We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable outside verandah at beach side restaurant”
Review of Beachcomber Bistro

Beachcomber Bistro
Ranked #9 of 17 Restaurants in Fish Hoek
Cuisines: Pizza, Cafe, Grill
Description: Lively atmosphere, lovely food, wide choice to suit all tastes and times of day. The greatest place to meet on Fish Hoek Beach with stunning views.
Restaurant details
Description: Lively atmosphere, lovely food, wide choice to suit all tastes and times of day. The greatest place to meet on Fish Hoek Beach with stunning views.
Reviewed 13 September 2017

As the Beachcomber Bistro is part of the only restaurant on Fish Hoek beach, there is no other choice. It is always busy and it is an enjoyable way of relaxing sitting outside under the umbrellas with drinks and a light meal or an ice cream. However the food is average and nothing to get excited about.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CathyDippnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nola H, Manager at Beachcomber Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

I am glad you enjoyed our relaxing outside seating area, and welcome you back. The Beachcomber Bistro was created in contrast to the Galley as a casual Restaurant with an informal outside seating facility. Emphasis was put onto "Value for Money" and "Enjoy the Spirit of the Sea".
Our Meals are designed along international standards, governed by healthy ingredients, balanced between a variety of proteins healthy freshly cooked or stir-fried vegetables and / or salads and choice of carbohydrates with seafood as our mainstay.
We are indeed one of the most versatile restaurant venues in Cape Town. Please ask your server for all our menu's to see if we can tempt you with a different meal with every one of your visits.
Serving a wide choice of Breakfast's, Soups, Salads, Croissants,Home Bakes,Sandwiches Kiddies’ Selections,Pizza's, Pasta's, Burgers,Seafood Beauties ,Meats, Steaks & Chicken dishes, Savory Pancakes, Baked Potatoes with fillings, Sausages,Rice Dishes ,Stir Fry's, Langoustines, Prawns, Lobster, Mussels, Oysters,Line Fish in Season and Calamari, as well as some German and Indian menu items, just to name a few, all prepared to Perfection.
Yes, I want to entice you to try our wide range of dishes, so hope to see you soon. Thank you again for your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017

Needing a quick bite after a late afternoon arrival in Fish Hoek my hotel recommended this restaurant. There are actually two restaurants right next to each other and apparently owned by the same owner but Beachcomber is definitely the more relaxed and easy for a quick meal. I was surprised by the number of locals sitting enjoying a drink on a Sunday night and gathered that it is a lovely meeting place too. The food was really good and wanting just plain old fish and chips, a lot more than I expected for the price.

Thank marionthomson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nola H, Manager at Beachcomber Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

What a great review!
We try to create a vibe that works for anyone and makes you feel really, really good about life right now. Our meals are totally tasty, and value for money so that you can get more for your money and there is always dessert, even if that is just an Ice-Cream sundae, or cinnamon pancakes.
We look forward to hosting you again soon and sharing, another excellent experience with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

We have visited the restaurant for the past 6 year, and have noticed a general lowering of standards. The prices that you pay are generally fair to the food that you get for part of the menu. Other prices are higher compared to the quality of the food. Service is generally very slow, and the food is sometimes cold. I have had breakfast before and when I have asked for butter and jam for toast. I'm told they don't have. The only reason we go here is for the view of the water. Not one of my first choice restaurants!

Thank Deon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nola H, Manager at Beachcomber Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Deon, as a valued customer, what you think is important to us.
You cannot improve one thing by 1000% but you can improve 1000 little things by 1%.
Your candid advice is appreciated and I will take positive steps in improving %.
Our prices are known to be below other comparable restaurants in Cape town and we offer good value for money.

I have every desire to address your concerns and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

I ordered a hamburger and a coffee. The food was average and the coffee was not good. Its also very hard to get any service. Down the road you can get great coffee so very disappointing

Thank GreenCapetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nola H, Manager at Beachcomber Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit, I certainly appreciate your critique as your feedback allows me to follow it up and make improvements. Simply because our customers deserve the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Always a pleasure to have a lunch here in Fish Hoek, which can extend through the afternoon in this relaxed spot. We have done the smarter indoor version (which is still child-friendly) with linen napkins and a bit more class in the past, but this time opted for the 'straight-off-the-beach' outside area under umbrellas. Still the same quality food and wonderful service. We had our new 9 week old puppy with us, and the waitress was so caring, quick and focused on everything we needed as our kids sped off onto the beach and back again! Opting for Fish and Chips all-round, we were not disappointed. tasty, fresh and enjoyable. Will be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike12345536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nola H, Manager at Beachcomber Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

I just wanted you to know that we truly appreciated your comments and feel honored to be your chosen restaurant. Your loyalty is much appreciated and we will do our very best to continue to meet your needs.
Thanks again for your patronage.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beachcomber Bistro also viewed

Fish Hoek, Cape Town
 
Fish Hoek, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Glencairn, Cape Town
 

Been to Beachcomber Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing