We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cottage from Heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
Montgomery's Coach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party Welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party
Welcome
Dogs love the flagstone floor with under floor heating!
Somewhere to hang your coat after a nice, long walk
Oak and brickwork give character
Lobby leads through to the open plan living area
Living room with underfloor heating and cosy wood burner
Wood Burner for Cosy Days or Nights in. A fire guard is provided
Dining table and chairs for 4 if you choose to eat in. TV has internet connection and BlueRay DVD
Fully Fitted Integrated Kitchen appliances, including dishwasher, washer/dryer and microwave
Cook in, or eat out pub and cafe less than 5 minutes away, it's your choice!
View to the deck from the kitchen. Guests tell us the window makes a handy serving hatch for BBQs!
Upstairs Downstairs View
Galleried landing with night light
Quality oak doors and furniture compliment original beams
Quality, hypo-allergenic bedding. Choice of super king double beds, or ....
Full-size twins, just ask.
Rooms are styled with care and equipped with TV/DVD players, hair dryers, hot water bottles, etc.
Plenty of storage in both bedrooms for all your things
Kids love the infinity mirror!
Heated towel rail and soft, fluffy towels
Powerful shower and loads of hot water. Toiletries provided.
Outside, original Coach House doors are retained and incorporated into the new design
A gated and fenced driveway with ample parking
Private deck area with seating for four, parasol and BBQ
Deck leads to gated and fenced grass area ideal for dogs
We've had loads of dogs to stay of all breeds. We try to make sure they love their holiday too
A gated, fenced grass area for those essential doggy ablutions. A poo bin is provided
Beautiful Herefordshire countryside
On a good day, you can see 4 counties when out walking nearby
Whitney toll bridge - canoe or kayak under it and stop off at the pub a minute from your front door
Rural relaxation
Hay Bluff, the Black Mountains, Brecon Beacons - all close by and so much more too
The Coach House is an ideal base for visiting the annual Hay Festival
Markets and festivals happen in Hay all year round
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitney-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SarajeanB...
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cottage from Heaven”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stunning cottage, clean, tidy and very modern inside with underfloor heating (not that we needed it). Nice welcoming basket from the owners. Usually find that cottages which take dogs are very tatty inside and not always very clean. Couldn't fault this inside. My only gripe (and it's more a personal thing) is that my dogs will only wee on grass and there isnt any within the grounds so I had to take them outside onto the grass verge but that's my problem (or my dogs fussiness) and probably wouldn't be a problem for most people. The pub across the road did a lovely meal and the desserts were to die for. Also, the church barn farmshop within walking distance did a lovely choice of cakes and farm produce. All in all, a lovely place to stay and by far the best cottage that I have ever stayed in (with or without the dogs). Would definitely consider coming here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Newness of the cottage
Liked least: No grass area inside grounds
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Very many thanks for publishing a review about your stay with us. Cleaning is not one of my favourite jobs but I always keep in mind that I personally wouldn't want to stay in a grubby place and neither do our guests! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your short break and we are very flattered that you judge us to be the best place you have ever stayed in. Sorry about the lack of grass; as you would have seen the layout doesn't naturally lend itself to a lawn, perhaps something we need to work on for the future. We are indeed lucky to have such great places to eat on our doorstep - come back as soon as you feel the need for another of those Mars bar cheesecakes…..
Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny D
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant cottage location perfect”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We could not have been happier with the coach house the cottage was very clean and tastefully decorated we found it very comfortable and had a goods night sleep.
Also found the location convient for touring the area also tried the pub a few minutes walk lovely view of thr river Wye food was good.
The owners were very friendly and helpfull would certainly return and reccomend this property.
Penny and Maurice

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The homely feeling
Liked least: Not 2 toilets
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2015
Thank you Penny and Maurice, we are delegated that you enjoyed you week staying with us and found everything to your liking. We are very lucky to live where we do, the surrounding countryside is lovely and the pub (virtually on our doorstep) is fantastic - or should that be the other way around! It was very nice of you to recommend us to others, thank you, and we look forward to you coming back to see us again soon. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a lovely Coach House in a Stunning Location, could not have been better.”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Well what can we say other than the accommodation, location are very lovely and peaceful, the layout and finish to detail in the Coach House is exceptional and extremely comfortable.
The owners of the Coach House ie: Steve & Alison where very attentive, polite and helpful and made you fell very much at home in their self catering accommodation.
The Boat Inn just down the road was a good venue as regards to its location(right by the river Wye) and the food served was large portions and well cooked, and of course a Lovely Pint.
So thank you to the Montgomery Coach House and its owners for a great stay. As Arnie said I WILL BE BACK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: My car breaking down
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
Well, what can we say! Thank you for taking the trouble to post such a nice review; we are pleased that you liked our Coach House and were comfortable during your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have a nice pub doing great food virtually on our doorstep, (as we are to have the Farm Shop just across the road from our small garage and convenience store), many of our guests eat there - why cook if you don't have to!
Whoever Arnie was speaking to when he said he would 'be back' I very much hope that he didn't have to wait for the breakdown truck………. Kind Regards, we hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartineRo...
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location, fantastic accommodation, fantastic hosts.”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very well situated and comfortable cottage finished to a high and modern standard. Ideally situated to explore the surrounding area of the Wye Valley. Lovely hosts who made us feel very welcome and offered plenty of advice on places of interest and good walking routes when we asked. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself
Liked least: Liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the trouble to let your fellow travellers, and hopefully our future guests, know how much you enjoyed staying with us. It is always a delight to know that our guests have not only enjoyed the accommodation that we offer but have also made the most of this lovely part of the world on the English/Welsh border. Hopefully you will consider staying with us again sometime. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmSm...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place!”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My wife and I had a great few days at Montgomery's Coach House. Had intended to include our son for a long walking weekend but weather forecast awful (true!) so just the two of us in the end.

A beautifully restored old building. Very tastefully done and very comfortable. Very friendly and helpful owners. Could not recommend more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property - and its location.
Liked least: The smell of the sewers at The Boat!! (Although absolutely no fault of 'Montgomery's - which is not even within 'sniffing' distance).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and, apart from the weather being 'iffy' had a good time. We did put a fair amount of work into making what was a shell of an old Coach House into a comfortable dwelling and much appreciate your kind words. Please do come back - and this time with your son! Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing