We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
275
23
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
23
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews my girlfriend recommend hotel steep hill hotel is situated the main road watching the sunset hotel pool hotel guests view of the ocean rooms are clean entire area checking in fantastic hotel wheel drive playa carmen rent an atv pura vida
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2019

I was very impressed by the reviews here, and decided to give Hotel Buenos Aires a try.
And well, the reviews did not lie.

The hotel to us was the definition of Pura Vida. A completely magical view, pleasant sounds and good people provided a perfect atmosphere for our 4 day stay. Although the amenities may not be as luxurious as the 5-star resorts our parents used to drag us to, this place makes up for that (and even more) in charm and vibes. Also, the rooms are clean and we found nothing to complain about. Although there is no safe for valuables (which I would normally consider a must) we had no concerns over safety of our items here, and we generally felt very secure. The hotel restaurant is good, and we found that the prices were very fair.

Having read some reviews, we were a bit scared of the steep hill from the road/beach up to the hotel. Several people had recommended ATVs or 4x4s to climb it, but honestly we didn't find it to be a big problem. There is quite a climb from the bottom to the top, and we did manage to lose our breath every time, but still we managed to go up and down +6 times every day without a problem.

Most importantly: Javi, the owner, is a completely genuine and extremely nice and helpful guy - if only all hotels had a guy like that...!

I dont think we have ever experienced such great value for money, do yourself a favour and stay here at least a couple of days if you are ever in Santa Teresa.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank filipabp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier d, Owner at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2019

Wow, Filip! lts very nice wake up and start my day reading a review like yours :)
Thank you very much for your words, Flo and l really try to make a good job, glad you see it ;-)
Also thank you for share your vacations with us, pleasure to have you both.
Hope you keep enjoying Costa Rica!
Big hg from Mal Pais.
Javi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2019 via mobile

Loved everything about our stay at a Buenos Aires. Unbeatable views of the consistent swells rolling into the beaches, and the hotel and restaurant are a real oasis of tranquility compared to the busy town. The place is up a steep road and then a trail of steps. If you like nature there is all kinds of insects/lizards/iguanas and squirrels on the trail. Pool is halfway up so you can cool down on the way. We stayed for 11 nights, and rented a quad for the second half of our trip which was a great way to see the northern beaches around manzanillo, surf some different places and eat out without having to drag your full belly up the steps!

Thanks Buenos Aires !

Charlie & Leanne

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank charlieeilrahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier d, Owner at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2019

Thank you so much guys for write this review about our hotel :)
We really apreciate the time and thank you very much for chare your vacations with us, it was a pleasure have you here.
Hope we can share a few more waves some day, ja!
Big hug from Mal Pais.
Javi
B.A. Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2018 via mobile

AMAZING view and setting, clean and comfortable room, the perfect hosts and service! From Javi’s warm greeting on arrival and throughout my stay, I couldn’t have asked for a better first accommodation in CR.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank georgetD8917BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier d, Owner at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2018

Thank you George for sharing your vacation with us, it was pleasure have and meet you. Also thank youo for write this review of our place!
Wish you the best on this special trip around Costa :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

My wife and I spent four nights here and could not have been more pleased. The setting is truly magical perched up on the hill (rent a car or ATV!). And Javier is the most gracious/welcoming of hosts.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joshb0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenosaireshotel, Owner at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Hi Josh.
Thank you very much for this beautiful review of our place. Like l told you, it was a pleasure have you and Alex with us.
Hope next time we can share a few waves :)
All the best!
Javi
B.A. Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

The stunning views from this hotel are one of the reasons to stay. Another reason is for peace and quiet. Hotel is set very high up on a steep hill so no noise to compete with. Also, since the owner does not accept children under 20 because of the steep location, you will be assured a peaceful stay. Renting a quad or 4WD is a must to get to and from this hotel and for getting around. Anything other than 4WD or quad will likely not get up the steep hill. The hotel is actually within walking to the beach and restaurants but just walking up & down the very steep hill on a hot day is not very enjoyable even for fit people. The owner Javier is extremely hospitable and very helpful in proving information about the area, restaurant recommendations, etc... the rooms here are very basic - no TV, no fancy bedding or toiletries - if you want that stay somewhere else. Not all rooms have AC as ours didn’t. That’s the one thing I wish I had asked for is a room with AC as the fan didn’t quite cut it to help make our sleep comfortable but I’ll know this for next time and request room with AC. Stay here for unbeatable views and peace and quiet. You will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PatriciaT917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenosaireshotel, Owner at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi Patricia.
Thank you very much for your review about our place. As l told you, it was great to meet you and have you here :)
Just to be clear, we do not take kids under 12 years old (not 20, haha! l guess you didin't mean it).
About the hill, as you sayed is steep, but you will surprice how many of our guest decide to walk around and not drive, even if they have a vehicle.
Again, thank you for take time and share your opinion with the comunity.
All the best!
Javi
B.A. Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews