been relatively easy to rent you an ATV or a car and we would have been more than happy to help in that process, but since during your stay you chose to keep this problem to yourself, it was hard for us to be able to be more helpful.

In regards to the rooms 2-5, we do admit they are not our most private units. They are, however, our cheapest units for that same reason. Also, the photos of the room in Booking.com do show that this unit's door leads directly to the pool so it comes to us as a surprise that you were not aware of this. When you choose your room in Booking.com there were other more expensive units available that in their description advertise a private balcony. We are sorry though that our room did not match your expectations.

Finally, we are aware that maybe Casa MarBella is not the place for everyone, specially for people with mobility issues. We just find it odd that you weren't aware of this since it is in all our promotional material that we are on a hill.

We would be very happy to welcome you again to Casa MarBella in the future in one of our most private units and maybe help rent a car or an ATV so you won't have all these issues.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We loved Casa MarBella so much that we decided to go back again next January. The owners nice young couple (Andre and Jessy) were so accommodating very friendly very helpful. The place was kept clean all the time. Ang the quiet time was great after 9pm you can only hear the waves. In the morning we were waking up with the song of birds and many different types you can see right from this hotel. Howler monkey's made appearances also. One word: Awesome!
Thank you Andre and Jess for everything.
Rick and Angel

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AngelFlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
André F, Owner at Casa MarBella, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Hey Angel. That is great news we will look forward to your comeback! Thank you guys for being amazing guests.See you next year :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

This is a small, unique property on a hill with jungle and beach views. The hosts,, Jess and Andre', were very welcoming and ensured guests were well cared for. Pool was lovely and warm, sunsets from the deck were gorgeous, and overall a wonderful hideaway.

We loved having drinkable water - no more dragging gallons of water with us. It was also nice that coffee was available each morning and a small honor bar was on site. Many restaurant options within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ourchildrensmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
André F, Owner at Casa MarBella, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you for the review. Its good to know that people appreciate the efforts we made to turn the non-potable water into drinkable water. Not only people don't have to carry heavy water jugs but also it is so much better on the environment, as we reduce the amount of plastic that we were creating. Look forward to see you in the future. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

After a long overnight flight, another short flight and a taxi ride, we arrived at Casa MarBella hot, tired and hungry. Or hosts lost no time making us welcome, giving us our rooms early and sending us to a great restaurant for lunch. The rooms were comfortable, the AC worked great, the balcony brought us exotic birds in the morning and gorgeous sunsets. The pool was refreshing and the restaurant next door was a perfect way to avoid the busy street below. I would definitely return here next visit.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
André F, Owner at Casa MarBella, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you Anne for the review. We were glad you enjoyed the rooms and that everything worked to your expectations. We would be very happy to have you here with us again. Till then our sincere regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews