We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (851)
Filter reviews
851 results
Traveller rating
181
324
183
95
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
324
183
95
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cayo levisa beautiful island fish stayed nights palma rubia outdoor shower small island big restaurant stayed longer white sand beach air conditioning palm trees paradise on earth huge bathroom separate toilet chicken main restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 851 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2018 via mobile

This place could be a paradise. The location is fantastic, the beach is unspoiled, the water is wonderful and above all it is empty.But the resort could really be better : the room design is nice but there is always something wrong or broken, the food is certainly on the lower side of average, and staff is either lovely or could not care. Having said that if everything was perfect, it would be much more difficult to get a room. Remember that the roads to get there are terrible and therefore it takes close to 4 hours to come from La Havana.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Gaston027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose A C, Director General at Hotel Cayo Levisa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018
Google Translation

Hola Gaston027, gracias por sus sinceras palabras que consideramos muy importantes para mejorar nuestros servicios. Créame que trabajamos para mejorar toda nuestra infraestructura. Hemos ido progresando y lo seguiremos haciendo, manteniendo siempre la alegría de nuestro staff y deseando que en su próxima visita todo sea de su agrado. Hasta la próxima. Un excelente día.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2018 via mobile

Oh what a shame. This hotel has so much potential. It is the only thing on the island and they can easily turn this place to a 5-star hotel and earn more money from it.

As soon as you arrived you are welcome with a small glass of soft drink. And you seeing this is going to be a nice stay. It has a virgin beach, lovely white powder sand, clear sea. But that is where it all ends. There was a dead rat on the beach right next to the hotel and sunbeds. There is no lifeguard.

The public toilets in the hotel were really dirty. There are rat droppings everywhere, on the toilets. The taps had Brown water. There was a water cut off on our last day. so there was no water to have a shower, flush the toilet, wash your hands, nothing.

Whilst we were dead as a small hurricane that we were not informed of. There was a power cut and the game no information was given. We tried calling the reception and the phone lines were not working during our stay. There is no evacuation or any information at all being given to you.

The boat ride is about half an hour to an hour depending on which boat you get on. The larger boat goes very slow and it can be a very long ride with limited seeds and the heat can be unbearable.

We booked a full board bungalow for one night. once you arrive there they tell you that your drinks are not included. this was a shock to us as full board includes your soft drinks. But we were allowed to swap our lunch for the following day and have that on arrival day instead as we were leaving early.

The food is very very basic and not great. the staff are lovely but unfortunately this place is not clean and not cared for. There was also construction going on right by the beach and some parts of the hotel.

There were stains on the sofas in our room and on the bed sheets. it was the only horrible night we ever spent in Cuba and we have travelled all over Cuba.

It is definitely a shame because this hotel can be a Paradise on Earth. It has so much potential.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Y12992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Family of 5, stayed 4 nights. We hadn't stayed in an all-in resort before and weren't sure that the formula would suit us. Fortunately, we loved this place and could have stayed longer. The setting is picturesque, the rooms spacious and well equipped, the staff friendly and helpful, and the live music in the evening a real joy. The food is a little bland and repetitive but fine. Drinks and activities can add a fair bit extra to the bill, so make sure you take a good amount of cash (no cards accepted). Some attention to detail could be better - for example, there is a fair amount of litter around the raised walkways, which doesn't get picked up from day to day. Overall, though, we thought this was a great option for a quiet low-key few days on the beach in the middle of our Cuba tour.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hackney-jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Very much surprised in a positive way.... after having read the former -rather negative - comments, we were less confident... people very nice. Rooms (we had one of the most ancient ones - tropical) spacious and clean. 2 big beds, fridge, air condition, safe and big storage possibilities. Just a few steps away from the white, long and empty beach. Good WiFi connection at reception area. Small restaurant very nice. Food okay. Fresh salad. Fish and meat grilled freshly when ordered. Of course, this is Cuba so if you stay some days, you will find the same food over and over again. Big restaurant 10 meters away from ocean. Breakfast good. Choices of cereals, eggs, bread, pastry, juices and yoghurt. We met very nice and interesting people from everywhere (mostly Europe). So, if you reserve Cayo Levisa Hotel, be assured it is very nice. You will be able to relax and enjoy this little piece of paradise.
If you have a chance to have lunch just before taking the boat or on your way back, stop definitely at Finca Mario and to have lunch! Maybe the best we had in Cuba! The fish delicious, vegetables and fruits just perfect (avocado, cucumber, Mango, Bananas etc), homemade potato fries (very very good) and the traditional Cuban rice and beans. Definitely worth a visit. Not yet a known place. Only 3 tables, we went by chance and were welcomed perfectly well.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank hysathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose A C, Director General at Hotel Cayo Levisa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018
Google Translation

Hola hysathis, es muy agradable leer su comentario, es bueno saber que da fe de las buenas atenciones del personal y los buenos servicios que brindamos, siempre teniendo en cuenta las peculiaridades de nuestra pequeña Isla Cayo Levisa. Agradecemos sus palabras, todos en el colectivo de trabajo, y lo invitamos a volver cuando lo desee, para seguir disfrutando junto a nosotros. Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Visited this place from the harbor of Palma Rubia.
Palma Rubia is no more than a shed with ticket counter and bar and a parking lot where oof coarse you have to pay to put your car.
With a expensive 35 cuc ticket to the cayo Levisa island. The ticket include also a buffet lunch without drinks.
The buffet is rubbish and the drinks are expensive.
Although the hotel is recent built (+/- 10 years), it looks like it is there since ages.
Shower for visitors were not working and toilets were filty.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Daniel19721972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose A C, Director General at Hotel Cayo Levisa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018
Google Translation

Hola Daniel19721972, le agradecemos que haya elegido Cayo Levisa para realizar su excursión en Cuba. Lamentamos que su criterio haya sido tan negativo en algunos aspectos, de cualquier manera le garantizo que estuvimos trabajando para mejorar toda la infraestructura de nuestro Hotel, es por ello que a partir de los próximos meses todo debe parecerle mucho más atractivo, lo invitamos a que se motive a visitarnos de nuevo. Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews