We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
InkySA
Germiston, South Africa

Simply superb!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Sept 2018
It is rare to find a place where the reality you encounter is even better than the awesome pictures on the website. This is exactly what happened to us over the three days we spent at Tranquility Guest House. Attention to detail; beautiful fresh flowers everywhere; exquisite bed linen with hand-embroidered cushions and laundry bag; sunny, bright and spacious room with crystal-clean windows, warm wooden floors and staircases abound with matching furniture ... and then you arrive for breakfast and the fantastic experience continues ... beautifully laid table once again with fresh flowers everywhere; simply delicious food beautifully presented, with different menu each day; we ate ourselves silly so that we couldn't even fit lunch in! And what made everything so good, on top of the beauty around us, was the warm hospitality and stimulating conversation from the Tranquility team as well as overseas guests.
A truly unforgettable three days of sheer luxury and beauty.
We will be back, and back again. This is the only place we will stay in Cape Town on all our future visits.
Date of stay: September 2018
Room Tip: All the rooms have good views. We stayed in the Loft - the best room - but you have to be able...
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 594
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 594
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 594
  • Vio.com
    R 1 594
0.8 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 047
  • Priceline
    R 1 090
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 002
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 016
1.4 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 155
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 155
1.0 km from Tranquility Guest House
Dunvegan Lodge is a home away from home. All our suites are spacious, light and have beautiful views and decks with outdoor furniture as well as kitchenette's and lounge areas.
R 1 374
R 1 360
  • Priceline
    R 1 360
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 374
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 355
2.1 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
 British breakfast for extra money. Small...
R 700
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 700
  • Agoda.com
    R 700
  • Vio.com
    R 700
0.9 km from Tranquility Guest House
Bar/Lounge
R 950
  • Priceline
    R 950
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 880
  • Agoda.com
    R 950
2.9 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free parking
Pool
R 1 828
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
2.6 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 000
  • Priceline
    R 3 000
  • Agoda.com
2.7 km from Tranquility Guest House
R 1 072
R 968
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 072
2.8 km from Tranquility Guest House
R 1 704
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 760
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 461
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 759
2.8 km from Tranquility Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Fish Hoek
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
206
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
206
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape town cape point delicious breakfast wonderful stay gorgeous views friendly welcome new friends kalk bay fresh fruit living room jan bonnie house kindness penguins peninsula
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2018

We were so lucky to live here, it's very nice house, we love it very much, very cosy, we felt spoiled, the breakfast is very delicious, and many options, personally I like the porridge with honey very much:)Since our journey to Cape Town was casual, we didn't make any plan before arrive here, so every morning after the breakfast, We made decision according to Desiree's suggestion, Desiree was so helpful and friendly, like family members. And during our last night stay, we attended the family party, Desiree, Gill, Ron, Yon.....This was one of the most memorable experiences in my life. Thank you, all. I do believe I'll come back here for my next trip.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Guangzhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2018

I had a late arrival at Tranquility Guest House, Desiree and her family couldn't been more nice. The rooms have a perfect view for the bay, where you can see the whales in the right season. Everything clean and very cozy. Highly recommend and be looking forward to return with my family, this time for holidays.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ThiagoNSouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2018

What a pleasure pit stop in what felt like a home away from home. It was so refreshing to be welcomed and looked after by such friendly beautiful people. I will not hesitate to return should I ever need to over night in the Fish hoek area again. I felt sad upon leaving this magical space and wish I could have stayed longer. The attention to detail at this get away is outstanding and is a must for any nature lover.... And I haven't even started about breakfast, which was intimate, so beautifully presented, homely and delicious. I can't thank Tranquility enough for hosting me. I was showered with nothing but love and excellent service . You can feel how much heart and soul has been poured into this guest house. Thank you for sharing this precious gem with me.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2018

It was because of the water shortage that we went to Tranquility Guest House at all, since our usual stay with family was not possible, and the stay was a total joy ! The house is situated high up, with magnificent views of Fish Hoek, the sea, and distant mountains. From the moment we arrived, Desiree, the manager, made us feel truly at home. We chose the Rose Room, on the lower level of the residential part of the house, which has an extremely comfortable double bed, and is also furnished with a sofa, easy chairs & small table. This room has its own kitchenette, with electric cooker & microwave which was so useful for the occasional night in, in front of the multi channel TV. Friends, who had stayed before spoke of the legendary breakfasts served each morning, and they were not wrong. There were an amazing selection of cereals, muesli, yoghurt, muffins, toast, conserves, but not forgetting the wonderful cooked breakfast to order. Fresh flowers are a great feature, both in our room and at the breakfast table. With water saving in mind, we were encouraged to use the shower rather than bath in our "en suite", and soon found that it is entirely possible to have a perfectly effective shower without using excessive water. In fact, after a couple of days, we didn't think of water as an issue. Desiree carries out the day to day running with a warmth and enthusiasm that made our stay so delightful. Nothing was too much trouble for her. On our last day she downloaded our boarding passes, and even rang the airline to change our seats. She is a star ! We shall see our family in future, but Tranquility is where we shall be staying.
Gerry & Judy Smith, London

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We had a wonderful & relaxing time celebrating our wedding anniversary at Tranquility Guest House. The hosts were so welcoming and accommodating and the accommodation very comfortable. After waking up to bird song, we soaked in the stunning views from our balcony while enjoying coffee. The breakfast was beautifully presented and delicious. We'll definitely be back.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 586jeanettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews