We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Clarity

Exceptional

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Apr 2021
Tranquility guesthouse is honestly the best guesthouse we have stayed at, the views are spectacular, the rooms are well equipped and very comfortable, the breakfast is 5 star quality,From crispy bacon to freshly baked muffins and other goodies. The hosts are incredible people with hearts of gold, thank you Bonny and Jan for your amazing hospitality. We enjoyed our stay so much and will definitely be back.
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jan Vat, Owner at Tranquility Guest House, responded to this review
Responded 31 Dec 2021
Thanks very much for taking time to write your lovely review. Much appreciated, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 594
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 594
  • Priceline
    R 1 594
  • Vio.com
    R 1 591
0.8 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 000
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 000
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 000
  • StayForLong
1.1 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 155
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 040
1.0 km from Tranquility Guest House
R 1 090
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 090
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 936
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 090
1.4 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Smoking area.
R 700
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 700
  • Priceline
    R 700
  • Vio.com
    R 699
0.9 km from Tranquility Guest House
Bar/Lounge
Dunvegan Lodge is a home away from home. All our suites are spacious, light and have beautiful views and decks with outdoor furniture as well as kitchenette's and lounge areas.
R 1 505
R 1 280
  • Priceline
    R 1 280
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 365
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 280
2.1 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
No fees just great deals
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
No booking fees
    1.4 km from Tranquility Guest House
    R 950
    • Agoda.com
      R 1 300
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 884
    • Expedia.com
      R 950
    2.9 km from Tranquility Guest House
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Fish Hoek
    Reviews (220)
    Filter reviews
    220 results
    Traveller rating
    206
    13
    1
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    206
    13
    1
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews cape town cape point delicious breakfast wonderful stay gorgeous views friendly welcome new friends kalk bay fresh fruit living room jan bonnie house kindness penguins peninsula
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 220 reviews
    Reviewed 5 April 2021

    Excellent breakfast, very kind host and of course tranquil!
    We stayed two-times in the Tranquility Guesthouse during our journey thru the Western Cape. And we will surely come back on our next stay in the Cape Town region.

    Date of stay: March 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank JoRe58
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jan and Bonny Vat, Owner at Tranquility Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2021

    DearJore,

    Thanks vey much for taking time to write another wonderful review. It is much appreciated and we can't wait to welcome you back.

    Kind Regards,

    Jan and Bonny

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 December 2020

    We absolutely loved our stay in this exquisite guest house. It has just the right balance between comfort and elegance with beautiful antique furniture, wooden floors and tasteful decor. The rooms were immaculate and every detail for our comfort was thought of. The hosts were extremely hospitable and went out of their way to make us feel at home and to make sure all our needs were met. The breakfasts were delicious! If you are looking for a truly special and comfortable place to stay then we would highly recommend this guest house.

    Date of stay: December 2020
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank larsandwendy
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jan Vat, Owner at Tranquility Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2020

    Thanks very much Lars and Wendy for your great review. Bonny and I enjoyed your stay with us very much and we look forward to hosting you again soon. We wish you a blessed Christmas.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 November 2020

    This was our second visit to Tranquility and we will definitely return. The room has amazing views over Fish Hoek and are so comfortable. The freshly baked scones and very delicious breakfast every morning are great! These are the two most friendly and helpful hosts ever.

    Room tip: Best views, clean, friendly, etc, etc
    Date of stay: November 2020
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank DonvanderRiet
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jan and Bonny Vat, Owner at Tranquility Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2020

    Thanks very much Don and Sonja for writing another wonderful review. It was a privilege to host you again and we hope to be able to welcome to Tranquility at some future time.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 February 2020

    This was our second visit to Tranquility guest house after a gap of five years. We were not disappointed. We received the same warm welcome with muffins and tea in the beautiful garden that we had enjoyed 5 years ago. Our room, the loft room, was clean and comfortable with magnificent views over the town and the ocean. The breakfasts were excellent with fruit, yogurt, muffins, toast and a full English as well as lots of friendly conversation.The first set of steps do present quite a challenge with a heavy suitcase but I am sure that I could have driven up to the accommodation had I needed to. We were given very helpful advice about places to visit and places to eat in the town and we will certainly be back again on our next visit to the area. Highly recommended.

    Date of stay: January 2020
    Thank Ulendo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jan and Bonny Vat, Owner at Tranquility Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2020

    Dear Ursula and Adam,

    Thank you very much for this lovely review. We enjoyed your company also and look forward to hosting you again one day.

    Kind Regards,

    Jan and Bonny

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 January 2020 via mobile

    Just want to add a few words to the many complements expressed in other reviews here. We had three nights in the Tranquility Guest House and it was a pity that we didn’t have more time. Jan and Bonny (and the dogs) go out of their way to make you feel at home. The rooms are everything that the pictures suggest and the views are breathtaking.
    The guest house is well positioned for a day at Boulder Bay to see the penguins and also a trip down the coast to Cape Point (also highly recommended) however a car is pretty much a prerequisite.
    Thank You Jan and Bonny - we’ll be back!

    Date of stay: December 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank GrumpyLondonUK
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TranquilityGH, Owner at Tranquility Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2020

    Thanks very much Peter and Chris for taking the time to write such a lovely review. When I saw the name of the reviewer my heart skipped a beat!. It was lovely having your whole family stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you again some time.

    Concerning Jonathan's jumper, we think it might be best if Bonny takes it with her to the UK and post it from there. We are always concerned about the South African postal service as we have had some bad experiences in the past. She will arrive in London on the 20th of January and we hope that is in order.

    Kind Regards from all of us,

    Jan

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews