We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
jovthompson
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom

The most amazing place & people in South Africa

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Jul 2010
I am late in writing this but I have not forgotten our most magical stay with Ron & Gill. They are the kindest people on the planet. Nothing is too much trouble - even babysitting for our children whilst we had a night out! The rooms are wonderful and the view is amazing. BUT Jills breakfasts, you cannot beat!! I miss it and will go back to stay at Tranquility as I feel they are now part of our family!! Thank you Ron & Gill - keep well xx
Date of stay: February 2010
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • ZenHotels.com
0.9 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.1 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
A Whale of a Time
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paradise On the Bay lies perched on the ocean's edge.
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
1.4 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 985
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dunvegan Lodge is a home away from home. All our suites are spacious, light and have beautiful views and decks with outdoor furniture as well as kitchenette's and lounge areas.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 585
  • Booking.com
2.1 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Fish Hoek
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
206
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
206
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape town cape point delicious breakfast wonderful stay gorgeous views friendly welcome new friends kalk bay fresh fruit living room jan bonnie house kindness penguins peninsula
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2010

I stayed at this guesthouse for two nights out of a total of 10 in South Africa, and this was by far my favorite place. The breakfast was wonderful and filling, and the room was gorgeous, with breathtaking views of the ocean. I could look out from my bathtub and see the water, which was definitely relaxing. Breakfast included eggs, bacon, toast, cereals, pancakes, jams etc. Tea and coffee were always on offer and when I brought in my take-out dinner they were kind enough to bring me a plate and an assortment of condiments. They were so accommodating and flexible, and offered transfers to and from town for a very reasonable price. (Kalk Bay is only a few minutes drive from the house, and there are lots of nice restaurants and shops). They were also very helpful in planning some day tours for me. Laundry service was available for a great price, and Internet was also available. I would definitely stay there again! Every effort was made to ensure that I enjoyed my stay and felt at home.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherM1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2009

At Tranquility Guest House we had a truly warm and welcoming 3 day stay. The hosts were by far the most friendly that we met in SA (or anywhere else we have stayed) and we had a realy great time there. It's a marvellous place from which to explore the Cape. The rooms were very comfortable and homely, the breakfasts were unbelievably good, we received clear travel/itinery advice and when we returned each evening after our sightseeing we were really made to feel so welcome by these lovely people (Ron Gill and their daughter).

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2009

There are not many places that bring a tear to your eye as you drag yourself away but Tranquility Guest House did that to me.
The house itself is so beautifully and thoughtfully decorated , the hospitality is equivilant to going to stay with the most wonderful relatives you could ever be so lucky to have and Rosie the dog is lucky to still be having a warm Christmas as she was very close to being packed in our bags!
Thank you so so so much for the most wonderful stay - we shall most certainly be bcak and hope that you may find yourselves in Edinburgh to come to Leo's Beanery!

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friend_of_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2009

The Tranquility is a beautiful wooden house built in interesting contemporary architecture and climbing the top row of a hill on the outskirts of Fish hoek, Cape Peninsula. On the right is False bay, in front is Fish Hoek and to the left is the valley leading over to the Atlantic side of the Cape. The road description given to us took us straight to the house, some 2 km from the centre of Fish hoek. We arrived in stormy weather with rain pouring down and clothes soaked. On arrival, we where given such a warm welcome that any previous challenges where quickly forgotten over a nice cup of tea.

The owners had this house built some 13 years ago and it is designed to serve both as a family home and guest house with four guest rooms, some with private entrances. This is not your ordinary B & B, the owners are simply passionate about making your stay perfect in every detail and as a whole. The interior design is stylish, welcoming and well thought out, and with fresh local flowers everywhere. Rooms are well equipped, with private baths & showers and WiFi Internet access. Don't miss the guide written by the owners, including the section with local animals that can be spotted on the hill, from your window! Our room was very comfortable with a small balcony and panorama windows overlooking False bay, the valley and even a glimps of the Atlantic on the other side of the Peninsula!

We asked for help with finding & booking a good restaurant for dinner. We ended up in a great sea food restaurant in nearby Kalk harbour, and at a perfect table for two.

The breakfast was deliciously home-cooked and plentiful, combining an English style cooked breakfast with South African specialties. On departure, we asked about the road to our next venue; we where promptly given free guiding and several really good sightseeing & activities advice that kept us busy all day.

The Tranquility is a very good base for exploring the whole peninsula, or as in our case, a great place to spend the night when on a longer trip. If we would have known all this in advance we would have changed plans and stayed more nights here! We are writing this from a huge and luxurious room devoid of any personality and are longing back to the Tranquility!

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandA1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2009

If I could tell you it was horrible I would just so that we could keep this lovely home to ourselves. I cannot recommend this enough. From the moment we arrived to our sad departure just 2 nights later, Gill and Desiree (didn't get to meet Ron he was away) couldn't do enough for us. We were greeted with a cup of tea and home made muffins when we arrived and it just got better. Rosie the dog was there to greet us and was a constant friend always happy to play throw the stick, and maybe bring it back.

Breakfast, absolutely superb. A social occasion for all of us to chat over where we'd been, where we were going and what to see.

The room. Well, that was a highlight of our tour. The Romantic Suite was certainly that. During the day there is a panoramic view from mountains to sea and at night to watch the sparkling lights of the town, what more can I say. The bed was so comfortable as well, made it hard to get out of in the morning. To have a view from the loo, an experience and a half. The bath with candles and home made soaps was also a lovely touch.

This was the start of a 3 week holiday to South Africa and I cannot think of a better way to start it. Thank you for your patience in directing us to places and sorry for getting you to repeat on a few occasions. (we always argue over which way we thought we were told to go). We got everywhere and if you want to eat well then you have to go to Harbour House round the next bay, food and service was excellent.

If you are ever in the area this is the place to stay, don't go anywhere else, not too far from Capetown in case you didn't manage to get up Table Mountain and close to Boulders (penguins) and Cape Point. There is a lot more to see and we missed our walk up to Elsie's peak with Rosie but that will have to wait for another time.

Unfortunatly the Jacuzzi was out of action due to power restrictions but we could have had the water heated and had a soak if we had wanted to. Decided that we would do our bit and not use it this time. I'm sure it would have been lovely.

I could go on for ever about this place, it was just perfect. Thank you for making our holiday perfect.

Date of stay: February 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caz769
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews