We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (667)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveller rating
334
254
50
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
254
50
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art deco piano player old world charming hotel step back in time bygone era pie old style cape town gardens are beautiful very pleasant stay our room was spacious road trip klein karoo south africa one night stay home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 667 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2016

A very good hotel with excellent food and service in top class. Stay here and be very satisfied.Its very close to Jouberts museum, the history of the surroundings. Very interesting and very good guidens.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 767larss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Dear 767larss

Thank you for the review. Joubert House, and Montagu Museum, are both within walking distance of the hotel, and form part of the historical walk that we offer from the hotel. I'm glad you had good time with us, hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We have stayed in Montagu on several occasions and enjoy the vibe, so when bringing our friends on their first trip to South Africa we thought of different types of accommodation. The Montagu country Hotel with its art deco style ticked the box. On entering the hotel it lived up to the image with period decor was spot on and the welcome drink was a nice touch. My partner booked us all in and was told one room was in the garden and the other up stairs, as our friends are a bit stiff in the legs we took the up stairs room but half way up the lady on reception said “ I can put you in the garden with your friends if you like” so we excepted. The room we was given was next to the gents toilet and over looked by the outside seating area. The room was clean but in need of a re vamp not art deco more 1960s Butlins. After unpacking we went to find our friends. They had been put in a African style thatched rondavel in the corner of the garden, a perfect room and we were so pleased for them. However we were paying the same amount for both couples and our room felt more like the servant accommodation. We were not advised of an upgrade and if it was it is not good business to just upgrade one couple in a party of four. The staff were fantastic , but we didn’t get our art deco experience, on leaving my partner mentioned our disappointment but it was not addressed, Shame!!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bigcthebogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Dear bigcthebogan

Thank you for the review. Please accept my apologies, your disappointment is clear. I would like to make the following comments : no one room in this hotel is the same, that is the charm of what we do, but can also be our downfall. I see you stayed in January, a very busy time for us. When we don't have enough classic rooms available, we will overflow into the luxury rooms. In your friends case, they were accommodated in the African Hut, because of the stiff legs, and the room is on ground level. This particular room has just been upgraded, and sell as a luxury room. You cannot compare their room to the one you moved to - room 23, one of our classic rooms. I'm sure you would also have been upgraded if we had more luxury rooms available. We are planning more upgrades to classic rooms this coming winter season, addressing the gap between classic and luxury. Thank you for the compliments on the staff, it will be passed on to them.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

I cannot recommend this Art Deco venue too highly. The staff deliver exemplary service. True country hospitality. If you are looking for a tranquil and restorative destination on Route 62, you will find it here. The spa treatment is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DHGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Dear DHGeorge

Thank you for the great review. Country hospitality is what we are all about, and your compliments on the staff will be passed on. Our spa is doing really well under the guidance of Megan that has been running it the last couple of months, we have some exciting changes planned for it as well.

We look forward to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Stopped over here as we travelled along route 62. Looked good on the internet, but it was even better than it looked, and great value. Loved the friendly staff who greeted us, and our room 24 the Africa Hut was just gorgeous. Roomy and full of great little touches. The pool was great after the drive from Cape town. Had a fabulous meal of soup with ginger and for me a Karoo lamb pie, whilst my partner had hake. Both great and good value. Breakfast was very good and the service was top rate. Had a problem with my Sat Nav which staff sorted very quickly. This is an exceptional hotel and great value.

Room Tip: Room 24 is a good choice, but watch out for when they switch the automatic grass watering system on.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Dear Jim B

This is such a great review! We love it when guests enjoy the hotel and offering so much, I'll be sure to share you review far and wide.

We are busy with exciting plans for the coming winter, would love to show you around on your next visit.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

as a family we enjoyed a wonderfull treat for Valentines weekend at MCH - if you haven't visited MCH - do so asap - you are missing out. The hotel is filled with stunning art deco pieces, and the ambience one to enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ingrid d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Dear guesti2016

I'm glad you joined us for Valentines weekend. You are very flattering with your comments, thank you very much.

We run regular specials on our website and Facebook pages, hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews