We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
26
7
1
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
7
1
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews landscape updating balcony beaches resort
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed it. Playa Panama is very nice. The room was very clean and large with a full refrigerator and microwave. The only improvement would be a softer mattress. The staff was very nice and very accomodating.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TexYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

I am saving you right now, do not stay here if you want a vacation. You will not be taken care of, no one care about your concerns during your stay, nothing will be done to help you( they dont even understand english or have an english speaker). It is not clean, literally, i came into a very dirty villa and had to show them how bad it was. It is also not clean on the beaches. They dont have standard as to what amenities a hotel/villa should have, the water doesnt run, there is NO HOT WATER period. The manager stay in one of the villas and throws loud parties every night so that all the people staying at the resort cannot sleep. I litterally, many nights in a row asked them to quiet down by coming over to their door, they continue, all night. If you want a very very stressful stay, this is your place.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

This is a hard one. The good stuff first: we stayed for a week at the beginning of March and the place was very, very quiet. The resorts on either side of us had a definite party vibe but Vista Bahia was nice and peaceful. It's all natural, with native plants instead of imported tropicals. There are tons of tide pools around so you can see little critters, it's really fun.

The staff was very friendly, but be warned, most of them don't speak English. We really enjoyed this because it was a more authentic experience, but some people may not like that. We had lots of wonderful evenings in the open-air restaurant, just us and a few staff and a dog named Hannah. Mario, the chef, is amazing, try the pechuga with salsa blanca. Some of the best food I've had. The rooms need some updating, but they're huge, so you don't get that cramped feeling of a typical hotel/resort.

Here's the big downside: the hills. There is no easy access to the beach. This is not the place to stay if you're in a wheelchair, have a bad back, arthritis, asthma, or are just out of shape. Seriously, I would plan the day around minimizing trips up those hills. The room was also two levels with stairs, so that could be an issue for some.

Overall we had a nice stay, and our friends, who were staying next to us at Occidental Papagayo would come to us at Vista Bahia to escape the "drunks and loud music" at their hotel. If you have more questions, message me, I'm happy to answer.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kellilynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

The views are great, but the beaches were not what I expected. They are better for boating/jet skiing than swimming. The rooms could use updating as they feel like they haven't been updated since the '90s. The hotel entrance was a bit hard to find. You may want to ask your GPS to take you to the Occidental, and then turn right before its entrance. Also, when I arrived almost no one was staying at the hotel, despite it being late in the week during high season. Kinda creepy.

Room Tip: Be prepared to walk/hike up and down a hill for the beach or pool. There's a lot of music at the pool.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank uknowbeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

From the time we arrived everyone made us feel comfortable. They helped us plan our stay with tours, fishing, beach, the city, helped with transportation, the food and drinks. We felt so comfortable that we would stay around in the evenings to socialize with the new friends we made on the property. its so peaceful. You couldn't have better staff for a travel vacation abroad. They also cooked our fish from our catch of the day to perfection. The amenities were just right.

Room Tip: Friendly and clean
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnagleason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio P, Director de Recepción at Vista Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for your feedback, your comments are very important to us.

We are glad to hear you had a memorable experience at Vista Bahia Beach Resort and would like to express our most sincere thanks to you for staying with us.

It is our privilege to have you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews