We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location, fantastic accommodation...”
other travellers have booked this property
Montgomery's Coach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party Welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party
Welcome
Dogs love the flagstone floor with under floor heating!
Somewhere to hang your coat after a nice, long walk
Oak and brickwork give character
Lobby leads through to the open plan living area
Living room with underfloor heating and cosy wood burner
Wood Burner for Cosy Days or Nights in. A fire guard is provided
Dining table and chairs for 4 if you choose to eat in. TV has internet connection and BlueRay DVD
Fully Fitted Integrated Kitchen appliances, including dishwasher, washer/dryer and microwave
Cook in, or eat out pub and cafe less than 5 minutes away, it's your choice!
View to the deck from the kitchen. Guests tell us the window makes a handy serving hatch for BBQs!
Upstairs Downstairs View
Galleried landing with night light
Quality oak doors and furniture compliment original beams
Quality, hypo-allergenic bedding. Choice of super king double beds, or ....
Full-size twins, just ask.
Rooms are styled with care and equipped with TV/DVD players, hair dryers, hot water bottles, etc.
Plenty of storage in both bedrooms for all your things
Kids love the infinity mirror!
Heated towel rail and soft, fluffy towels
Powerful shower and loads of hot water. Toiletries provided.
Outside, original Coach House doors are retained and incorporated into the new design
A gated and fenced driveway with ample parking
Private deck area with seating for four, parasol and BBQ
Deck leads to gated and fenced grass area ideal for dogs
We've had loads of dogs to stay of all breeds. We try to make sure they love their holiday too
A gated, fenced grass area for those essential doggy ablutions. A poo bin is provided
Beautiful Herefordshire countryside
On a good day, you can see 4 counties when out walking nearby
Whitney toll bridge - canoe or kayak under it and stop off at the pub a minute from your front door
Rural relaxation
Hay Bluff, the Black Mountains, Brecon Beacons - all close by and so much more too
The Coach House is an ideal base for visiting the annual Hay Festival
Markets and festivals happen in Hay all year round
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitney-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MartineRo...
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location, fantastic accommodation, fantastic hosts.”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very well situated and comfortable cottage finished to a high and modern standard. Ideally situated to explore the surrounding area of the Wye Valley. Lovely hosts who made us feel very welcome and offered plenty of advice on places of interest and good walking routes when we asked. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself
Liked least: Liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the trouble to let your fellow travellers, and hopefully our future guests, know how much you enjoyed staying with us. It is always a delight to know that our guests have not only enjoyed the accommodation that we offer but have also made the most of this lovely part of the world on the English/Welsh border. Hopefully you will consider staying with us again sometime. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmSm...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place!”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My wife and I had a great few days at Montgomery's Coach House. Had intended to include our son for a long walking weekend but weather forecast awful (true!) so just the two of us in the end.

A beautifully restored old building. Very tastefully done and very comfortable. Very friendly and helpful owners. Could not recommend more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property - and its location.
Liked least: The smell of the sewers at The Boat!! (Although absolutely no fault of 'Montgomery's - which is not even within 'sniffing' distance).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and, apart from the weather being 'iffy' had a good time. We did put a fair amount of work into making what was a shell of an old Coach House into a comfortable dwelling and much appreciate your kind words. Please do come back - and this time with your son! Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P
Delft, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“A fantastic holiday house”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a lovely week in this cottage. It is a fantastic house! Well equiped, tastefully furnished and clean. And, very important, the beds are really good. Over the years, we have rented quite a few holiday houses, and from this experience we can judge this cottage as one of the best. We will certainly recommend it to others. Apart from the house, we really liked the area. The Brecon Becons are beautiful!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2015
How kind of you Paul P to write such a nice review. Nicer still is that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We try hard to make the accommodation a pleasure to stay in and top of that list, knowing that most of our guests just want to relax and unwind, is a really comfortable bed!

We are spoilt for choice with the beautiful countryside around us, mountains, hills valleys and rolling green fields on the doorstep - whats not to like?

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you all soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AG1609
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My sister and I had 3 nights in Montgomery's Coach House and were delighted with it. The rooms are well thought out and it is very well equipped. The bedrooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. There is a lovely deck area at the rear of the cottage where guests can sit in the sun. We ate in the local pub and it is very good. A great centre for visiting Hay on Wye and the surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Our self catering Montgomery's Coach House is a relatively new addition to our B&B business so we delighted to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your stay. Surrounded by lovely countryside and with Hay on Wye just a few miles up the road there is always lots to do, and while we may be self catering the local pub on our doorstep is great for when you don't feel like cooking! We look forward to welcoming you both back before too long. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing