We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Montgomery's Coach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party Welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party
Welcome
Dogs love the flagstone floor with under floor heating!
Somewhere to hang your coat after a nice, long walk
Oak and brickwork give character
Lobby leads through to the open plan living area
Living room with underfloor heating and cosy wood burner
Wood Burner for Cosy Days or Nights in. A fire guard is provided
Dining table and chairs for 4 if you choose to eat in. TV has internet connection and BlueRay DVD
Fully Fitted Integrated Kitchen appliances, including dishwasher, washer/dryer and microwave
Cook in, or eat out pub and cafe less than 5 minutes away, it's your choice!
View to the deck from the kitchen. Guests tell us the window makes a handy serving hatch for BBQs!
Upstairs Downstairs View
Galleried landing with night light
Quality oak doors and furniture compliment original beams
Quality, hypo-allergenic bedding. Choice of super king double beds, or ....
Full-size twins, just ask.
Rooms are styled with care and equipped with TV/DVD players, hair dryers, hot water bottles, etc.
Plenty of storage in both bedrooms for all your things
Kids love the infinity mirror!
Heated towel rail and soft, fluffy towels
Powerful shower and loads of hot water. Toiletries provided.
Outside, original Coach House doors are retained and incorporated into the new design
A gated and fenced driveway with ample parking
Private deck area with seating for four, parasol and BBQ
Deck leads to gated and fenced grass area ideal for dogs
We've had loads of dogs to stay of all breeds. We try to make sure they love their holiday too
A gated, fenced grass area for those essential doggy ablutions. A poo bin is provided
Beautiful Herefordshire countryside
On a good day, you can see 4 counties when out walking nearby
Whitney toll bridge - canoe or kayak under it and stop off at the pub a minute from your front door
Rural relaxation
Hay Bluff, the Black Mountains, Brecon Beacons - all close by and so much more too
The Coach House is an ideal base for visiting the annual Hay Festival
Markets and festivals happen in Hay all year round
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitney-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hannah D
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just Perfect!”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What an amazing place, and wonderful first class / five star cottage... we had a lovely long weekend with our 3 year son. The weather was just perfect went a little cold in the evening but the under floor heating and log fire soon warmed us up. We enjoyed Sunday dinner at the Boat which was well the visit excellent food and super views over looking the River, this is a must for anyone that visits.
Steve made us very welcome and supplied a super welcome pack which we all enjoyed.
I have nothing bad or negative to say part from we had to come home, we will definitely returning ...just a lovely place to chill and relax
Thanks again Steve

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Hello Hannah and gang! Very many thanks for such a kind and positive review. We are so pleased that you really liked staying with us, and even more delighted that you intend to come back. We look forward to seeing you all again before too long. Warm regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highroast
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top class self catering accommodation”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Had one weeks holiday in this beautifully converted accommodation. Extremely well equipped, lots of storage and everything you could need. Stephen and his wife were very friendly and helpful without being obtrusive. Lots of parking and nice courtyard to sit and enjoy the sun. Finally brilliant communication when booking can not fault the service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Unable to play DVD on lounge T.V
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
I have to say, Highroast, that we love to see reviews that have a header containing the words 'Top Class'. Thank you very much for taking to TA and letting everyone know how much you enjoyed your week with us, it is much appreciated. We are glad that you found us 'friendly without being obtrusive' that is exactly the type of owner we like to meet when we go and stay somewhere! We hope that you will consider staying with us again when you next have the chance of a break. Warm regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“First class accommodation and wonderful surroundings!”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We received a. very warm welcome from Steve and Alison. Goody basket on arrival included local produce which we greatly enjoyed, and our dog was also very appreciative of her treats! The accommodation had the wow factor , was spotlessly clean and contained everything we needed. The beds and bed linen were very comfortable and the bedrooms spacious. We loved exploring the Brecon Beacons both by foot and by car. We particularly enjoyed walking around the Talybont on Usk area and the waterfalls at the Talybont Forest (Lower Blean and Glyn.) We enjoyed good food at the Boat Inn just a minutes walk away, a wonderful Indian meal in Weobley at the Lal Bagh restaurant and, on one of our longer drives, at The Bell Country Inn Crickhowell. Another highlight was a late coffee at the River cafe just a short drive away, where we sat and watched the bats over the river Wye. We loved every minute of our 5 day stay at Montgomery Coach House. We packed plenty in to our days and had a wonderfully comfortable cottage to relax and recharge our batteries!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful,clean and comfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you for such a well written rounded review Colin, you should write for the travel section of a Sunday supplement! You seem to have covered all the bases; us, the accommodation, the local amenities, the area - all of which seemed to be very much to your liking I am glad to say. I have probably said it before but we are very lucky to be surrounded by lots to do and lovely countryside, we try hard to uphold our end of the bargain by ensuring our guests want for nothing and have a comfortable spot to lay their heads after a hard day exploring. We very much hope to see you all again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susiep34
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage!!!”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Where to start this beautiful cottage exceeded our expectations!! This place has been done to a very high spec everything you could wish for and more really comfortable stay we had here for 3 nights (2 adults and 2 children). Visited some family nearby and the Brecons! Weather was beautiful so were able to sit out on the decking and try some of the local ciders from the farm shop just down the road. Also had a meal at the Boat Inn just a minutes walk away lovely!! We will be back thank you!! Susan, Ian, Charlie and Alice

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Very many thanks Susiep34, we really appreciate it when guests take the trouble to post reviews for the benefit of those who may book later. We have tried hard to make Montgomery's Coach House both comfortable and equipped with everything we could think of that our guests might need; obviously having the Brecon Beacons just up the road and good local amenities helps as well! Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing retreat, immaculate yet homely”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Wanted to explore a new area and booked 5 nights at Mongomery's Coach House. We really fell on our feet as this far exceeded all expectations. Steve was extremely welcoming and really cares about the guests staying here, including leaving a lovely welcome basket of local produce. The accommodation was exceptionally well presented, with everything you could need and more. The pub was fabulous as was the little farm shop within 2 minutes walk - good as my daughter has mobility issues. Lots of places to see nearby - we went to the Welsh Caves near Brecon, the Brecon Mountain Railway, Hay on Wye of course, and the small Breeds farm. Had very poor weather for July but didn't really spoil our enjoyment of a lovely part of the country.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2015
How kind of you Anna to leave us such a nice review. As you say, the weather wasn't up to much during your time with us but I am pleased to hear that you still enjoyed yourselves; we are very lucky of course to have so many different things to do around us, come rain or shine, and that's not counting the farm shop or the pub!
You must come back to see us again in the 'summer' - whenever that is supposed to be! Best wishes to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$101
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing