We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise found”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Minjamin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise found”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

There are very few places on earth that conjure feelings of home and paradise all at once and Santa Teresa is one of these special places – so much so that you want to imagine yourself living there until forever, despite and may be even partly because of its dirt roads.

Calista is a big reason why Santa Teresa made such a big impression on us, I am sure.

Having one of the two cottages as our home base in Santa Teresa was absolutely perfect. We raced against Hurricane Otto to get there, we stayed for 3 nights, and we nearly cancelled the remainder of our trip to stay here longer.

Calista is situated beach-front on a lovely stretch where you wish the sunset could linger a bit longer. The beach can be explored in either direction, for quite a while. Waves are plentiful and awesome. It’s also very easy to walk into town, which has a surprising number of good eats. There is a grocery store at the foot of the street.

The cottage itself is beautifully crafted and just the right size. Not an inch too small, perfectly intimate for a couple, considered in all the little details. The bed was big and comfy, the two-person shower was fabulous, the kitchenette was very handy, and the ocean-fronting patio and yard was everything I’d wanted it to be. We loved being visited by (ok, spotting) the two shy iguanas who live on the property, while enjoying our breakfast on the patio, or a cold beer in the afternoon.

Last but not least, Hanit the owner and Glori her assistant were wonderful to deal with every step of the way. Glori treated us like old friends - she was generous with her insight, gracious with her time, and genuine with her hospitality. Her enthusiasm for adventure was also infectious!

I didn’t want to leave Calista, and I didn’t want to leave a review for the world to discover Calista. It is truly a wonderful place. We can’t wait to go back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2016
Dear Min! Thank you so much for all of your positive comments. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to give to our guest the best experience and we can't be happier that we exceed your expectations. Looking forward to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany S
Groveland, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Amazing bungalow!”
Reviewed 2 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed here on our honeymoon for 2 of the 4 nights in the Santa Teresa/Mal Pais area and wish we had booked it for all 4 of nights. It's literally right on the beach. It's everything you need to relax. It's around the corner from great restaurants, shopping etc. There is a bungalow right next door, but no one was there for our stay. Glori is simply amazing, she coordinated all out tours and adventures, dinner reservations etc. We can not wait to plan our next vacation in the villa but this time for longer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRbyNatal...
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Calista: Simply perfect!”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Two perfectly equipped bungalows with as little and as much as one would need for a relaxing vacation. I could live here forever. The waves are just meters from your door, great shaded area to relax and the intimacy you want anywhere you travel that's so hard to get. Priceless! If you are a surfer this is what heaven should look like!
tips: for the best experience book both bungalows, they are too close to each other and a neighbor might deprive you from the privacy you want!
Bring cash!
Visit Costa Rica by Nataly for more pictures and details about Calista and Santa Teresa

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the ocean
Liked least: proximity to other property and their crying baby!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2016
Thank you so much!!! we are looking forward for your next visit in our little paradise .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acip_00
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Best Place to Stay in Santa Teresa!”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent 6 nights at the Calista, and are so so happy we chose to stay here! You cannot beat the location -- steps away from the beach and also walking distance to wonderful restaurants/grocery store/bars in town. The bungalow was beautiful and the perfect size for two. I cannot say enough about this place -- would have been disappointed staying anywhere else! Hanit and Julie were so gracious and helpful! They provided us with so many recommendations and tips that made our stay in Santa Teresa so memorable. We're already talking about planning a trip back next year, and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelina1...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect beach escape in Santa Teresa”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Ideal spot to enjoy the privacy of a beach house with a stunning view on the ocean. The house is stylish and well designed while being cosy at the same time. every comfort it taken care of by Julie, the lovely manager, who will organize massages, tours, etc so it was easy to sit back and relax.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$700
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing