We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 511)
Filter reviews
2 511 results
Traveller rating
787
1 114
419
113
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
787
1 114
419
113
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach wing ferringhi tower tower block night market ihg member sea view overhead bridge main building swimming pool wings indian food table tennis busy road kids suite kids club george town water sports
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 2 511 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Great hotel, Very comfortable rooms, great pool area with a large grassed area right on the beach to sit on a lounge and laze the day away. Breakfast has a great selection of food. Situated right in the heart of the night markets and great restaurants right on your doorstep.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SAMANTHA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Primila M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear SAMANTHA J,

It is a pleasure to read that that you had a very relaxing stay here with us at Holiday Inn Resort Penang and that you found our hotel to be great.

Thank you for highlighting our comfortable room, pool area and the breakfast selection. Our location is certainly the best in Batu Ferringhi with the night market, local cafes and hawker stalls only steps from the hotel, the beach at the end of our garden and the bus stop right outside our hotel for easy access into Georgetown and all it has to offer.

Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Booked room through Expedia with a room in tower. We stayed here before and liked it so again we decided to stay.
When we checked in, the reception guy mentioned to us that we will give you a room in main building as a upgrade.
He did not explain to us much about the room details at that time and only he mentioned more details after we sign on the check-in paper and we were notified the room is not facing to the sea, facing to the road.
Hm... we choose a room in tower because we like a specious room.
The rooms in tower is bigger but old fashioned. Some ppl may not like. But we like.
The reception guy give us room number #307
In a main building but the room is facing to the road and next to the lift so some noise are always comes in to the room.
The room is clean but small. The bathroom needs to upgrade. We could here the neighbour voice from next door. So we feel this is not a upgrade in fact.

Please clarify to the guests clearly what kind of room prepare for the guest before arranging upgrade and better to confirm the guest first if the room is ok or not.

We don’t feel this is upgrade at all. Sorry.

Additionally, the aircon in the room is super cold. Even turned off the aircon, so I feel sick next morning.

The breakfast in the morning, some are ok but most foods are average. The salad looked like prepared the night before.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Manaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Manaty,

Appreciate you taking the time to share you feedback on your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

I am disappointed to read that our team member did not clearly clarify about the upgrade and this will be addressed internally that all our front desk agents clearly explain about room upgrades.

All our salads and breakfast items are prepared freshly in the morning, however, I will share your feedback with our Executive Chef.

Thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

Kind regards,

Cameron Smith
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Once again we have had the most amazing time here. We have been staying here for about 7 years and loved it every time. The staff are the most welcoming and friendly in any resort we have stayed at. They always acknowledge us when we arrive and welcome us back. The staff is one of the main reasons we stay here especially the brilliant service we get from Susie Ang who is so professional ,courteous and friendly to everyone. A special mention also should go to Sasikala in the dining room/breakfast area who always has a huge smile on her face and also Zamri and Foraq in the bar area. The resort is centrally located near the night markets with lots of restaurants nearby. Although you cant go past the food in the hotel which is fantastic including breakfast which has a large selection. We stay in a high room on the tower block side sea view facing which is really spacious and we really enjoy our afternoons watching the sun go down while sipping a drink on the balcony. We cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: Tower sea view facing rooms with a balcony are worth the bit extra.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JenandbrianPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear JenandbrianPerthWA,

Appreciate you are taking the time to write a review for our Holiday Inn Resort, Penang.

We do take great pride in the service provided by our team members and those mentioned will be commended accordingly.

As you mentioned the hotel is perfectly situated in the middle of Batu Ferringhi with the night market and hawker center all within walking distance of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Cameron Smith
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We hired a car to drive Penang but taxis and transport to Batu Ferringhi is easily available. It is about 30 plus minutes drive depending on traffic.
The hotel is split into two areas. One is right on the beach and has the pool and restaurant on site. The other is across the road with a walk away over traffic for easy access. Both areas have reception points. On site parking is available if you drive.
Rooms are spacious and well equipped for a comfortable stay.
Buffet breakfast is available with Continental, Western and Asian choices on offer. Prices are very competitive. Local restaurants and local food shops are easily accessed for the more adventurous.
Night markets and local shops available with tailors, massage and laundry option in walking distance.
Beach with activities such as parasailing, jet ski and horse riding along the sand available. Swim either in the pool or in the sea.
Happy hour every afternoon at the pool bar.
Tour options are easily available from in house representatives. The resort is a great place to relax and enjoy the beach but you will need car, transport or coordinated tours to venture out of Batu Ferringhi.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank K8178LLdenisec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Denise C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review of your recent stay with us here and for highlighting not only the hotel facilities but also those of the local area.

We hope to welcome you back again to Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

Kind regards,

Cameron Smith
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Stayed here for 2 nights. Unfortunately the weather was boiling hot and very unpleasant. As a result I think the air con in the room was unable to cope therefore didn't cool the room down sufficiently enough for us. On the bright side the receptionist Reva was the nicest and most helpful person I have encountered for many a year. Her lovely willingness to assist us made us feel welcome and made our stay so much more enjoyable. Just a note to the Holiday Inn, Reva is a gem and you are very lucky to have someone so nice that looks after guests like she does. The room was nice and tidy and our house cleaning staff did an exceptional job as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: Sea view tower room
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Theshadow58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Theshadow58,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us here in Penang and for recognizing Reva who will be commended accordingly.

Certainly the weather can be unpredictable these days and recently we have been experiencing a mix of hot, rainy and windy days all in the space of a week.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Cameron Smith
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews