We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely comfortable cottage with great dog...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brandy Cottage

front of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of cottage
Rear of cottage with enclosed garden overlooking Otter Estuary
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
front of cottage
Rear of cottage with enclosed garden overlooking Otter Estuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Budleigh Salterton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wendysM44...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable cottage with great dog friendly garden.”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

The house was well furnished and had every amenity (a hairdryer would have been good though). The garden was amazing.It must be 200 feet long and beautifully kept. Lovely views towards the river. Our only criticism was the curtains in the main bedroom. They let in too much light and woke us up about 5 am. The parking was ok but difficult to unload outside the house as the lane was narrow. I noticed an unpleasant comment in the visitors book about the neighbour at no. 82 being dog unfriendly. This was not the case at all. They were lovely helpful people and made a fuss of our dog. I can only assume the visitors were the owners of a very yappy dog that barked on and off from 6 am.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Many thanks for your kind words and useful comments. As lovely as the area is, I am sure you would like to sleep longer than 5am. We will certainly get a hair dyer organised.
best wishes
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Christmas in Devon”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Budleigh is a breath of fresh air - unspoilt from mass tourism. There are lovely walks across the cliffs to Ladram bay or Exmouth. You can walk to Otterton along the banks of the river Otter and visit the mill. The house is minutes from the beach and the long garden backs onto the Otter, which must be a great spot in the summer to sit and relax. I booked Brandy cottage to spend Christmas with family and it did not disappoint. There was plent of space for us all to sit and chat in comfort and we cooked the Christmas dinner with no problems. The only issue was not so much the parking as this was available in side roads, but trying to-unload cars without obstructing traffic. But I wouldn’t let that put you off booking this very nice homely cottage. I would re-visit here and recommend it as a very comfy base to explore beautiful East Devon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Unable to park directly outside the property - a mild inconvenience
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review of Brandy Cottage and it sounds like you certainly made the most of your time in Budleigh Salterton. We are thrilled that you saw kingfishers and an otter - not many people get that privilege! Maybe next time you visit you will see the famous River Otter beavers too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sharonora...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Brandy cottage was such a lovely place to stay .well equipped clean and homely. Very quiet slept so well .the garden was beautiful .and well kept nice to have a garden when we had the dog with us .lots of lovely walks and the town was a ten minute stroll .would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Brandy Cottage is in a lovely area and an ideal spot for walkies, with or without a dog!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing